Book Notification

Max & Angela Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Max and Angela Books

By: Ken Bruen, Jason Starr

The Max & Angela series is a series of detective novels depicting hardboiled plots and written by one of the popular Irish author named Ken Bruen. The series is co-written by another noteworthy Brooklyn author named Jason Starr. There is a total of 4 books in the series published between the years 2006 and 2016. All the novels of the Max & Angela series feature the main characters in the form of Max Fisher and Angela Petrakos. Max is described by the authors as a wealthy businessman, trying to set up his business in the New York City. Angela Petrakos is described as the sexy assistant of Max Fisher. Authors Ken Bruen and Jason Starr began writing the Max & Angela series in the year 2006 and published its first novel titled ‘Bust’. Currently, the series is ongoing as they are working on the next novel, which is about to be published very soon in the coming days.

In the first novel of the series, authors Starr and Bruen have tried to tell the readers about 5 important lessons that are necessary to be understood. The first lesson tells them not to hire a psychopath if they are thinking of hiring someone to murder their wives. Secondly, it is not a good idea to dispose of a dead body with the help of a Drano. This is followed by another important lesson which tells the readers that the doors of the hotel rooms are not as secure as they think. Also, there are better things to use than a curly blonde wig in order to disguise. The final lessons that the authors Bruen and Starr try to reach the readers is that secrets are deadly enough to get you killed. The second novel of the Max & Angela series is titled ‘Slide’. It shows that Max Fisher used to be the owner of a computer company while Angela Petrakos used to work as his mistress cum assistant. But after running the computer for period of one year, Max Fisher decides to reinvent himself by becoming a hip hop crack dealer. Angela Petrakos goes back to Ireland, where she finds another rich man and begins to hook up with him just like she used to do along with Max Fisher. She comes to know that the new man in her life is involved in serial killing and it does take much time for Max and Angela to meet again.

The first novel of the Max & Angela series was published in the year2006 by the Leisure Books publishing house. It was titled as ‘Bust’ and was the first collaboration of two of the finest crime writers, Jason Starr and Ken Bruen. The plot of this novel introduced the main characters of the series, Max Fisher and his assistant named Angela Petrakos. It went on to become a huge success all over the world and was also nominated for the Barry Award in the category of the Best Paperback Original in the year 2007. The success of the debut novel of the series also helped authors Bruen and Starr to be nominated in almost all the major awards related to the mystery genre, including the Shamus Award, the Macavity Award, the Edgar Award, and the Anthony Award. The novel was also praised by the Entertainment Weekly magazine, which described it as a tense, vividly fresh, often funny, and sometimes brutal. The magazine even said that the plot of the novel reads quite mercilessly and seamlessly.

The Publishers Weekly reviewed the novel as a rocking homage for the noir novels published in the 1950s. It described it as a seamless blend of the Irish underworld of author Ken Bruen and the hellish vision of author Jason Starr. Such positive reviews and responses helped both the authors to work on the next novels of the series with a great motivation and dedication. The second novel of the Max & Angela series was published under the title ‘Slide’. It was released by the Hard Crime Case publishing house in the year 2007. The plot of this novel serves as a hilarious sequel to the first installment of the series titled Bust. In the opening sequence of the plot of this novel, it is shown that Max Fisher starts a new business as a crack dealer after failing in his precious computer business. On the other hand, Angela Petrakos moves to Ireland and joins a serial killer. The plot of this novel takes and twisting and interesting turn when the paths of Max and Angela cross again. This novel proved to be a roller coaster ride full of suspense, vicious fun, and mayhem from the evil geniuses of authors Starr and Bruen.

The novel was so much suspenseful that it made the readers, reluctant to open their mail again. The success of the second novel of the series allowed it to be nominated for the prestigious Anthony Award In the category of the Best Paperback Original in the year 2008. The next novel of the Max & Angela series was published under the title ‘The Max’. It was released by the Hard Case Crime publishing house in the year 2008. The plot of this novel once again depicts the happenings in the lives of the main characters named Max Fisher and the sexy Angela Petrakos. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, it is shown that Max Fisher gets arrested by the New York City police in the case of drug trafficking. While Angela flees the country after getting involved in a murder case. As a result, both of them head for the eye opening encounters with the strict laws of the country.

In the end, Max ends up in a jail in Attica, where he spends his days in the cell blocks. Angela becomes successful in preventing herself from getting arrested, but she begins to spend her days as a quaint person among the Lesbos of the Greek Island. Just like the initial novels of the series, this novel too became a huge success. It went on to receive very good reviews by the leading literary magazines all over the world. This helped author Ken Bruen and his partner Jason Starr to be nominated for a number of prestigious awards. The success of this novel also allowed them to become very much motivated to the write the next installments of the series. Currently, they are working on the next plot of the series, which will be published very soon in the coming days.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Max & Angela

Leave a Reply