Book Notification

Mary Anna Evans Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Faye Longchamp Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Wounded Earth (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Physicists' Daughter (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Traitor Beside Her (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

with Lillian Sellers
A Singularly Unsuitable Word (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mouse House (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Starch (With: Lillian Sellers) (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twin Set (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Land of the Flowers (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Low-Budget Monster Flick (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Your Novel, Day by Day (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bloomsbury Handbook to Agatha Christie (With: J.C. Bernthal) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Kudzu Christmas(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Merry Band of Murderers(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Florida Heat Wave(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Faking of the President(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Born on 2nd May 1961, Mary Anna Evans is the Faye Longchamp series archeological mysteries that have won various awards. She spent her childhood moments in Hattiesburg, Mississippi and most of her memorable and happiest childhood days she can recall were spent reading books. A few of Mary Anna Evans authors she is found a passion reading their books are Laura Ingalls, Jane Austen, Robert Heinlein. Mary wrote her first ever first short story while in high school during the creative writing. After her high school studies, Mary Anna Evans attended college where she graduated with a degree in Physics from the Murray State University and later participated in the University of Mississippi where she finalized with a B.Sc degree in Chemical Engineering.

Mary Anna Evans has worked as an offshore roustabout, gift wrapper, environmental consultant, a bank teller, a community college instructor, and a university administrator. The author has three children, and after the birth of her third child, Mary quit her job as an environmental consultant to focus more on her family as well as her writing career. She spends her time with her children or during church’s youth choir; she is a talented musician, and most of the times perform publicly. The author currently lives in Florida together with her family.

Mary Anna Evans began scripting down her protagonist, Faye Longchamp, an archeologist in 2003 when the debut novel Artifacts in Faye Longchamp series was published. The sequel to the first book is titled Relics, and it is set in Alabama, where the main character, Faye Longchamp is tasked to lead her first ever professional archeological job since she earned her degree. In this novel, she is a part of a team of investigators investing the history of a community known as Sujosa, a bizarre group of mixed race people who have lived in East Alabama for hundreds of years. However as soon as her team arrives to conduct the investigation, bodies start piling up.

Some of other books published which follows the same series include; Effigies (2007), Findings (2008), and Floodgates (2008) all of which are set in New Orleans after the Hurricane Katrina. Wounded Earth is a standalone novel published in 1995, while Jewel Box is a collection of Mary Anna Evans short stories.

Mary Anna Evans has been nominated and also won various awards. For example, she was awarded the Mississippi Author Award, Benjamin Franklin Award, Florida Literature Award, Phi Mu Fraternity’s Book of the Biennium Award, and Mississippi Author Award. The author’s novels have received several recognition’s including, (VOYA) Voice of Young America’s for Adult Mysteries with Young Adult Appeal. Some of the novels have made it to the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association bestseller list. Award nominations for her books include; SIBA Book Award and ForeWord Magazines Book.


Faye Longchamp almost lost everything apart from her quick mind, and her passion for residing in her ancestral home in Joyeuse, a decaying plantation located in Florida Coast. No one seems to understand how her great-great grandma Cally, came to own Joyeuse, at her teenage after she was freed from slavery. Also, no one knows how Cally’s descendants managed to hang onto it through the world wars, the great depression, Reconstruction, and Jim Crow but still Faye managed to inherit the island plantation and the family determination as well. When the property taxes rise to a point where she cannot pay or beyond her means, she sails out of the island to dig for artifacts and sells them in the black market. Through her investigations, she discovers a great fortune artifact would save her plantation forever. However, instead of arrowheads and potsherds, she unearths a woman broken skull and a Jackie Kennedy-style earring placed against the bony cheek. Faye Longchamp is confused, in that if she reports the 45-year old murder, the authority will soon discover her illegal business and thus risking the loss of Joyeuse as well as going to jail. Faye will not let that happen either, so she begins investigating into the dead woman’s past. However, her investigations lead to a series of events. This is because the killer is still on the loose and he is ready to kill again to ensure that what was done in the past remain in the past.

Artifacts is more than just a story revolving around the young wannabe archaeologist; it is a profound dive into the history of the little-known piece of America. Miss Mary Anna Evans does an excellent job of immersing the readers deep down into the locale of the islands, as well as its people. The novel is just what life can be like away from the fast lanes and crossroads in the American South, it all about the “the piece of pie” that someone wants to get but it is not reserved for taking.


This is the second book in Faye Longchamp series by Mary Anna Evans, published in 2005 by the Poisoned Pen Press. This novel follows, Faye Longchamp, the artifacts black marketer after she lands a job as the chief archeologist for a local development project. She heads to the Alabama Hills with her masculine native American assistant Joe. She is hoping for a good job ahead and anticipates to uncovering the mystery of the Sujosa people- a mysterious community with exceptional resistance to disease trait. However, the killing of one of the project team prompts another sort of investigation and soon Faye finds herself forced to use her personal as well as professional skills to bring the killer to justice as well as the mystery surrounding the Sujosa people.

Mary Anna Evans is a mother and a great author who has a deep passion for novel writing. Her novels not only provide an excellent entertainment mystery but also give an insight of the history of the America, and with a good author come great writings. The characters are well developed such that they bond with the reader’s right from the beginning, the plotlines and twists are well created to bring out the real taste of archeological mysteries that the author intended to bring forth from the start. In summary, if you love mystery novel with some aspects of archeology, then Faye Longchamp series by Mary Anna Evans is the series of your choice.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mary Anna Evans

Leave a Reply