Book Notification

Marwood and Lovett Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Marwood and Lovett Books

The Ashes of London (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fire Court (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King’s Evil (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Protector (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Royal Secret (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadows of London (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Andrew Taylor is a British author known for writing mysteries.

Born in 1951 in East Anglia, he went to Cambridge for university at Emmanuel College and then went on to attend the University College London, where he graduated with an M.A. in library sciences. He wrote his first novel Caroline Miniscule which was published in 1982, which was a treasure hunt set in modern times featuring William Dougal, a history student. The novel kicked off an eight-book series and he received much critical acclaim. He has also written other thriller series, such as the Lydmouth books which started with the 1994 story An Air That Kills.

He has written many other books since then, almost fifty and counting, many of which are historical or crime novels. He won the Crime Writers’ Association of Britain’s Ellis Peters Historical Dagger Award on three different occasions, making him the only author that has received that prize thrice (he won for The Office of the Dead and his book The American Boy). He also penned The Roth trilogy, which came out in Requiem for an Angel omnibus form and was adapted by ITV in the U.K. to become the television show Fallen Angel.

Andrew Taylor is the creator and author of the James Marwood & Cat Lovett series of fictional novels. The series first got started in 2016 with the publication of the first novel, The Ashes of London. The second novel came out in 2018 and is titled The Fire Court. In 2019, the third book was released, titled The King’s Evil. The fourth novel would come out in 2020 and is titled The Last Protector. The fifth novel came out in 2021 and is titled The Royal Secret. The sixth novel was released in 2023 and is titled The Shadows of London.

Taylor has also won awards for other books, having received the CWA Diamond Dagger for his excellence in crime writing and the Historical Writers Association’s Gold Crown for best novel of the year for The King’s Evil.

He served as the editor of The Author for two years, a quarterly journal from the Society of Authors. He wrote a column for eighteen years for the journal as well with his Grub Street Column. He also reviewed crime fiction for the Spectator for a decade and contributes reviews at times to publications such as the Guardian, the Spectator, and The Times, among others.

Taylor has also served of the Management Committee of the Society of Authors as well as the committee for the Crime Writers Assocation. He started what would become the Debut Dagger scheme for the CWA and helped to administer it for the first two years. He also has judged different literary prizes for the Historical Writers Association, the Crime Writers Association, and others. Andrew also does events for U.K. and abroad in libraries, bookshops, and festivals. He also teaches writing courses occasionally. He has appeared as himself on different television shows such as Profiling, The One Show, and The A to Z of Crime.

Before he was an author, Andrew was first a reader. He also worked several jobs before he officially became an author and nothing else! Andrew has been employed in many positions, from a wages clerk to a boatbuilder, a librarian, a teacher, a laborer, and a freelance publisher’s editor. He has been happy to be a full-time author since 1981. Since 1982, he has resided in the Forest of Dean, close to the borders of Wales and England. Andrew says that there is no one way to write a novel, but he knows that it is usually a difficult and long business, calling it ‘infinitely mysterious’.

The Ashes of London is the first book in the James Marwood & Cat Lovett series by Andrew Taylor. This historical thriller is set in London during the time of the Great Fire. If you’re looking for something new to enjoy, check it out!

The year is 1666, the month is September, the place is London. It is a time of great trials, as what is known as The Great Fire is going throughout the city. Anything that it touches goes up in flames and it consumes all that is in its past. Nothing is immune from the fire, including the St. Paul’s Cathedral, which goes up in total flames and becomes ruined.

Among the people watching the cathedral burn is the son of a disgraced painter named James Marwood, who is also a government informer (albeit reluctantly). After the fire goes down some, a semi-mummified body is found in the St. Paul’s ashes located in a tomb that was supposed to be empty. Strangely, the body of the man has been mutilated and the thumbs have been tied behind his back.

Marwood has orders from the government to hunt down what is presumed to be a killer. To do so, he must go all over the devastated city of London. This is also a time of dissent internally and foreign invasion is looking potentially likely. Marwood finds that his investigation will lead him to some treacherous places, but he never expected to come across a gorgeous young woman with a determined passion for vengeance. Will he be able to solve this mystery? What will happen with the young woman? Read this book to find out!

The Fire Court is the second book in the James Marwood & Cat Lovett series by Andrew Taylor. If you liked the first book, check out the sequel!

In Restoration London somewhere, a killer has gone to ground. The Great Fire has spread destruction wherever it went, its flames leading to devastation. The city is rebuilding slowly, guided by the Fire Court, but things are still volatile at the time and there is danger everywhere.

James Marwood may be a traitor’s sun, but he does his best. He is put into this environment when his sick father says that he’s found a murdered woman in the same place that the Fire Court is. His father is run down shortly after, being killer in the process. Was it an accident or was it murder?

Marwood wants to find out the truth, and so he turns to Cat Lovett. She’s the one person that she can trust, and he’s helped her out before. Now hopefully she will do the same and help him out. But when a third death occurs, Marwood and Cat must face the fact that there’s a desperate killer on the loose. Can they save the city by catching a killer? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Marwood and Lovett

Leave a Reply