Book Notification

Master of War Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Master of War Books

Master of War (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Defiant Unto Death (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gate of the Dead (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Viper's Blood (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scourge of Wolves (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cross of Fire (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow of the Hawk (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Kill a King (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author David Gilman pens the “Master of War” series. The series began publication in the year 2013, when “The Blooding” was released.

The series stars a British archer named Thomas Blackstone. He becomes the Master of War through different historical battles while fighting for the English.

He was a village stonemason, sent off to fight with King Edward’s army as an archer against the French in the year 1346. Thomas’ humble beginnings, this common guy’s reputation ends up becoming legend. This cast of characters is sent on one epic journey through the political intrigue and violence of the 100 Years’ War.

“The Blooding” is the first novel in the “Master of War” series, and was released in the year 2013. England and the year is 1346. For Thomas Blackstone the choice is an easy one. Dance at the end of a rope for one murder he didn’t commit, or pick up his war bow and join up with the king’s invasion of France.

While fighting his way across the northern part of France, Blackstone is going to learn some of the brutal lessons of war. From the confusion and terror of his first taste of battle and the savage realities of siege warfare.

Edward III’s army, which is vastly outnumbered, is going to finally confront the armored might of French nobility out on the field of Crecy. This battle is going to change the history of warfare, one battle that is going to change the whole entire course of Blackstone’s life. The battle is only the first chapter in the book of legend. Blackstone: Master of War.

Fans found this novel had a brilliant mix of intrigue, characterization, history, courage, fear, and battles. The novel features a lot of historical detail, helping to bring this period of history richly to life. There is also a lot of care being shown to strategic positioning, medieval military tactic, and army compositions, which some readers found highly fascinating.

“Defiant Unto Death” is the second novel in the “Master of War” series, and was released in the year 2015. The Black Prince has just launched a devastating raid deep into France, and he lays waste to everything that is in his path. In response, the French have put together an army that outnumbers the English forces ten to one. They are bound and determined to drive this hated foe of theirs from the land after all the years of bloody conquest.

Sir Thomas Blackstone, the British archer that was knighted on the field of Crecy, has used his intervening years to put together a war band of his own and hacked out a fiefdom of his own in central France. He realizes that English are outnumbered, exhausted, and outmanoeuvred. That is not going to stop him, though from fighting his way back to one of history’s largest military victories.

The field of battle is not the sole arena that Blackstone is going to have to battle for his life. Poitiers was a huge victory for the English, however the aftermath is going to cost Blackstone dearly.

Thomas is a great hero that readers enjoy following around on his adventures. This novel is compelling with its grittiness and power of the raw descriptions of warfare during the medieval period. This more fast paced, action packed, and gritty with moments that make your heart race. Fans of the series can’t wait to see where the action goes from here in future installments.

“Gate of the Dead” is the third novel in the “Master of War” series, and was released in the year 2016. Tuscany and the year is 1358. Thomas Blackstone has built up a formidable reputation while in exile. He fights as a mercenary during all the neverending warring of Italy’s City States. Success has caused him to have many enemies, and a dying man delivers a message calling him back to England, it appears to be a definite trap. Yet Blackstone is unable to disobey this message, as it comes from the Queen herself.

During his journey, Blackstone is going to have to brave the terrors of the High Alps during the winter, face off against the Black Prince in tournament, and then confront the bloody anarchy of the popular revolt, before submitting to a trial by combat.

Each step of the way, he is going to be shadowed by one notorious assassin that has orders to dispatch him back to Hell.

Fans found the novel to be entirely engaging which builds on events from the previous novels. Readers found this one to be an excellent addition to an already superb series of novels.

“Viper’s Blood” is the fourth novel in the “Master of War” series, and was released in the year 2017. The year is 1360. With the English army now at the gates of Paris, Blackstone now faces his most lethal mission yet.

Edward III has just invaded France at the head of the biggest host England has ever assembled. His attempt to win the crown of the French is only futile. The Dauphin is no longer going to meet the English in the field and the huge army is mired in the costly sieges, while it scavenges supplies from the land wrecked by decades of battle.

Facing a stalemate, or even worse, the English are forced to agree to signing a treaty. Peace, however, comes with a price. The French request that Blackstone escort the daughter of the King to Italy in order to see her married off to one of the two brothers that rule over Milan. These are the same brothers that killed Blackstone’s own family in order to revenge the defeats he inflicted upon them. The French are certain that there is no way that Blackstone is going to ever leave Milan alive.

Readers enjoyed this gritty, superb, and relentless tale. Once fans started this one, they did not set it down until they had finished it. David Gilman is a magnificent author and takes his readers right to the core of the novel. His writing cleverly describes the characters with their togetherness and personalities.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Master of War

6 Responses to “Master of War”

  1. Roz Grodzicki: 2 years ago

    Love the series, I read all 7. Will their be an 8th?

    • Ken Clark: 11 months ago

      Is there anymore or similar books I loved them

      • Graham: 2 months ago

        Any more Master of War books 9/10? Thanks I hope so great read and can get into the book and the story many thanks

      • Scott Chapin: 2 weeks ago

        I really love this series. I had just finished Bernard Cornell’s Grail Quest series about an English archer named Thomas.They flowed nicely from one to the other. For some reason when I’m reading I’m picturing Adam Driver as Thomas Blackstone.

      • Scott Chapin: 2 weeks ago

        Read Bernard Cornwell’s Trail Quest series. It’s coincidently also about an English archer named Thomas.

      • Scott Chapin: 2 weeks ago

        That’s Grail Quest. Not Trail.


Leave a Reply