Book Notification

Matt Braun Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ash Tallman Books

Publication Order of The Brannocks Books

Publication Order of Gunfighter Chronicles Books

Publication Order of Luke Starbuck Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Black Fox (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bloody Hand (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Savage Land (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cimarron Jordan (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Kincaids (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Second Coming of Lucas Brokaw (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mattie Silks (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lords of the Land (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buck Colter (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stuart Women (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bloodstorm (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Indian Territory (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
El Paso (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tenbow (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wyatt Earp (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Outlaw Kingdom (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Texas Empire (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Stand (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rio Grande (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Know My Name (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gentleman Rogue (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bloodsport (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow Killers (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kinch Riley (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Walk (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hickok and Cody (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wild Ones (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Overlords (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warlords (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Gold (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dakota (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Westward of the Law (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dodge City (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
WesternLore (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Save-Your-Life Defense Handbook (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Matt Braun's Western Cooking (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Write Western Novels (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Matt Braun, born in the year 1932, is fourth generation Westerner, and is steeped in the lore and tradition of the frontier. He was born in Oklahoma, and raised in a family of ranchers along with the Osage and Cherokee tribes. He has since set several of his books in the state of Oklahoma.

Braun has written over forty novels and some non-fiction works, and there are over forty million copies of his books in print that are published in fourteen foreign countries. His debut novel, called “Black Fox”, was published in the year 1973. One of which, called “Black Fox”, was made into a miniseries that aired on CBS. “One Last Town” served as the inspiration for a television movie that aired on TNT.

The Western Writers of America gave Braun the Spur Award for “The Kincaids”. He has also won the Owen Wister Lifetime Achievement Award.

“Noble Outlaw” is the first novel in the “Gunfighter Chronicles” series, which was released in the year 1977. John Wesley had a powder keg temper. It earned him a dozen bodies by the time he turned twenty, and a spot right at the top of Texas’ most wanted list.

Now, though, he is a father and a husband, and his fighting days are behind him. That ends when an angry loser ambushes him during a local poker game. Quickly, the law is on Wes’ trail once more, but now he has too much at stake.

Here is a tough to put down novel that all fans of westerns should read. The book was well written, and some cannot get enough of Matt Braun’s incredible writing.

“The Gamblers” is the second novel in the “Gunfighter Chronicles” series, which was released in the year 1997. Guys like Custer, Cody, Hickock, and Earp towered over the frontier. Abilene to Tombstone, on the rugged and sprawling frontier, they create a life by their courage and cunning.

Between this group of gambling guys, some that lost and some that won, was a lady who carved her own legend. She was a beautiful farm girl from the state of Indiana, and Mattie Silks traded innocence for some of the wildest guys the West has to offer. Then her trail of money and love takes her to Denver, a boomtown, and the guy named Cort Thomson. Here, she might be able to play for some of the highest stakes of all.

“One Last Town” is the third novel in the “Gunfighter Chronicles” series, which was released in the year 1997. Bill Tilghman was the real deal, and a lawman that wore a badge for only one reason: to bring criminals to justice.

This book is the final days of an extraordinary manhunter as he stares down a heroic fight on the corrupt and bloody streets in Cromwell, Oklahoma. There is the woman that loved him until the very end, and the guy that refused to back down.

This is another well written novel by Matt Braun, one that has a great story and keeps readers’ attention the entire time. Here is a fun read that gives readers the chance to get to know the early events as a lawman before finishing off his legend by the end of the book.

“Doc Holliday” is the fourth novel in the “Gunfighter Chronicles” series, which was released in the year 1997. He comes from the American South, a dentist by training, a gentleman due to breeding, and gambler by vocation. Dr. John H. Holliday, who is a man fleeing from a tragic past, moves across the West and lives with some of the roughest guys on the frontier. Word quickly gets out that he never drew too late or walked away from any fights.

Dodge City to Cheyenne and Denver, from sinkholes to boomtown, Doc Holliday was fueled by his past’s demons, a seasoned killer, and skilled gambler. Long before OK Corral, his name was known and feared.

“Hangman’s Creek” is the first novel in the “Luke Starbuck” series, which was released in the year 1982. Ben Langham, a Texas rancher, hired Luke Starbuck because of his loyalty and toughness he gained by riding with Rip Ford’s Texas volunteers. Langham sends Starbuck off to find a band of horse thieves, an always loyal left the only home he ever knew behind and met the stranger that lived within him.

This is an excellent telling of Doc Holliday’s story, and readers find themselves glad they finally picked this one up and read it. Matt Braun writes this to allow you to get to know the guy inside the legend. The book is hard to put down for very long, and is very likable.

To find a thief, Starbuck poses as an outlaw, killed to protect himself, and misled his lady. Then he rode into a kingdom full of sinister horse thieves and gets into a duel with a criminal mastermind hiding behind a life that is respectable. Along the way, Starbuck (honest and hardworking) found that he is a changed man who gives himself a future and freedom in a place where some other men have died.

This is an entertaining read that made some chase down others in the series. Readers found this to be a fast moving tale about your average ranch hand that takes on a gig as a ranch detective to catch horse thieves.

“Jury of Six” is the second novel in the “Luke Starbuck” series. Texas Rancher Ben Langham left his worldly possessions to the guy he trusted most: Luke Starbuck. Starbuck used to dream of having land all his own. Now he wants to find the guy that gunned Langham down and bringing him to justice.

Starbuck, with the support of the Cattleman’s Association, has all the authority that he needs to go to New Mexico to hunt down the band of thieves. He did not count on the fact that he would have to confront Pat Garrett (a shifty sheriff), a scrawny killer that was named William “The Kid” Bonney, the true story surrounding the legendary Lincoln County War. All of a sudden, Luke finds himself right in the middle of a major conspiracy and going right into the line of fire.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Matt Braun

Leave a Reply