Book Notification

Max Wolfe Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Max Wolfe Books

The Murder Bag / The Murder Man (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Time (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Slaughter Man (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fresh Blood (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hanging Club (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Die Last (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tell Him He's Dead (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Girl On Fire (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
#taken (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Max Wolfe Series
Max Wolfe is a mystery series by Tony Parsons. This series stars Max Wolfe, a talented Homicide detective and a doting father to a five-year-old girl. From the first instalment, it is clear that Max doesn’t go by the rules. He can be impulsive at times, but his intentions are always good, and his instincts help him get out of the worst situations. Throughout the series, Max and his fellow detectives will be working to solve different mysteries and put the bad guys away. Things do get gruesome at times, but the author’s way with words and unending action will make you binge on this awesome series.

The Murder Bag
The Murder Bag comes first in the Max Wolfe series. The book introduces Max Wolfe, the new Homicide detective at West End Central in London. Max is impulsive and rarely follows the rules. When it comes to dealing with criminals, he relies on his instincts. This often puts him in conflict with his seniors, and it doesn’t help that he is not good with people. However, despite his many faults, Max is an excellent detective. He is also an amazing and present father to his five-year-old daughter scout, who he is raising all by himself and the family dog Stan. Max’s first job in his new station turns out to be a challenging welcome to the world of homicide.

Two decades ago, seven wealthy students formed a tight bond when studying at Potter’s Field, an exclusive private school. One of them became depressed over time and committed suicide at the age of eighteen. The other six went ahead to build their own careers, but now another death has been reported, this time involving a merchant banker. Hugo Buck is discovered with his throat slit from one side to the other. Initially, the main suspect is his wife. There is a chance that she had enough of his philandering, and in a moment of rage, killed her husband. However, Max has a completely different opinion and is determined to follow his gut to find Hugo’s killers.

After preliminary investigations, Max is convinced that he is dealing with a serial killer. A talk with the remaining five friends from Potter’s Field reveals that they are all afraid, even though no one is willing to talk. As bodies begin to pile, Max has to move quickly to catch the killer. However, he must find the link between these privileged boys and perhaps help solve a mystery that happed a long time ago. Can Max connect the dots fast enough to prevent more deaths? Join this talented detective as he follows a blood trail from the city all the way to the backstreets and some really dark corners. The ride does get exhilarating so buckle up and get ready for a hair-raising adventure.

The Murder Bag is a brilliant book that you will have a hard time putting down. It features a solid plot, an intriguing storyline, and a protagonist that you cannot help but love. The other characters are just as interesting, and it is amazing how the author has created well-rounded and human characters. This story has just the right pacing for a thriller, and the unexpected turns will keep you glued and reading way past your bedtime. The narrative is simple, yet the engaging storytelling will have you hooked fast.

The Slaughter Man
The Slaughter Man is the second book in the Max Wolfe series. In this installment, DC Max Wolfe will be dealing with a senseless killer who butchered an entire family in their home. It is on New Years Even when this horrific crime happens in Highgate London. This gated community’s high walls are designed to keep intruders out, but the killer was clearly on a mission. Max quickly gets to the crime scene to discover that the murder weapon was a stunning gun, the kind used on cattle just before they are slaughtered. Where did the killer even get such a weapon?

The case is further complicated by the missing boy. Who would have taken this 4-year-old, the youngest in this family, after killing everyone else? Why was the young boy spared, and is there a chance that Max can save him before the killer decides to kill him too? Well, the murder weapon leads Max to the Black Museum, where he finds enough details about a killer known as the Slaughter Man. It had been over three decades since Slaughter Man committed his last crime, but this case has his killing style written all over it.

Is there a chance that the aged and ailing killer was responsible for these killings, or was it a copycat? Despite Max’s expertise and the evidence at his disposal, the killer in this story stays elusive to the end. It does not help that the mother of the murdered family was once a sportswoman, and her fame, beauty, and happiness earned her many enemies. Join DI mas as he works to solve this case and catch a killer who seems craftier than he anticipated. DI Curtis Gane and DC Edie Wren will be there to help resolve these murders and ensure that justice is done. Max’s life will be in danger more than once, but it is admirable how he is never cowed when facing criminals.

The Slaughter Man is a gripping crime novel with great characters and a fast-paced plot. It is exciting following the detectives throughout their investigations and seeing how they pick clues from the tiniest of details. Max continues to be the likable protagonist, and his role as a great father will make you want to read more about him outside the police department. There is a good balance between Max’s home and work life, and while things at work get a bit intense, the joy and peace at home help even things out. Twisty and a bit dark, this thrilling story will grab your attention and never let go until you get to the last page.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Max Wolfe

Leave a Reply