Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

Markus Heitz Books In Order

Publication Order of Dwarves Books

The Dwarves (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The War of the Dwarves (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Revenge of the Dwarves (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Fate of the Dwarves (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Triumph of the Dwarves (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Legends of the Alfar Books

Righteous Fury (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Devastating Hate (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dark Paths (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Raging Storm (2019) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Oneiros (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Markus Heitz is a German horror, fantasy and science fiction author known for his bestselling, The Dwarves series. The author was born in Homburg in 1971, and he studied German language, literature, and history. He wrote The Dwarves series and his other novels in German and later translated into English.

The Dwarves

The Dwarves the first book in The Dwarves series is an exciting story of a dwarf named Tungdil raised around human beings by a foster father magus, Lot Ionan after abandonment at birth. Tungdil has never seen another of his kind, but all is about to change. Lot Ionan sends him to go for an errand in a long distance to deliver some important message. He begins the journey where he will meet his fellow dwarves as they try to save the realm of Girdlegard from the evil and everything changes about him.

When dispatched by Lot Ionan he starts his journey with mixed feelings of excitement and tension. In Girdlegard there are men, dwarves, wizards, elves who are good then orcs alfs and evil creatures now ruled by the king of the Perished land. He finds himself trapped by the strange happenings which are interfering with the peace of the kingdom. He is nominated to vie for the position of a high king now that the throne is vacant and he appears to be a capable successor. Lot ionan passes on, and Gridlegard is taken over by Nudin a magus of the perished land which was turned to the dark side while searching for knowledge. In this story, all sides of the races are tested against one another I the war of Girdlegard.

Tungdil grows his status, and after some time he becomes the leader. His must set out on a quest to make the forged weapon that can defeat Nudin and defend his kingdom. On his journey, he meets elves, orcs and traitor dwarfs who distract the mission from succeeding. The dwarves have into five groups, and there is a succession battle between them now that their leader is elderly almost facing his death and a new leader has to be chosen. However evil and powerful forces are working the dwarven homes regardless of whether they know it and this brings confusion in all sides.

Tundgdil walks during this time of confusion even though he is not aware of his heritage since he was brought up by a wizard. He was raised knowing about scholarship, diplomacy and other qualities not recognized by most dwarfs. These qualities have given him the skills of being a charismatic young dwarf, and this leads him to various adventures.

Earlier during Tungdil’s journey, he comes across many landscapes and gets his first tastes of battle. He meets many characters and entwines in the succession war without even knowing anything about his lineage or his qualities. He is given a big task when the evil begins to destroy the land, and a new enemy threatens to sweep everything that appeared good in all the kingdoms.

We come across some of the characters who are worth being noted including the warrior twins who are close friends and loveable little characters. They protect and defend each other and their friends and relate nicely with them.

The author gives elaborate information about the dwarves society, their food, occupations, hobbies and their set of families. The story is nicely written with characters that make an impression in the mind of the reader due to their personalities. The tale narrates in two lines; the main one is Tungdil’s adventures and the Dwarven kingdom succession of the king. It grows and gets better with new characters introducing and new role fulfilled in an awesome experience.

The dwarves are a great fantasy story with unique characters that you will love when reading it. The characters become intriguing and real becomes as the story opens up slowly. The book combines fairy tales, nightmares and images of beauty and poetry with excellent and realistic political systems using a lot of humor diversifying its characters. Human and elves represented, and the mix comes out well when reading.

The Revenge of the Dwarves

The Revenge of Dwarves is the final book in Markus Heitz The Dwarves Trilogy. Things have not been easy for Tungdil abut he is not ready to rest since he wants to face the enemy of his kingdom which is the evil destroying his land of Girdlegard. Some hybrid creatures land while they are asleep and they are aiming to steal an artifact which is vital for the defense of the kingdom and whoever is in its custody can control the world.

The dwarfs are on threat and Tungdil has to use his double axe while risking everything to save his country. The book introduces us to a different Tungdil we left in the second book of the series. He faced difficult times with his wife, and he later returns while drunk, overweight and as miserable aged dwarf whose soul has already abandoned him. It is not long before they start receiving threats and the words of his friend who pulls him from the hallucination, which leaves him very different from before. The character twist is a little tight, and you will end up liking the new Tungdil.

After Tungdil recovers from drunkenness, he starts to interrogate himself and tries to plan what he wants in his life. He later admits that he is not able to settle down with one person in one place and starts some dramas which we see in the course of the story. The problems he faces leaves you feeling bad for him since from the start we have known him to a hero among all the dwarfs.

Tungdil is not the only character changing, but all the characters go through the same this time. The strained relationship among the elves, humans, and dwarfs threatens the state of peace in the land when they begin suspecting one another of deceiving and treachery. The elves are now the new enemies who should be conquered though they look like the good ones.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Markus Heitz