Book Notification

Marsh and Daughter Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Marsh and Daughter Books

The Wickenham Murders (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Friday Street (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Hell's Corner (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder and the Golden Goblet (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Mist (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Takes the Stage (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Old Road (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Abbot's Folly (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Maid of Kent Murders (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Marsh and Daughter by Amy Myers
Author Amy Myers pens the “Marsh and Daughter” series of mystery novels. The series began publication in the year 2004, when “The Wickenham Murders” was released. The books are set in Kent, England.

Peter Marsh, an ex cop that became wheelchair bound and it led to him being invalided off the force. He still investigates cases with his daughter Georgia. Together, they write true crime novels where they sleuth out an unsolved crime from the past and expose an injustice. Through the course of their investigating, they are involved with modern murders that stem from secrets from the past.

The pair have their own ways of investigating each of their cases. Peter compiles research from all of his source materials. At the same time, Georgia goes to different sites, gathering information, and meets with people to form scenarios of what could have happened to figure out the truth. The books Georgia writes at the end are the products of their efforts, not arrests.

“The Wickenham Murders” is the first novel in the “Marsh and Daughter” series, which was released in the year 2004. Fingerprints that are left on time. This is the basis that Peter and Georgia use to base their investigations into past murders that have gone unsolved. A kind of “unfinished business” for them.

In their latest case, they are investigating a murder from long ago that happened in Wickenham, the Kent village. Davy Todd was charged with killing Amy Proctor, who is the middle aged daughter of the local doctor in the year 1929.

While the two start investigating, a skeleton is discovered in a denehole in the woods surrounding Wickenham Manor Hotel. Two apparently unconnected events, and yet Peter and Georgia believe intuitively that there has to be a connection. Together they will find it.

This is a book that is able to continually surprise you the entire way through. The intrigue is high until the very end of the book, with a high amount of entertainment in it. Amy Myers has penned a real brain teaser of a mystery novel. The book takes its time getting to the conclusion, but it sure is a satisfying one.

“Murder in Friday Street” is the second novel in the “Marsh and Daughter” series, which was released in the year 2005. Young Alice Winters is found dead near a ruined medieval tower outside the distant Friday Street. Jake, her boyfriend, gets charged with her murder. A haunting melody is heard that night, which is played when there is a miscarriage of justice, according to village tradition anyway.

The case gets Georgia and Peter interested. Back in 1968, Friday Street was the scene of a notorious tragedy. Fanny Star (who was a famous rock singer) came back to the village she was born in to be killed.

Was the tune heard then, as well? Was Adam Jones, her singing partner, wrongly convicted of killing her? Peter and Georgia want to find out Friday Streets’ secrets, but the first hurdle they must get over is breaking the village’s silence, as they want to protect their own.

The atmosphere of the village is depicted well in this book. Peter and Georgia bantering and tossing their theories around was highly enjoyable. The two are pretty clever, but still human, which is nice to see in a cozy mystery. For some, this was their first book they had read by Amy Myers, and they want to check out more of her work.

“Murder in Hell’s Corner” is the third novel in the “Marsh and Daughter” series, which was released in the year 2006. Veterans of the Battle of Britain get together in a hotel in the Kent country, which was a murder scene during the 1970s, as a popular war hero died under suspicious and unexplained circumstances.

Georgia and Peter are convinced they have a story and investigate. They find a trail of events that leads to another murder. All while the passion of present and past start to boil over.

Amy Myers is a great mystery writer, and this one is the latest example of that. It is a wonderful read that will make you cry by the end. Here is a good old fashioned who done it that is also a superb addition to what is shaping up to an incredible series of cozy mystery novels.

“Murder and the Golden Goblet” is the fourth novel in the “Marsh and Daughter” series, which was released in the year 2007. Who was Lance Venyon? Curiosity caused by a memorial plaque in an ancient Kentish church sets Georgia and Peter on a dangerous and long trail. It is going to take them into the world of art fakes in Paris during the fifties, and then takes them back to legends of Sir Gawain, King Arthur, and connections with Dover Castle.

Amy Myers delivers a book that is tough to put down for very long. Another great conclusion to one of these books that had a great build up to that moment. This is another well written and enjoyable read that fans cannot get enough of.

“Murder in the Mist” is the fifth novel in the “Marsh and Daughter” series, which was released in the year 2008. Ferboune Manor is going to be opened as a center for the arts, and Peter and Georgia are asking around about the Fernbourne Five. They came to fame in the late thirties, and were famous for their artistic work. The group is also known for the doomed love affair between Alwyn Field and Elfie Lane and a brilliant poet, named Roy Sandford tragically dying.

When Peter Georgia and Peter try to ask about Alwyn Field, they are met with some inexplicable hostility.

Once again, Amy Myers does a great job of keeping you guessing who the killer is and make it tough on you to put the book down for very long. The two main characters are far from perfect, as they make some mistakes and say things without thinking. Fans will enjoy seeing Georgia and Luke’s relationship advance in this.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Marsh and Daughter

Leave a Reply