Book Notification

Martha Hall Kelly Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Caroline Ferriday / Lilac Girls Books

Lilac Girls / The Lilac Girls of Ravensbrück (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lost Roses (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sunflower Sisters (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Caroline Ferriday / Lilac Girls Books

Lost Roses(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lilac Girls / The Lilac Girls of Ravensbrück(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sunflower Sisters(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Golden Doves (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Point In Time Collection Books

Alison's Conviction (By: Thomas Keneally) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ash Wednesday (By: Paula McLain) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Are Bone and Earth (By: Esi Edugyan) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Naomi's Gift (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Wild Rose (By: Fiona Davis) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Landing (By: Olivia Hawker) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mother Swamp (By: Jesmyn Ward) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Focused primarily on fiction, primarily historical fiction, the American author Martha Hall Kelly has become an extremely prominent voice within the industry, as she is a highly vocal and prolific spokesperson for both her and her craft, having released a series of very well received novels over the course of her long and illustrious writing career. Writing from a definitively female perspective, she features many strong heroines going up against seemingly insurmountable hardships, facing them with bravery and humor, something that her many fans worldwide feel that they can relate and aspire to. Despite looking into the past, her novels feel extremely modern and contemporary, with an almost timeless quality about them, as they impart universal themes and ideas that can be told for generations to come.

Early and Personal Life

Born in Milton, Massachusetts, in the United States of America, the author to be Martha Hall Kelly grew up with a passion for both reading and writing. This is something that she would nurture throughout her formative years, on into her adult career as a writer of importance. Utilizing her love of history as well, she would take inspiration from the world around her, continually putting it back into her work.

Constantly learning as well, she would continue to hone and refine her skills throughout her education. With a love of history and understanding the past, she would also use this passion to greatly inform both her and her material. It would also allow her to tackle more difficult subject matter, such as that surrounding the concentration camps of World War Two for her debut novel.

A native New Englander, she has a clear affinity with the area, something which is very prominent in her work, with both her characters and narratives. Now setting her sights on creating long-running stories off the back of her first novel, she will continue to write for some time yet. As a New York Time bestselling author on her first release it seems that she has a lot more potential to continue building on her success. Knowing who she was and what she wanted to achieve from the outset, it appears that she’s a highly confident and gifted writer and definitely one to watch in the years to follow.

Writing Career

It was in 2016 that Martha Hall Kelly made her debut onto the literary scene with her first novel titled ‘Lilac Girls’. Well received and critically lauded, she was fast on her way to becoming a mainstay of the publishing industry, establishing her as a presence of importance and influence. Working as a period piece, it also managed to clearly show her attention to detail and precision, as readers noted her eye for historical accuracy.

Her work surrounding the characters featured in the Lilac Girls looks set to become some of the fastest rising in profile of recent times. Looking to fully flesh out these characters she is quickly becoming a very major presence and mainstay of the industry. Over time this could likely become an extremely popular and highly successful series for her, with a lot of potential to continue expanding upon it.

Following the family of Ferriday throughout the generations, she has managed to capture a clear snapshot of time unlike any other. With her work being highly accurate and succinct, it manages to build upon its initial premise by working through each generation. These look backs on historic events allow the readers to gain an insight that they may not otherwise have had.

Still writing at this present time, she has put her full concentration on bringing out her novels and building her audience at a rapid pace. With her works set to take over the literary scene by storm, she has already reach bestseller status with her debut novel. This, along with her extremely positive reviews, has worked to ensure that she will be highly successful for many years to come.

Lilac Girls

Brought out in 2016 through Ballantine Books, this was to set up not only the Lilac Girls series, but the writing career of Martha Hall Kelly overall. Setting up the premise, it helped introduce her readers into her world, establishing both the style and the tone of her novels overall. Released on the 5th of April, it also created a style that was entirely unique to her as an author, offering something that her audience hadn’t seen before.

Set in 1939, this takes place during the outbreak of the Second World War during the commencement of the Polish invasion by Hitler’s army. The New York socialite Caroline Ferriday is just about to deal with this as well as, having been posted to the French consulate, the invasion will soon sweep France as well. Then there’s Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager who is being drawn into the resistance in her home country, along with Herta Oberheuser, a German doctor who finds herself thrown headfirst into the murky world of the Nazi party, as she desperately looks for a way out. Will they find what they are looking for in this troubling time? Can they make it out safely? What will become of the Lilac girls?

Lilac Girls Prequels

Writing two prequels to the first book, Martha Hall Kelly is working on expanding the Lilac girls franchise overall. Ostensibly creating a series, she is establishing a world that is set to be fully developed and realized over the years. Providing more story for the characters themselves, she is fleshing them out, developing and building upon their arcs overall.

The first of these is the novel ‘Gin Lane’ which heads back to World War One, as it tells the story of Caroline’s mother, a character from the original Lilac Girls novel. This is then followed up by a novel that heads even further back to the Civil War, as it tells of Caroline’s ancestors during that period. Both of these, along with the first book, will take readers on a journey into the past, giving them the full scope of a family throughout the generations, whilst also giving them an insight into American history as a whole.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Martha Hall Kelly

Leave a Reply