Book Notification

Massimo Carlotto Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Giorgio Pellegrini Books

The Goodbye Kiss (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
At the End of a Dull Day (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of L'Alligatore Books

The Colombian Mule (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Master of Knots (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bandit Love (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gang of Lovers (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
For All the Gold in the World (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blues for Outlaw Hearts and Old Whores (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Fugitive (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death's Dark Abyss (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Poisonville (With: Marco Videtta) (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Massimo Carlotto

As an Italian author, Massimo Carlotto has a lot to offer with his many interesting and engaging thriller novels. Keeping readers constantly invested in his stories, he really understands what drives readers to continue and find out what comes next. Crafting complex narratives alongside strong characters, he balances the two effectively, all while making his books accessible. Appreciated by his many contemporaries and peers alike, he’s had a lot of influence as a writer within his particular field and genre.

Getting to the heart of numerous different ideas as well, Carlotto is never afraid to shy away from more difficult subject matter either. He’s an author who always ensures that his work delivers, giving it a real sense of authenticity and grounding it both in terms of character and story. The books have a strong sense of narrative drive, with many characters returning time and time again, particularly that of Giorgio Pellegrini. All of his novels come alive on the page, and this is something readers from far and wide have responded to, with his books being translated from Italian on several occasions.

Character is a key feature of Carlotto’s work, as he always manages to get into the mind of each of his protagonists. This approach has also helped to secure his success, with many of his characters becoming highly iconic in their own right. Resonating with his audience regardless of where they’re from, his books have a real sense of universality to all of them. As more and more learn of his books every day, he continues to write, with his audience of readers growing day by day.

Early and Personal Life

Born in 1956 on the 22nd of June, Massimo Carlotto was born and raised in Padua, Italy, growing up with a keen passion for the written word. This interest of his developed over time, as he would come to find his own voice, with him refining and honing his craft. Continuing it into university, he would soon begin to draw inspiration from his own life and many experiences that would befall him.

At the age of just nineteen, he discovered a woman murdered, which led him to panic and flee, and he was soon charged with homicide. Continually protesting his innocence, he eventually escaped the country, evading capture until he was eventually extradited. He was sentenced to prison despite there being a lack of evidence, but public opinion swayed in his favor, and he was pardoned in 1993 by the Italian president himself.

Writing Career

Over the years, Massimo Carlotto has written extensively, publishing numerous crime-fiction and thriller novels. Largely focusing on the noir genre, he would begin his literary career with ‘Il fuggiasco,’ or ‘The Fugitive,’ back in 1995. This book was a fictionalized account of his own life on the run from the law, and it would also later be made into a 2003 film.

Creating iconic characters such as ‘The Alligator’ aka Marco Buratti, the private detective, along with Giorgio Pellegrini, he’s really made an impact. Working as a playwright, along with publishing essays and graphic novels, he’s a versatile writer who’s also written for younger readers as well. As his popularity continues to grow, with many of his novels being translated, his work will carry on being enjoyed for a long time yet.

The Goodbye Kiss

Originally coming out back in 2001, this was translated by Lawrence Venuti for an English-speaking audience. It would not only be a stand-alone crime-thriller novel, it would also be the first time Giorgio Pellegrini was introduced. Setting up the world of the eponymous protagonist, the book would be the first in the ‘Giorgio Pellegrini’ series of books.

Wanted for a series of crimes back in Italy, Giorgio Pellegrini is an unscrupulous womanizer completely devoid of all morality. Returning to Italy, he was once full of idealism, but no more, as he will go as far as murder to gain an air of respectability once again. Dealing with a corrupt cop, they both plan a car heist together, enlisting the help of numerous low-life criminals to help them. Will they manage to see it all through, can Giorgio reclaim his name again, and what will become of the goodbye kiss?

As a novel about an amoral character, this really does a great job of drawing the reader into his dark and foreboding world. Keeping the reader continually invested throughout, the story is extremely well paced, with an intriguing premise that keeps the audience hooked. With plenty of twists and turns too, it also works well in establishing who Pellegrini is as a person for the many books to come.

Gang of Lovers

Coming out in 2015 on the 18th of March for an English-speaking audience, this would be the seventh book in ‘The Alligator’ series. Featuring the character of Buratti at the helm, it also features Giorgio Pellegrini once again, as he appears as the antagonist here. The book itself would come out through the ‘Europa Editions’ publishing imprint and would provide a stand-alone thriller story set in an ongoing world.

Disappearing without a trace, a father and husband vanishes in Padua, Italy, leaving behind a cold case after several months of fruitless searching. But there’s one woman who knows the truth, and, as the daughter of a Swiss industrialist, she knows there’s more at stake here, with her being once his lover. Helping her with her search, Buratti agrees to assist her, leading ‘The Alligator’ to take the trail of the unscrupulous criminal Giorgio Pellegrini. Will they be able to find who they’re looking for, can they find the missing husband, and what will become of the gang of lovers?

Dealing with the end of a gang war, this book excellently keeps the reader engaged, understanding what’s happening at all times. While the narrative flowing is complex, the audience is able to keep up easily, never once leaving them behind at any single point. Really delivering on the premise, too, it’s a well-written story with lots to ensure the reader remains reading every step of the way.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Massimo Carlotto

Leave a Reply