Book Notification

Marlene Mitchell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Generations Books

Yard Sale: Everything Must Go (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Smoky Mountain Murders Books

Seasons of Death (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Echoes of Death (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows of Death (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Return to Ternberry (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chester County Boys (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Women of Magnolia (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bent Creek (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Circle of Prey (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent Voices (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Portrait in Gold (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Alligator Boots (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dead Years (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Welcome to Wapokenetta: Home of the Squatting Woman (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Marlene Mitchell
Marlene Mitchell is originally from St. Louis, Missouri, and makes her home in Louisville, Kentucky.

Marlene, who is a mother, a wife, and a grandmother, has a wide range of interest that includes wild life rehabilitation and painting, however, it is her love of the written word that comes through crystal clear in her books.

Marlene feels that exploring new genres allows her the chance to build interesting and strong characters. It took her a lot of time for her to begin writing, however, now the ideas for future novels never stops. To this very day, creativity is her constant source of inspiration and her imagination is her best friend.

“Yard Sale” is Marlene’s debut novel, which was released in the year 2003.

“Yard Sale” is a stand alone novel and was released in the year 2003. Three sales and three generations.

You can sell all your possessions, however the Holloway and Franklin clans realize it is the people you love and that love you that are the most important. Henry Franklin, a self-centered and deceitful man, who is willing to stop nothing to get what he wants. It is his greed that comes close to destroying his family and, in the end, leads to the first yard sale.

The story plays out, and the reader is sure to grow an attachment, to Lou Jean’s humor and wit as well as Anna’s caring nature and whose dedication to her family and husband create their need to have a yard sale. There is also Colleen who is the third generation required to make the ultimate choice to sell her belongings.

This novel is a wonderful tale about the ups and downs of life, both the sweet and the bitter. It is a brilliantly written story, skillfully told, and is sure to keep the reader engaged from start to finish. This is a wonderful novel that is about the catharsis of a yard sale, and how, despite adversity, the Franklin family is able to continue on and even thrive.

“The Women of Magnolia” is a stand alone novel and was released in the year 2007. During the mid eighteen hundreds, Mississippi was one of the wealthiest states in all the union. The wealthy plantation owners enjoyed their opulent life during this golden age of prosperity. The Vine family owned one such vast plantation. Hundreds of acres of lush cotton plants covered their entire property and it was home to some three hundred slaves.

Evan Vine’s dad dies suddenly he gets summoned back home from France so that he can manage Vine Manor: which is one task he doesn’t relish. It is just when he meets Mary Elizabeth Cates that he finds his life is changed forever. She returns the man’s love and accepts his marriage proposal. For a wedding gift, he gives her a magnificent summer place called Magnolia.

Mary Elizabeth starts the legacy of ladies that inhabit Magnolia. Then there is Hallie Vine Simmons (her daughter), and Lydia and Mary (her granddaughters). There’s also the prostitutes that come to Magnolia for refuge and the black slave women that endured their master’s wrath.

Witness the early years when life is good, just to change at a moment’s notice by a slave uprising an outbreak of cholera. There are the middle years when civil war rips the south apart leaving desolation and tragedy in its path. Then there is the restoration when everybody attempts to find a new life at Magnolia.

Readers found themselves staying up late just to keep on reading the book, and wound up enjoying every bit of it. The book has a fantastic cast of characters, with the Vine family being rather likable.

“Bent Creek” is a stand alone novel and was released in the year 2010. Deep in the hollows of Appalachia, and in the shadow of Big Black Mountain, there was once a coal-mining town known as Bent Creek. Once the workers went on strike and the mine closed the town vanished leaving behind all the families whose lives depended on the mind to make their meager living. These were the poorest of the poor.

Rachael Riley was one of six kids born to Roy and Ida Mae Riley living in one tumbled-down shack right on the edge of Bent Creek. Roy was a coal miner his entire life. When the mine closed down, his whole life screeched to a halt. Rachael did not know how or when she would leave Bent Creek, but she knew in her heart she would be able escape from this life of poverty.

Being forced to work for one unsavory character called Nevers Bains changes her life for good. One twist of fate lands her right in the midst of the scheme that’s going to help her make enough money in order to leave Bent Creek and begin a new life. Is brave going to be enough to step up to this new challenge? Filled with pages of the daily struggles of the Riley family where the moonshine jug’s a household staple and two meals a day is a luxury.

Marlene delivers an excellent story with romance and suspense, as well as many other elements. She deftly immerses her readers into this story by using the authentic language of the mountain people. Readers found themselves liking this story so much they wanted to read more by Marlene Mitchell.

“Silent Voices” is a stand alone novel and was released in the year 2011. New Orleans during the 1820s and 30s, in a world of manipulation, madness, passion, and deadly jealousy.

Gorgeous Genevieve Beaumont, who is trapped in her loveless marriage to a wealthy guy that’s twice her age. She finds herself drawn to Daniel Evangeline, the employee of her husband on the family plantation.

Genevieve attempts to battle her feelings and maneuvers Daniel into having a short-lived relationship with Amelia, the half-crazy caretaker of Daniel’s young ward. Genevieve does not know that her unstable and possessive husband, aware of his wife’s attraction, plots behind her back to ruin Daniel.

Fans found this to be an engaging read and is quite a page-turner.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Marlene Mitchell

Leave a Reply