Book Notification

Marty Ambrose Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mango Bay Mysteries Books

Peril in Paradise (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Island Intrigue (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Mangroves (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killer Kool (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Coastal Corpse (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Claire Clairmont Books

Claire's Last Secret (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Racing to Love (As: Martha Ambrose) (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Labor of Love (As: Martha Ambrose) (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Engaging (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Life and Love (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heat Wave (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lord Byron Mystery Books

Riot Most Uncouth (By: Daniel Friedman) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Claire's Last Secret (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Shadowed Fate (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forever Past (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Lord Byron Mystery Books

Claire's Last Secret(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Shadowed Fate(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Riot Most Uncouth (By: Daniel Friedman)(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forever Past(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Marty Ambrose
Marty Ambrose is an American author of mystery, historical fiction and memoir whose writing is characterized by heroes and heroines who will risk it all. Her historical and contemporary mystery books come with a certain flair that sets them apart. Marty has worked as a creative writing teacher at Southern New Hampshire University for close to two decades. She also has eight published works to her name. Currently, Marty lives on a beautiful island in Southwest Florida together with her husband Jim McLaughlin- a retired news anchor. Her next plans involve traveling for research and working on the next book in the Forever Past series.

Peril in Paradise
Peril in Paradise is the first book in the Mango Bay Mystery series. The story features Mallie Monroe, a free-spirited young lady looking for a way to tame her restless self. Mallie decides to move to Coral Island in Florida, where she expects to live an idyllic life. She takes a reporting job immediately she lands on the island, and at first, it looks like Mallie can finally sit back and relax. Well, this is short-lived as Mallie soon discovers that the hot summer sun is not close to what her skin wants, and her poodle doesn’t fancy being on the beach. To make things worse, her editor doesn’t think that her reporting or writing is good enough. Mallie is no quitter. She joins a local writing workshop organized by Jack Hillman, where she hopes to hone her skills.
Mallie meets four other aspiring writers in this class. Jack isn’t the kind of teacher who is gentle with his students. The first lesson involves him criticizing his five students for their lackluster writing skills. Even though this lesson doesn’t go as expected, Mallie agrees to meet Jack for an interview later in the evening. Unfortunately, when Mallie gets to his home, she is confronted by Jack’s body. There is no doubt that Jack was stabbed to death, and when the police come, Mallie is listed among the suspects.

To clear her name and satisfy her curious self, Mallie finds herself investigating Jack’s death. With little else but a determination to find the truth, Mallie sets on a journey that will put her in trouble a couple of times. Fortunately, there is a hot detective to help her piece all the details. These two moves around the island in search of the killers, and while Mallie tries to focus, she cannot help but get distracted by the hot detectives. Are the feelings mutual, or does Mallie feel all hot and bothered alone? Is there a chance that a romance will develop between her and the detective?

This is an intriguing story that will draw you in from the start. From the way the scenes are described, there is no doubt that the author is a master of descriptions. The characters are well developed, and it’s a joy to meet them and learn a thing or two about each of them. So who killed Jack, and what was their motivation? Will Mallie and her partner find the killers before another person loses their life?

Peril in Paradise is a perfect read if you like cozy mystery stories. Get to meet Mallie, a sweet yet terribly inquisitive young lady who can’t seem to stay away from trouble. Mallie is not perfect, but she tries to do her part in making the world a better place. The author’s quirky sideshows in this book. You can expect to laugh out loud when you get to some scenes. The book is slightly over 200 pages and can be enjoyed in one sitting.

Murder in the Mangroves
Murder in the Mangroves is the third book in the Coral Island series. Here, Mallie’s career is picking even though her boss still demands more sensational stories. The small newspaper needs to boost its sales if Mallie and colleagues want to enjoy a steady income. Mallie has adjusted to the Coral Island lifestyle and even gotten a raise at work. When she takes a short holiday, she discovers the body of the Mango queen hidden in the mangroves. This marks the beginning of another adventure. Millie is assigned this case, which means that she will have to work with her favorite cop once again.
Right before she starts working on this case, Mallie’s ex-boyfriend drifts back into her life. While it is clear that he wants to rekindle the relationship, Mallie is not sure that she wants the surfer-boy back. Who is to tell how Cole will act when he gets bored? Will he disappear just like he did last time? There is also the Island deputy Nick Billie who has become part of Mallie’s dreams to think about. Mallie is sure that Nick likes her, but she doesn’t know him enough to conclude that he is a better choice. Nick has also not been very open about his feelings.

Mallie’s investigations uncover many secrets that the islanders would prefer to keep hidden. There is the usual running around, but Nick is a great help and good company as well. Mallie has to be careful as her job ends up ruffling many feathers. She is shocked to learn that Gina Hernandez is secretly connected to her beloved great auntie. This discovery only fuels her resolve to dig for the truth. Will Mallie manage to find the Mango Queen killers before more damage is done? How much time does it take for Mallie to decide who between Cole and Nick holds her heart? Get the answers to this and much more in this intriguing story.

Murder in the Mangroves is yet another light mystery story by Marty Ambrose. Here, we get to learn a little about Mallie’s past and some of the baggage she has collected along the way. The story is fun, there are many intriguing characters, and the narration is flawless. A lot going on here and you have to read to the end to find out what happened. However, the relentless pace and the rising tension will keep you turning the pages. The book is perfect if you want a short lazy afternoon read. At slightly less than 200 pages, you can gobble it all at once.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Marty Ambrose

One Response to “Marty Ambrose”

  1. Noel Albert: 2 years ago

    I love the Mango Bay Mysteries. Are you going to write more so we will know about what Mallie will do about Nick’s wife. It should be very interesting.
    ope you are working on it. Yours, Noel Albert


Leave a Reply