Book Notification

Martin Amis Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Einstein's Monsters (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Two Stories (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
God's Dice (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heavy Water and Other Stories (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vintage Amis (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Invasion of the Space Invaders (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Moronic Inferno and Other Visits to America (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Visiting Mrs. Nabokov (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Experience (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The War against Cliché (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Koba the Dread (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pornoland (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Second Plane (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rub of Time (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gamblers (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

London Review of Books: Anthology 1(1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Granta 7: Best of Young British Novelists(1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Penguin Book of Modern British Short Stories(1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Friendship(1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Splatterpunks II(1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Granta 13: After the Revolution(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vintage Book of Amnesia(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Writing on the Edge(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stories to Get You Through the Night(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Martin Amis is an English essayist, novelist, screenwriter, and writer of short stories. He is known for books like London Fields (made into a 2018 movie starring Amber Heard among others) and Money.

Martin Louis Amis was born on August 25, 1949, in Oxford. His father is Sir Kingsley Amis, a noted novelist in England, the son of a clerk from Clapham that worked for a mustard manufacturer. His mother was Hilary Bardwell, born in Kingston upon Thames. His older brother is named Phillip and his sister Sally, younger than he, passed in 2000. His parents divorced when Martin was 12.

He attended a variety of schools in England in the fifties and the sixties. His father’s first novel found success and because of ‘Lucky Jim’ the family spent a brief time in New Jersey because his father was lecturing at Princeton. the author played the character of John Thornton in 1965 when he was just 15 years old.

He would read comic books until his stepmother gave him books by Jane Austen. Elizabeth Jane Howard was a novelist and Amis credits her as being on of his early literary influences. He graduated Exeter College at Oxford and then went on to work at an entry level job for The Times.

At 27 he was the New Statesman’s literary editor. There he ran into feature writer Christopher Hitchens, who worked for The Observer. The two were close friends until Christopher passed in 2011. He has received a variety of prizes and recognition for his work. He also was the creative writing professor at the Centre for New Writing until 2011, at University of Manchester.

His work focuses on the excesses that Western society in its late capitalist phase enjoys. The absurdity is often satirized by this author in gross caricature. He has been inspired by such authors as James Joyce, Vladimir Nabokov, and Saul Bellow, and his father. Martin himself also influenced many different novelists in England in the late twentieth and twenty-first century. Among them are Zadie Smith and Will Self.

Martin has never received much sign of interest from his father when it comes to his work. Despite this he has been successful in a variety of mediums. He wrote the movie screenplay for Saturn 3. It was an experience that would inspire and inform Money, the fifth novel.

The Rachel Papers is the first full length novel from Martin Amis. It was released in 1973 and was the author’s first novel in print. He wrote it in north London at a family home. The novel would win him the Somerset Maugham Award. It is a traditional novel, more than the rest would be. It was developed into a cult film that did not do well that tells the autobiographical story of a teen that is bright but egotistical and the relationship he has with his girlfriend, the year before university.

Dead Babies came out in 1975 and goes by the alternate title of Dark Secrets. The novel may be more flippant but chronicles some friends and how they spend a few days’ time inside a country house doing drugs. The novel is known for showcasing the author’s black humor, zeitgeist obsession, intervention of the author, characters subjected to misfortune, and casualness that is defiant. Dead Babies was made into a movie in 2000.

His novel Money was also made into a television adaptation by the BBC. John Self was played by Nick Frost and is featured Emma Pierson, Jerry Hall, and Vincent Kartheister. The two part dramatic adaptation was written by Chris Hurford and Tom Butterworth. Amis praised the adaptation and the performances of the actors following the two-part transmission.

The author has appeared on radio shows and television shows as well as debate programs. He also contributes articles and book reviews to various newspapers. His wife released her debut novel in 2009. The novel is titled Attachment. He has a son named Louis and a daughter named Fernanda. Both of them have been published on their own in various publications such as The Guardian or Standpoint magazine.

The author lived in Uruguay for nearly three years with Isabel Fonseca, his second marriage. They had two daughters and returned in September of 2006 to Britain. In 2008, the writer was a grandfather when his daughter had a son. In 2010 he bought property in New York in Brooklyn’s Cobble Hill area. He debates moving temporarily to New York or just maintaining the property there, but wrote that he would be moving to Cobble Hill from London’s Camden Town in The New Republic in 2012.

The Rachel Papers is the first novel from this best selling author. It has given readers one of the most uproarious, believable, and touching teens that has ever been on the pages of today’s contemporary fiction. In 1989 the novel was adapted into a feature film directed by Damien Harris.

Charles High-way is about to be 20 years old and is getting ready for Oxford. He knows a few things in life, although not many. He knows that he hates his father and is going after a girl that he knows is named Rachel.

He’s planning his seduction all while getting ready to go to college. He considers himself to be relatively cynical, but when he discovers that he’s starting to fall for her, Can he do the right thing and be honorable while pursuing her, or will he have to break it off because she’s a threat to his focus in school? Read this interesting novel to find out!

Dead Babies is the second novel to come out from author Martin Amis. This story is totally off the walls, just like the people that have come to spend some time together in a house in the country doing what else but drugs.

The Appleseed Rectory residents have been getting themselves ready for a visit from three Americans and their friends. Drugs and sexual gymnastics are planned, but the intrusion of the dead babies– places where reality intrudes– may get in the way.

As might the arrival of Johnny, a prankster. Can the fun go on or will it end too soon? Read this book to find out and watch the movie based on it too for even more of this story.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Martin Amis

Leave a Reply