Book Notification

Marshal Guarnaccia Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Marshal Guarnaccia Mystery Books

Death of an Englishman (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Dutchman (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in Springtime (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in Autumn (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Marshal and the Murderer (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Marshal and the Madwoman (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Marshal's Own Case (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Marshal Makes His Report (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Marshal at the Villa Torrini (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Monster of Florence / The Marshal and the Forgery (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Property of Blood (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Some Bitter Taste (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Innocent (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vita Nuova (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

If you love police procedural or good mystery series that which gives a good sense of the region it is set, and if you love traveling to foreign countries or cities as well, then Marshal Guarnaccia detective series is an excellent choice to consider. The events depicted in the novel are set around in Italy in a region called Florence. The author, Magdalen Nabb gives the readers a taste of the city lifestyle as the main protagonist matches up and down solving crimes. The Italian characters are well depicted such that every reader will fall in love with them. The social and cultural differences between the Italians can be easily spotted while reading this great series.

Marshal Guarnaccia series by Magdalen Nabb Salvatore Guarnaccia as the lead character, he is a marshal in the Italian Carabinieri in the province of Florence Italy.Salvatore is featured in 14 different books; he first made his debut in Death of an Englishman which was published in 1981. The second book in the series is Death of a Dutchman which was released a year later, and the third book in the series is Death in springtime.

The last book in the series Vita Nuova was published in 2008 a year after the death of the author Magdalen Nabb in 2007.

Descriptions of her books Death of an Englishman
A few days to Christmas and people whose houses are in other cities are leaving for Florence to go and celebrate with their families. Everyone goes home except for Marshal Guarnaccia who is confined to his bed in the station suffering from influenza thus being unable to go to his home, Syracuse.

Manning the station that night is Carabiniere Bacci, a recruit without much experience in the police work. Some moments later he is awakened by a call, and the caller wants to report about an Englishman residing some few blocks away.

Bacci decides to go and investigate the allegations brought to him. Some few minutes later the marshal is awakened from his bed by a call from Bacci. He reports to him that there has been murder at address 58, so the Marshal drags himself out of the station and heads to the designated address.

It is the building custodian Cippola who has called to report about the Englishman. The night before, Cippola wife had died and thus he is dealing with two deaths- that of his wife and his master. Later that day, two Scotland Yard officers arrive to investigate the murder; this makes it clear that the Englishman family does not want any unnecessary distress from the Italian police.

The city of Florence is brought to life through vivid descriptions made by the author, and each and every sentence has a meaning in this novel even the discovery that Englishman living on the ground floor has some meaning. The characters in this thrilling book are beautifully drawn. From marshal sick with the flu to the inexperienced Bacci and the translator for the two Scotland Yard police officers.

Death of a Dutchman
Marshal Guarnaccia is summoned by an aged woman to investigate on the noises coming from her next door neighbor. What Marshal Guarnaccia finds is quite a difficult site, he finds a dying Italian Jeweler and his last words are that “it was not her.” This appears to like a suicide but however Salvatore wonders who could be this her? For Marshal Guarnaccia there is no slight evidence on the of murder and not even a single bruise on the dead jeweler body except for what it appears to be self-induced cuts on his hands. However, Marshal Guarnaccia instincts tell him that homicide just occurred.

Later, Guarnaccia learns from the autopsy performed on the body that the young man had died from barbiturate overdose- a drug that when administered acts as the central nervous system depressant and produces wide range of effects from total anesthesia to mild sedation. The results of the autopsy convince him that it was a case of suicide.

His superiors in his job convince Salvatore to drop the case however he refuses to even though he has no evidence and clues to the murder except for the words of the old man and a blind man. This second book in the Marshal Guarnaccia Italian detective procedural is a mystery tale as Marshal denies to quite a case that seems to be going nowhere.

Death in Springtime
It is March the early months of the years and snowy in Florence, and this is an unusual event. Also, no one notices the kidnapping of a young college lady who is held at gunpoint. One of the girls is released but the second one the daughter of a wealthy American businessman is still held, hostage. Even though Marshal Salvatore does what he can to assist it is the responsibility of Captain Maestrangelo, under the watch of a new prosecutor to find the girl.

The released girl turns up in Chianti village and claims that the kidnappers released her and wants ransom for the other kidnapped victim. However, the marshal thinks that she is lying and the Italian law forbids payment of ransom. Therefore the marshal must find her as soon as possible before the kidnappers decide to terminate her.

The Marshal and the Murderer
A young Swiss student specializing in arts is reported missing, and the main protagonist must travel to the outskirt town where she was undertaking her studies to investigate and establish the truth behind her disappearance. When her body is later found, it is determined that she was a victim of sex-related crime. However, Guarnaccia whom himself comes from a little town instincts tells him that the local clashes whose roots can be traced to the betrayals and the horrors of world war II play a major role in solving the crime and establishing the cause and the person behind the killing.

Marshal Guarnaccia Series by Magdalen Nabb are ideal for the readers familiar with the Florence atmosphere. The characters in the series are well developed, and the author ensures that the reader’s attention is held firm from the beginning to the last chapter.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Marshal Guarnaccia

Leave a Reply