Book Notification

Mary Pauline Lowry Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Earthquake Machine (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wildfire (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Roxy Letters (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Mary Pauline Lowry
Mary Pauline Lowry is an English fiction author. She is the writer of The Roxy Letters, Wildfire and The Earthquake Machine. Lowry regularly contributes to Oprah magazine, her writing has been featured in The New York Times and The Millions, among other publications. The Austin born author currently resides in Boise, where she lives with her husband George. Lowry dreams of riding a sled pulled by joyful dachshunds one day, but in the meantime, she is happy to continue churning stories that her target audience will genuinely enjoy.

The Roxy Letters
The Roxy Letters introduces Roxy, an artist who is always broke, but she has a heart of gold. Roxy’s career as an artist seems to have taken a dip since her heartbreak. For now, she has to take up odd jobs, and the income is not enough to support her and her pets. The bills are piling up, and if she doesn’t do anything, Roxy will not be able to pay her rent. She goes out to look for someone she can share her apartment with, and Everett is more than willing to move into the spare room. After all, he is also currently struggling financially.

Roxy has an ex now living in her spare room, which goes to show just how messy her life is. She also seems to be making one mistake after another, and some of these mistakes come with dire consequences. Thankfully, Roxy has great friends who will help discover true love, good sex, and show the confused young lady her life’s purpose.

Roxy writes letters, mostly to her ex-boyfriend Everett. The letters to Roxy are mostly reminders about unpaid rent while the rest is about her life in general. Currently, Roxy is slaving in Whole Foods as a deli maid. The work is exhausting, not to mention the indignities that are a part of the job. The fact that Roxy is paid poorly means that she also struggles to pay her bills. One day, Roy decides to be the hero of her story.

Her journey of bravery starts when Roxy teams with two of her friends to save Austin. Roxy grew up in Austin, and she watches in horror as the place she holds dear turn into a corporate jungle. The local businesses that were once the beauty of this city are closing one after another, and Roxy is afraid that if nothing is done, the beauty of her hometown will be gone for good. Her journey to self-discovery comes with its fair share of misadventures, but in the end, Roxy comes out victorious.

This book is a mash-up of so many things. Read about strong friendships among women and Roxy’s misguided forays with men. It is also a story of victory as Roxy is successful in getting out of her rut. Roxy’s antics will leave you in stitches, and her letters to Everett are nothing short of hilarious. Written in the form of unsent messages, The Roxy Letters are like a breath of fresh air, and the format makes it perfect if you are looking for an easy read. You can choose to read a few letters at a time or sit and enjoy it all. Whatever your choice, get ready for one wild ride.

The Earthquake Machine
The Earthquake Machine starts Rhonda, a fourteen-year-old who looks like she has everything going for her. However, the world does not know that Rhonda has to put up with a cunning father. To make things worse, Rhonda’s father is keeping her mentally unstable mom hooked on pharmaceuticals. The only ray of light at home for Rhonda is Jesus, the Mexican yardman. Unfortunately, Jesus gets deported, leaving Rhonda all alone in her toxic home. Soon after, Rhonda’s mother commits suicide, and life couldn’t be lonelier for her.

Rhonda wants Jesus back in her home, and during a camp trip, the young girl sees the perfect opportunity to run away. She swims to the Rio Grande and finds her way to Boquillas, Mexico. It is in this town that she meets a bartender who convinces her that the journey to Mexico’s interior will not be safe, especially if Rhonda will be traveling alone. Rhonda cuts her hair with the help of the bartender and assumes a new identity. Now going by the male name Angel, Rhonda sets to cross the desert in search of Jesus. This journey marks the beginning of an adventure that takes Rhonda through different towns bordering the United States and Mexico. Rhonda is going to meet many people along the way, and they will all bring her closer to her goal.

This is a coming of age story that flows so beautifully from start to finish. As much as this story is about Rhonda’s trip in search of her friend, it is also a journey through self-discovery. Rhonda goes through tremendous growth in this book, and the once insecure and confused teenager is replaced by a young woman who believes in herself and her abilities. The author lets the reader into Rhonda’s mind. It is fascinating to see the internal battles that the young girls struggle within her journey. It helps that the book is mostly descriptive, and the author has done a great job of developing her character. By the end of the first chapter, you will be rooting for Rhonda and wishing that she will get the results she is looking for.

The Earthquake Machine is a perfect choice if you are looking for a unique and unforgettable book. Lowry’s writing is flawless, and the numerous twists and turns in this story will keep you turning the pages. You are going to experience highs and lows throughout the story. In the end, you will be happy for Rhonda and the steps she will have made to improve herself. The narrator’s voice is gritty and raw, and by the end, you will question all you know about growing up. In summary, this is a great book that every young adult should read. The happy ending is a plus, and the humor in some parts helps lighten the mood when things get thick.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mary Pauline Lowry

Leave a Reply