Book Notification

Maryrose Wood Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place Books

The Mysterious Howling (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hidden Gallery (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unseen Guest (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Interrupted Tale (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unmapped Sea (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Long-Lost Home (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Morgan Rawlinson Books

Why I Let My Hair Grow Out (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
How I Found the Perfect Dress (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
What I Wore to Save the World (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Poison Diaries Books

The Poison Diaries (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nightshade (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sex Kittens and Horn Dawgs Fall in Love (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Life (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Alice's Farm (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Maryrose Wood is an author that writes novels about children and their governesses, aimed at both kids and teens. Maryrose claims that her books are a blend of fiction and nonfiction. She lives it up to her readers to separate fact from fiction.


Maryrose Wood was born in the Suburbs of Long Island. She had a pretty healthy reading habit as a child that saw her experiment with the likes of A.A. Milne, Lewis Carroll, and J.R.R. Tolkien.

Maryrose would like to believe that she dipped her toes in as wide a variety of children’s literature as possible in order to properly inform and shape her reading and writing interests. She even had the Untermeyer poetry collection.

It might have taken her decades to think about writing fiction but she read all the time as a child and the habit followed her into adulthood, even when she moved to New York City at the age of 17.

At the time, Maryrose Wood was dead set on becoming an actor. She even attended New York University where she studied acting, at least for a time before finally dropping out to participate in a Broadway Musical that completely flopped.

Even with the negative consequences, the decision was a stepping stone for Maryrose. It was while she pursued her acting dreams on stage and film that she began to write.

She wore the hats of a lyricist, playwright, and even a screenwriter. She even took home a couple of accolades for her thespian efforts. At the time, Maryrose admits that life wasn’t a picnic.

Acting was her first career but it didn’t pay too well. For all the joy it gave her, Maryrose had to accept that acting and writing was just a hobby that she could only pursue outside her working hours, working hours that she used to earn a living with numerous office temp jobs.

Maryrose was a typist. There were many executives in the employment pool who wouldn’t be caught dead touching a keyboard and Maryrose Wood used that opportunity to put some money in her pocket.

But she was eventually able to quit all that in favor of working exclusively within the arts. By 2004, the author realized that she had garnered enough experience as a storyteller to attempt producing her own literary fiction.

In 2006, Maryrose’s first novel came out. It received rave reviews and was commended for being uproariously funny. Maryrose proceeded to produce more books for children and young adults, most of which have garnered attention for their memorable characters and the author’s unique approach to threading plots.

Maryrose does not regret the decision to make the switch to literary fiction. The field allows her to unleash imaginary concepts that have haunted her since she was a child.

Maryrose is very meticulous in the way she plans her writing process. The author operates on a very strict schedule, documenting her daily writing achievements in spreadsheets to ensure that she’s making steady progress.

Maryrose Wood is satisfied if she manages to produce eight hundred words in a given day. And the author loves to have a structure in mind before she writes. She doesn’t support the notion of sitting down with no idea of what you intend to write and just filling the page with whatever ideas assault you.

Though, the author is not a strict plotter. She is comfortable simply having a general idea of the way her story will progress. Otherwise, she enjoys letting her characters be unpredictable.

Maryrose doesn’t think she gets enough downtime. Because she makes it a point to produce up to two books a year, she typically moves from book to book without taking the time to recharge in between.

When the opportunity arises, Maryrose likes to use her free time to read. She enjoys getting immersed in as many books as possible, preferably books that have nothing to do with what she intends to write because that allows her to cleanse her palate.

Outside of her reading and writing habits, Maryrose Wood likes to go biking and kayaking. Sleeping is also a favorite pastime for the author, not to mention experimenting with new recipes.

Mary eventually went back and graduated from New York University. She teaches writing classes and enjoys the idea of passing on her knowledge to the next generation.

+The Mysterious Howling

The Incorrigibles are nothing to scoff at. The children were found in the forest of Ashton Place. It was there that readers were introduced to Alexander, Cassiopeia, and Beowulf. Alexander is the oldest at ten, Cassiopeia is five while Beowulf is somewhere in the middle.

It would take an extraordinary mind to keep these extraordinary kids in check. Fortunately for all involved, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess. Penelope just finished her studies at the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females.

She might only be fifteen but Penelope is ready to take on the rigors of her new position. She knows the children are a little wild, and before she can instill essential skills and knowledge into them, Penelope must first remedy their less than civilized tendencies.

And while she whips them into shape, Penelope cannot help but wonder about the origins of her charges and why they were living in the estate’s vast forests. Mysteries abound and Penelope hopes she can solve them all whilst also turning the Incorrigibles into civilized individuals.

+The Hidden Gallery

Alexander, Beowulf, and Cassiopeia were more like wolf cubs. They looked like children but their behavior mirrored that of wild animals. And that was to be expected. After all, they were all discovered running about in the vast forest of Ashton Place.

Yet, their governess Penelope has performed a miracle. She has turned them into actual children. They wear clothes like everyone else and you won’t see them howling at the moon, at last not all the time.

And now that they don’t go chasing squirrels up trees, you would think that Penelope Lumley would be happy. But the plucky governess knows that her charges are still not quite right.

Their antics completely ruin Lady Constance’s Christmas Ball. They nearly destroy the Grand house, and even though repairs are quickly effected, it is determined that the kids will be taken to London.

Penelope hopes that an exploration of the city will give her new clues as to the origins of the children. Unfortunately, that isn’t the only mystery that needs solving this time around.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Maryrose Wood

Leave a Reply