Book Notification

Marshall Ryan Maresca Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Maradaine Constabulary Books

A Murder of Mages (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Import of Intrigue (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Parliament of Bodies (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Thorn of Dentonhill Books

The Thorn of Dentonhill (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Alchemy of Chaos (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Imposters of Aventil (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Streets of Maradaine Books

The Holver Alley Crew (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lady Henterman’s Wardrobe (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fenmere Job (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Quarrygate Gambit (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Maradaine Elite Books

The Way of the Shield (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shield of the People (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
People of the City (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Maradaine Saga Story Books

The Mystical Murders of Yin Mara (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hultichia (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Velocity of Revolution (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Unintended Voyage (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Assassins of Consequence (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Marshall Ryan Maresca is American author of fantasy and science fiction novels famously known for his multiple series of Maradaine set in the same fantastical city. Maresca was born and raised in upstate New York and studied film and production at Pennsylvania State University and is a resident of Austin, Texas. Maresca was a nominee for the Compton Crook Award for his debut novel, The Thorn of Dentohill. In addition to being a novelist, Maresca is an independent Spanish teacher based in Austin and has also been a stage actor, an amateur chef, and a theatrical director. In an interview, Maresca stated that he played minor roles in movies and which he attributes to having helped him understand the point of views and motivations of his different characters. The author has also written different plays produced in the Austin Area including Entropy and Slow Night at McLaughlin’s.

The Thorn of Dentohill

The Thorn of Dentohill is the debut novel in Maradaine series by Marshall Ryan Maresca. The author introduces readers to the world of Maradaine transporting them to a vibrant and diverse city where university students, powerful mages, street gangs, and assassins call home. The lead character is Veranix Calbert, a vigilante by night and a magic student by day. When the sun sets, Veranix goes out into the streets, disrupting the local gang with the hopes of taking down the ruthless gang boss Fenmere, the man who killed his father and ruined his mother’s mind.

One fateful night, Veranix encounter a delivery in progress and steal the major shipment worth great deal. But instead of finding the drugs in the satchel, he finds a coil of rope and a cloak. What could be so special about these items and what does the drug boss want to do with them? What follows next is an intriguing and entertaining adventure and a tale of mystery as we learn more about the motives behind this botched trade.

There is also exciting details when it comes to the main character’s double life. The idea of a typical man moonlighting as a vigilante/crime fighter isn’t quite a new trend, but the story feels unique thanks to Marshall Ryan Maresca for bringing his own fresh twist to the narrative. For example, it appears that Veranix isn’t your average mage and his tragic history and also his family ties with the street mob makes him an irresistible hero.

One of the greatest strengths of this debut novel are the characters. Veranix doesn’t dominate each time, unlike in many stories where the lead characters dominate all through. At times you will notice that Veranix is outshining by the secondary characters, including his roommate Delmin and Veranix cousin Colin. Maresca portrayal of the street gangs is also quite impressive, painting some of them as likable guys rather than your normal two bits delinquents.

Other interesting aspects of The Thorn of Dentohill include the world building. For example, the city of Maradaine reads like an actual city, people engaging in commerce, street gangs terrorize people, and so much adding vibrancy to the story. The magic system also adds a lot to the world building. For the greater part, it makes sense working on a system that appears to be coherent. In this world, not everyone is born with the ability to use magic, but those who possess the ability can both wield it and sense it.

Some people are good at sensing magic but poor at wielding it while others are good at wielding it and poor at detecting it. Using magic has its downside as well- the magicians deplete their own physical strength when they use it, and if they push themselves too far, the results could be deadly. On the other hand, the characters are charming enough and perfectly fit into their world quite well. The world the author has created its rich featuring complex and long history and populated by different cultures.

The Alchemy of Chaos

Veranix is The Thorn- a redresser who became a hero to the residents of Maradaine, especially the mob that operate in the areas close to Aventil. As a vigilante, he continues to intimidate Willem Fenmere, the drug lord of the Dentohill neighborhood. He is determined to stop any existing drug lord and put an end to the drug trade especially when he finds out that Fenmere is planning on using another gang known as the Red Rabbits to bring more drugs into Aventil.

However, it is also exam time at the University of Maradaine, where Veranix studies magic. With his career and future as a mage depending on his performance, Veranix needs to devote himself entirely to researching and participating in student’s thesis experiments. This, in other words, means that there is not enough time for him to go after the Red Rabbits or Fenmere.

Soon a series of mysterious pranks begin happening around campus in the form of magic that Veranix can’t understand. As what started as simple pranks grows into something deadly, it becomes clear that there is someone with resentment against the university and the vigilante maybe the only person capable of putting an end to the pranks. Between the pranks, the hired assassins and the battle brewing between the Aventil gang, Veranix may end up dead even before the week is over.

A Murder of Mages

A Murder of Mages is the first book in The Maradaine Constabulary series by Marshall Ryan Maresca, the authors second series set in the fictional city named Maradaine. The novel introduces the readers to this spellbinding city as seen through the eyes of people who live to maintain law and order, the hardworking personnel of the Maradaine Constabulary.

We are introduced to Satrine Rainey, (a former spy, street rat, a mother and wife to Constabulary Inspector) forced to fake her way to the position of Constabulary Inspector to feed her family. Then there is Minox Welling an unorthodox Inspector and a mage. Also known as Jinx because of the misfortunes he brings to anyone close to him- he is partnered with Satrine simply because no one else wants to work alongside him. Their first case together sends Satrine back to the dangerous streets she spent her childhood years and also brings Minox face to face with something he vowed to avoid. As body count increases, Minox and Satrine must find a way to catch their killer before their own secrets are exposed.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Marshall Ryan Maresca

Leave a Reply