Book Notification

Matchmaker Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Matchmaker Mystery Books

An Affair to Dismember (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Matchpoint / Citizen Pain (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love Game / The Wizard of Saws (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Playing the Field / Field of Screams (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
From Fear to Eternity (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
West Side Gory (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scareplane (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Road to Matchmaker (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
It Happened One Fright (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Big Kill (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
It's a Wonderful Knife (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ship of Ghouls (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Matchmaker Mysteries Collections

Matchmaking Advice from Your Grandma Zelda (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Matchmaker Marriage Mystery Books

Gored of the Rings (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Slay Misty For Me (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scar Wars (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Die Charred (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spawn with the Wind (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Matchmaker series is a set of Romantic Mystery novels written by Elise Sax. The series features Gladie Burger as the main character an amateur sleuth often involved in solving murder crimes. Sax began the publication of The Matchmaker series in 2013 when the first novel in the series An Affair to Dismember was published.

An Affair to Dismember

An Affair to Dismember is the first novel in The Matchmaker series by Elise Sax. The story introduces the readers to Gladie Burger, a damsel a woman who is ever ready to move on. She finds it hard to live in one place all through the year. When her grandmother living in a picturesque rural town in California, hires her to the family business, at first Gladie is doubtful. Her grandmothers business is about matchmaking, and according to Gladie, she is unqualified due to her lousy record when it comes to romance. Moreover, despite the evidence from Gladie previous romance experiences, her granny, Zelda is quite convinced that her granddaughter possesses the special gift.

However, when her granny’s neighbor is found dead in his kitchen, Gladie is drawn into the murder case, and soon she is investigating despite several warnings from the chief of police to keep off the case. Gladie is determined to prove to everyone that her neighbor death was not accidental but rather was murder. It is not too long that she is way over her head with the handsome police chief, a family full of suspects, and yet a mysterious man she is unable to ignore- and it is not long before she finds herself being pursued by a killer and a murderer. However, the big question is who will catch her first, the killer or the lover? Will she finally solve the murder mystery?

The debut novel in The Matchmaker series by Elise Sax is a great series opener full of a stranger, bigger than life characters, full of twists and turns that ensures that the readers are engaged to the last page. The novel features a love triangle where the heroine is stuck between her strong desires for two men.

The main character, Gladie is well crafted while the mystery is brilliant. She is a woman in her late twenties, but seems to have no direction in her life; she loves living in different places and hates being stagnated at one particular place for so long. Gladie is a woman unlikely to succeed, having graduated from high school and have gone through an endless list of temporary jobs for over a decade. An Affair to Dismember is a brilliant match for the fans of Jennifer Crusie, Janet Evanovich, and Katie MacAlister.


Matchpoint is the second book in the Matchmaker series by Elise Sax. Gladie once again is back, and her life is crazier than ever. She is still struggling with becoming one of the best matchmakers like her grandmother, and she is giving it all and also determined to up her latest client, Belinda.

The story starts approximately a month after the end of the debut novel and starts off with Gladie getting a new look at Bird Gonzalez beauty shop. She has only made a single matchmaking since the last one in the debut novel. Everything is running smoothly; she has had a client request for her services. Gladie heads to Bliss Dental office to meet with the receptionist Belinda.

While at the hospital getting her teeth filled, someone kills the dentist, at the same time, Belinda becomes the primary suspect in the murder case. It is upon Gladie task not only to match her client Belinda but also to prove that she is innocent. Everyone in the local town remembers Gladie gift for matchmaking the killers with the cops handcuff, and so he or she requests her to find the killer since she was present at the crime scene. Unfortunately, anesthesia had knocked her out while the killer mercilessly killed the dentist.

Besides the main plot of solving the murder mystery, Matchpoint also features some side stories, for instance when the town rises against a group of idiosyncratic people who have set up camp in the town and appear not to be leaving soon. Gladie still has two men in her life. First, there is Spencer, who sought refuge in Gladie’s house because of Facebook status updates by the furious women he has been sleeping with. Then there is Holden, who is Gladie’s boyfriend. He keeps secrets, and even though Gladie wants to know him more, every time they are together, something gets in the way.

Sax does a fantastic job in the second novel, right from the plot, character development. Even though the story can be read as a standalone novel, it does reference specific events from the first book.

Love Game

It has been five months since Gladie went to live with her grandmother in Cannes, the beautiful small town in California. She joined her outlandish granny Zelda in the matchmaking business, and through this, Zelda is soon mastering the rule of attraction. Her latest appointments are going on well until the day when a rival matchmaker makes her entry in town, and soon Gladie and Zelda are facing stiff competition.

Not only is the new matchmaker stealing Zelda’s clients but Zelda believes that the woman is a fraud. She tasks her granddaughter with exposing the matchmaker as a fraud. However, Gladie’s attention is soon diverted when someone is murdered. Once again, Gladie starts her amateur sleuthing despite getting warnings from Spencer Bolton, the handsome chief of police.

Love Game is the third novel in the Matchmaker series by Elise Sax. Once again the author has woven a story featuring a brilliant main character and supporting character. Each of the supporting characters has a trait that in one-way forms, shapes, or helps Gladie on her mission, whether it is solving the murder mystery in the small town or in the matchmaking business. Gladie can be said to be a woman with a “gift” of getting into lots of trouble but also possess the gift of getting rid of all these problems. Fans of Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich will find the Matchmaker series by Elise Sax a good match.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Matchmaker

Leave a Reply