Book Notification

Matthew Hervey Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Matthew Hervey Books

A Close Run Thing (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Nizam's Daughters / Honorable Company (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Regimental Affair (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Call to Arms (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sabre's Edge (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rumours of War (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Act of Courage (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Company of Spears (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man of War (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Warrior (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
On His Majesty's Service (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Words of Command (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Passage to India (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tigress of Mysore (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Allan Mallinson writes the “Matthew Hervey” series of historical fiction novels. The series began publication in the year 1999, when “A Close Run Thing” was released.

Before writing the books, Allan Mallinson was in the military, rising to the rank of Brigadier. He draws on military experience to write these books.

The series stars Matthew Hervey, as he starts out as a Cornet at Waterloo. He is from the 6th Light Dragoons, and is the vicar of Horningsham’s son. Hervey’s rise through the ranks is neither swift nor easy, as a vicar’s son is not able to buy promotion. He makes a human effort to continue to be a man of honor, and the adversities he endures change him noticeably as a character throughout the books. As he is tested and tried his sole touchstone are his dragoons, many of which he winds up becoming quite close to.

The books follow him through his colonial military actions, including Burma, Ireland, India, the Balkans, South Africa, and Canada.

The series features a lot of the details in regard to the details of a cavalry regiment, at the barracks, and campaigning. A lot of details are given to the many proprieties and customs of English society during the early to mid 1800s through Matthew’s social life.

“A Close Run Thing” is the first novel in the “Matthew Hervey” series, which was released in the year 1999. Waterloo in the year 1815. While the war against Bonaparte is raging to its bloody end upon Waterloo, a young officer is going about his duty in Wellington’s army. His name is Cornet Matthew Hervey of the 6th Light Dragoons; he is a soldier, a man of honor, and a gentleman. Hervey suddenly finds himself allotted the role of hero.

Momentous times call for some momentous acts: while Napoleonic Wars intensify, Hervey faces all kinds of choices, both romantic and military. They will change the course of his life, and maybe even the outcome of Waterloo.

This is a highly enthralling account of battle, and stars as splendid a hero, in Hervey, as any author has ever created. The next of these books cannot come quickly enough for some readers.

“The Nizam’s Daughters” is the second novel in the “Matthew Hervey” series, which was released in the year 2000. India in the year 1816. After Waterloo, Hervey is sent on a mission of the utmost secrecy.

He leaves behind his fiancee, Lady Henrietta Lindsey, and has to journey across turbulent seas to India. It is an exotic, alien, and beguiling that is going to test him and his mettle to its very limits.

The princely state of Chintal is threatened by military might from without and intrigue within. Hervey finds, with his sabre in hand, that he is once again destined for the battlefield.

“A Regimental Affair” is the third novel in the “Matthew Hervey” series, which was released in the year 2001. In the year 1817, Hervey goes back to England, where a hard won peace is shaken up by the strife and distress of its people. Even while he is caught up in the tough dawn of this new era, he has to fight a deliberate attempt to bring about his own ruin.

The honors Captain Hervey won in India were short of what he truly wanted: to go back to his beloved 6th Light Dragoons. Circumstances allow him to go back to commanding his unit, and marry Lady Henrietta Lindsay, the woman he has loved since they were kids. His solider’s heart is hurting due to British men crippled in the service of king and country having been forgotten and cast away and reduced to petty crimes and begging. There is no wonder that rabble rousers want reform and there is lawlessness erupting all over the place.

Hervey’s own cavalry, guarding Regency Brighton and conducting ambushes on French smugglers, he finds it has vastly changed. The new lieutenant colonel is Lord Towcester, who is a cold-eyed martinet: vain, bigoted, and inept. A guy that cares much less for his men’s welfare than for keeping a shine on his brass buttons. It quickly becomes clear he is going to stop at nothing to bring about disgrace and downfall for Hervey. This young officer, Duke Wellington’s former aide-de-camp and war hero, represents everything that Towcester once gave up through cowardice.

“A Call to Arms” is the fourth novel in the “Matthew Hervey” series, which was released in the year 2002. The past two years have not been good for Matthew Hervey. His wife, Henrietta, is dead, and with the belief that he is no longer able to be in a regiment where guys like Lord Towcester are able to rise to command, he turns his back on the 6th Light Dragoons. Hervey is left only to kick his heels in an unruly and corrupt England that is far removed from its former glorious past.

The year 1819 sees Hervey in Rome with Elizabeth (his sister). It is here a chance encounter with one of England’s most controversial men of letters makes him rethink his own future. Joined by Captain Peto, his old friend, he realizes just how much he has missed both the exhilaration of military action as well as the camaraderie of the Sixth.

Quickly he is going to Hounslow via Whitehall, where he quickly buys a new commission and gets refitted for the uniform of his old regiment. Here, he finds things changed for the better. They are now under the assured command of Sir Ivo Lankester (brother of Edward Lankester, a hero of Waterloo). Hervey’s first task is to put together a new troop and then organize transport, because his men and his horses are about to sail for India with immediate effect.

Hervey and his green soldiers do not yet know is that they will face a trial in India that they are horribly ill-prepared to face. A big number of Burmese warboats are assembled close to the headwaters of the river that leads to Chittagong. The only way to stop their advancing involves a hazardous and tough march through the jungle.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Matthew Hervey

Leave a Reply