Book Notification

Maureen Klovers Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jeanne Pelletier Mysteries Books

Hagar's Last Dance (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Graveside Reunion (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Rita Calabrese Books

The Secret Poison Garden (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Secret in Thyme (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Moonshine (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Of Masques and Murder (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Under the Tuscan Sun (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Legend of Acorn Hollow (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

In the Shadow of the Volcano (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Maureen Klovers is a well-known writer of mystery and thriller stories and travel books. She hails from Milwaukee, United States, and is particularly famous for writing the Jeanne Pelletier series and the Rita Calabrese Mystery series. Besides the mystery novels, Klovers’ memoir book, In the Shadow of the Volcano, is also quite popular. Before deciding to establish herself as a mystery/thriller writer. Klovers used to work as an agent for the United States intelligence. She has also undertaken a teaching job in Quito Ecuador. A visit to an infamous Bolivian prison along with a narcotrafficker from Germany has taught Klovers important lessons about the ways in which things are carried inside prisons. She has received great inspiration from the residents of a care center for people suffering from leprosy (Hansen’s disease), who she considers the most life-affirming and positive people living on the planet.

Switching to write mysteries is the most recent thing that happened in Klovers’ life. She made her debut in 2015 with the first Jeanne Pelletier book called Hagar’s Last Dance. This book features the main character in the form of a former lawyer and current bellydancer named Jeanne Pelletier, who indulges in amateur sleuthing and tries to solve mysteries taking place around her. Klovers has depicted Jeanne Pelletier alongside her crime-fighting, zany urban family. With this novel, author Klovers has tried to delve deep into the city of Washington, DC, and show the side that tourists generally don’t see. Following the worldwide success of the book, Klovers came up with a sequel in 2018 under the title of Graveside Reunion.

In the same year, she began her second series, for which she created another dashing female protagonist in the role of Rita Calabrese. She is shown as living in New York with her loving husband and 3 grown children. Rita runs the business of homegrown ravioli Alla Zucca and vegetables. Very often, she delivers her vegetables to her neighbors secretly as a kind gesture. Rita has been described as an Italian-American matriarch turned crime reporter. She loves to speak Italian and poke around DC’s forgotten corners. A hobby very close to her heart is trying out different recipes of the Italian-American cuisine and taking trips to Italy. In her spare time, Rita loves to spend time with her supportive husband, a black Labrador, and a fun toddler. Author Klovers claims to have held different positions working for the government.

Other than being an intelligence officer, she has served as a political commentator on a radio show called Neighborhood Stuff in Washington. She has a deep interest in traveling and has undertaken trips to many places, including Europe, India, Latin America, China, and different states in America. Some other adventurous activities taken up by her include hiking the Inca Trail, fishing for piranhas in the Venezuelan waters, etc. Klovers obtained her degree of B.A. in International Relations in 1999 from the College of William & Mary. She had a specialization in Latin American politics. In 2006, Klovers obtained her dual master’s degree in Business Administration and Public Policy from Georgetown University.

As of today, she resides in Arlington, Virginia along with her beloved husband named Kevin. Together, they undertake adventurous trips in their free time and work for their respective jobs during normal times. Klovers claims to have been highly influenced by the works of Amy Tan, Peter Hessler, and Bill Bryson. She has gone through their works deeply and gained enough inspiration to work on her own novels.

The debut book of the Rita Calabrese series written by author Maureen Klovers is entitled ‘The Secret Poison Garden’. It was released as a Kindle publication in 2018. Some of the primary characters mentioned in this novel include Vinnie Calabrese, Rita Calabrese, Stefano, etc. Initially, Rita Calabrese is introduced as a resident of a small town called Acorn Hollow. She is regarded as the town’s guardian angel and of her exasperating and lovable family. Rita likes to sneak cannoli in the meal of her husband in order to help him in staying healthy. Sometimes, she delivers her home-grown vegetable secretly to the down-on-their-luck neighbors. When she is not busy with any other work, Rita likes to meddle in the lives and day-to-day activities of her three children.

On the occasion of her 46th birthday, Rita decides to look for a second act to live a meaningful life. She finds one by turning into a reporter for a local paper. Rita begins writing profiles of the eccentric citizens of Acorn Hollow. One such profile is that of a soft-spoken biology professor who is believed to have a secret garden of poison in his house. Shortly after, Rita becomes the town’s toast. Later, a respected football coach is found murdered on the field. Rita begins her investigation into this mysterious murder case and goes on to uncover messy secrets. When she hears rumors about her son’s involvement in the murder, she finds herself in a position where her newfound zeal collides with her maternal instinct. Author Klovers has set this book in the bucolic Hudson Valley of New York. She has added numerous Italian customs and phrases to give this story an authentic feel. And to make the readers get attracted to the book more, she has included 8 mouth-watering recipes that they can try at home and enjoy.

The second installment of the series is called ‘A Secret in Thyme’. It was also published as a Kindle book in 2019. This book opens by mentioning that Rita Calabrese was already a lovable matriarch and the best cook in the town. Her recently started the second profession has also made her a celebrated sleuth and journalist. When Rita looks forward to celebrating her 40th wedding anniversary, the arrival of 2 strange men threatens her comfortable existence in Acorn Hollow. First, the shady cousin of her husband arrives at her doorstep, and then her old boyfriend from high school returns to the town after being away for 50 years.

Rita starts feeling uncomfortable the moment she learns that she has to interview him. She tries to divert her mind by indulging herself in solving a mysterious case. But, it doesn’t help her cause because she is not able to establish the identity of the victim. The situation becomes even more intriguing when Rita’s husband starts insisting that his recently deceased friends have not died of heart attacks. With so much to deal with at once, Rita feels it is going to be an anniversary worth remembering if she manages to survive it. This novel also contains wonderful recipes for the readers.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Maureen Klovers

Leave a Reply