Book Notification

Martyn Ford Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Imagination Box Books

The Imagination Box (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beyond Infinity (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Mind of its Own (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of MartynFord Standalone Novels

Chester Parsons is Not a Gorilla (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Every Missing Thing (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Our Darkest Secrets (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Any One of Us (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Martyn Ford is a journalist and a best-selling author from the United Kingdom. His first debut book, The Imagination Box for middle-grade kids, was published Faber and Faber in 2015 and was globally accepted. The book has since become a trilogy.

In 2019, he published a standalone book titled Chester Parsons is Not a Gorilla.

Martyn Ford also writes an adults book publishing his debut Every Missing Thing in 2020. The author is represented by Clare Wallace. He spends most of his time thinking about writing and writing.

Every Missing Thing

Martyn Ford’s book Every Missing Thing follows the story of one family, their two missing children, and a lifetime of skeletons in the closet.

Almost a decade ago- eight years to be precise, Ethan Clarke’s vanished without a trace, and this left the entire nation gripped in fear. As his parents were slowly coming to terms with their son’s disappearance, their grief is soon amplified as when their daughter, Robin, also vanishes similarly to her brother.

Now the entire nation thinks that the parents have something to do with their children’s disappearance.

We meet Detective Sam Maguire, who is suspicious of the Clarkes, just like everyone in the country. He’s 100% convinced that whatever happened to Ethan is the key to discovering whatever happened to Robin. But he’s also suspicious that the Clarkes know more than they are letting on.

With the entire nation watching so eagerly, the clock is fast ticking for the detective as he embarks on an investigative journey that forces him to confront his own demons. To unravel the truth, Detective Sam must follow the path of a devastating deception.

Martyn Ford’s novel for adults is a fast-moving story that’s well written with epic descriptions, and most notably, it takes more risks. The story is a bumpy ride on some scenes, with others being smooth rides making it a fantastic read.

The characters in the story are set up so well. One of the Clarkes kids disappeared 8 years ago, and now their daughter also vanished too, and this makes for a compelling case as the readers closely tag along with Detective Sam trying to piece together the story about these missing children.

The author also gives us more reasons to care about these two cases, allowing our emotions to flow at the time of Ethan’s disappeared.

Even though the main character, detective Sam is a sort of self-destructive fellow, he’s a simple man everyone can relate to. You will feel empathy towards him as he makes plenty of many encouraging comments. He’s a man of good qualities as he is determined to find out the truth about the Clarkes.

Every Missing Thing by Martyn Ford is one of the most straightforward stories to tag along as the plot immediately grips the reader allowing you to get entangled to the case, the main character, and the missing children’s parents. The author gives the reader a chance to unleash their investigative skills giving clues along the ways to help them figure out the missing children’s puzzle even before the detective can.

The chapters are rich in details, and the narration changes from one point of view to another. You will like the scenes described from the point of view of CCTV cameras and webcams as they feel original and authentic and contribute as evidence to the cases.

Most parents can’t fathom the idea of their child going missing, never to be found. A decade later, your child is presumed dead. And as you’re coping with the grief, your child goes missing as well. As a mother, how can you cope with that and the media frenzy as your husband becomes the main suspect?

Every Missing Thing is a story loaded with emotions. Besides the webcams and CCTV narration, the story is also told from the point of view of the husband, wife, daughter, and our main character, detective Sam. Each narration is unique, and the troubled main character is well written. You will vividly connect with each character. The story has plenty of layers of dark twists and turns.

The finale will take you entirely by surprise, unraveling dark secrets that you never thought they’d exist. If you enjoy reading gritty crime drama, it’s highly recommended that you read Martyn Ford’s book Every Missing Thing.

The Imagination Box

The Imagination Box is Martyn Ford’s debut children’s book that took the world by surprise, made him a famous author, and soon became one of the bestselling and award-winning children’s books.

It’s a story about a young boy named Tim who lives with his foster parents at a hotel. One day, a scientist visits them in their hotel, and soon Tim discovers the imagination box.

The imagination works in such a way that, when you put on a type of hat known as the reader, it gives you the power to create whatever you imagine. But what if that power was given to you? What could you create with it?

In this narrative, we follow Tim as he can unlock mysteries and embarks on different epic adventures. But will our friend Tim use the powers to his own advantage or against others? Well, read on to discover what the young man is up to as he’s got the ability to create whatever he imagines.

The Imagination Box is an epic read as it hooks you right from the starts giving the reader the urge to turn the page and discover what happens on the next page. Even though the chapters are long, they are set at a pace that makes the story progress fluently. You will enjoy discovering about the inventions mentioned in the book and how they work.

This is an excellent book for both boys and girls as it wasn’t aimed at either. The objects described in the story allow the reader to get a better grip and uniquely picture them in your mind personally how you want to, regardless of whether you’re a boy or a girl. The characters are uniquely crafted to resonate with boys and girls.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Martyn Ford

Leave a Reply