Book Notification

Matthew Bracken Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dan Kilmer Books

Castigo Cay (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Red Cliffs of Zerhoun (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Enemies Trilogy Books

Enemies Foreign And Domestic (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Domestic Enemies (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Foreign Enemies And Traitors (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

The Bracken Collection (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Matt Bracken is a bestselling thriller American thriller author best known for his “Enemies Trilogy.” Bracken was born in 1957 in Baltimore, Maryland, and graduated with a Russian Studies degree from the University of Virginia. From the Naval Reserve Officers Training Corps program at the university, he got a commission in the Navy before he proceeded to Coronado California from where he earned his qualifications in SEAL training class 105/Basic Underwater Demolition. In the US Navy, he was a member of the SEAL and UDT teams on the east coast and in 1983, he was in Beirut where he headed a Naval Special Warfare detachment. Once he had completed his obligatory military service in Lebanon, he left active duty though the remainder of the 1980s would see him in active reserve status. Since then, he has lived all over the United States from California, Florida, Guam, South Carolina, and Virginia. In 1993, he built a 48-foot sailing boat that he designed himself. He has accumulated thousands of miles on the boat, which has transited twice through the Panama Canal among other extensive cruises around the Americas.

Bracken describes himself as a man that loves liberty and freedom, which is probably the reason he loved to be out in the open water whenever he has the chance. He also considers himself a constitutionalist who believes in the ideals of the founding fathers of the United States. He published his debut novel “Domestic Enemies” the first of the “Enemies Trilogy” in 2006 and followed it up with two more titles in 2008 and 2011. He also has two single standing novels and “The Bracken Collection” of short stories and essays that he published in 2019. His readers can access 100 pages of each of his novels from Matthew Bracken’s novels are a portrait of the apocalypse the author fears America is heading towards, due to unprecedented undocumented immigration from Latin America. Matt borrows aspects from the “Aztlan conspiracy” and makes an American version that asserts that Mexico is putting in place a plan to take over the American Southwest in what is called the “Reconquista.” Bracken currently lives in North Florida.

Matthew Bracken’s debut novel “Enemies Foreign And Domestic” opens to a tragedy on a football stadium. Bullets had rained down on a packed football stadium triggering a stampede that had killed even more people than the bullets. Luckily, a police marksman had arrived on the scene and managed to take out the sniper. Investigations had revealed the man to be and Desert Storm veteran that had become so unglued that he had attacked his fellow citizens. The man was found holding the gun and everyone believed it was a simple open and shut case. Following the attack, there is an outrage as the masses call for more stringent measures against assault rifles. Congress acts fast and passes legislation that makes possession of such rifles illegal for private citizens. Anybody with a semi-automatic weapon is now required to turn them in or else be charged in a federal court, where they could get up to five years in prison. The alleged stadium shooter named Jimmy Shifflett had been a member of the little-known gun club from Virginia. According to the Feds, the group is a haven and front for right-wing terrorist groups and militias. But everyone that knew the veteran says that he had never been a member of an extremist or terrorist group and would never commit mass murder. But if he was not the killer at the stadium, then who was and what was his motive?

Domestic Enemies: The Reconquista by Matthew Bracken continues from where the first novel of the series left off. The novel is set in the American South West where the South Western states are disintegrating into the Aztlan. The region had become the domain of the South and Central American paramilitary groups which constantly patrol the roads and borders. Phil Carson had advised Ranya Bardiwell not to go back to America but she would not listen and now finds herself in the morass of one of the biggest collapses of civilization in history. She is thrown in prison and manages to get away and goes on the run. But now she has to find her son who was taken away from her by the authorities and farmed out to federal officials.

Matthew Bracken’s Foreign Enemies And Traitors is a novel set in a dystopian future where the United States is slowly but surely creeping towards a socialist tyranny. This is occurring in the middle of a Great Depression, a year after the Tennessee Valley was devastated by earthquakes. The survivors of the catastrophe have so far resisted the federal government’s efforts to move them to FEMA camps. The government had sent in the National Guard to coerce the survivors to move out of the most affected regions but these have proved ineffective. It seems even the Guard is reluctant to use deadly force when it comes to their fellow American citizens. As such, the president has resorted to inviting international peacekeeping forces who brutally force the survivors out of their holdouts. It is a story of a small band of determined survivors who resist foreign forces and the traitors who have teamed up with them.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Matthew Bracken

Leave a Reply