Book Notification

Maximum Ride Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Maximum Ride Books

The Angel Experiment (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
School's Out - Forever (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Final Warning (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Max (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fang (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Angel (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nevermore (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Maximum Ride Forever (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Maximum Ride Graphic Novels Books

Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 1 (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 2 (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 3 (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 4 (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 5 (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 6 (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 7 (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 8 (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 9 (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Max Ride: Ultimate Flight (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 10 (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Maximum Ride: Hawk Books

By: James Patterson, Gabrielle Charbonnet, Mindy McGinnis

About The Maximum Ride Books:

Everyone loves stories. Every story is different because the characters in the story are different. Maximum Ride is a little girl, about 14 years of age. In this story, Maximum Ride: The Final Warning, the author James Patterson shows how courageous little children can be. This story is about a place called The School and of her friends. They are the Gasman (Gazzy who is 8 years old), Iggy (13 years old) and Fang who is 14 years of age. This story is a little different because here are children who can fly!

The character in the story adds interest to the plot. In Red Riding Hood, we see the little girl is all dressed up in red. In this story, we see these three boys and Max join the other two little girls Nudge who is 11 years old and Angel who is 6 years of age in fighting the Erasers! The Erasers are people in white coats that work at the School. They are the ones who created these children. The Erasers began this experiment to prove that humans could fly and morph but it did not stop at that.

We enter the scene when the things are a little out of hand. The Erasers have kidnapped Angel and are using her in some kind of experiment. Max and the children originally lived in cages. Surprisingly, this did not stop them from growing and walking normally like all other children.

Good characters are interesting and little children like to dress up like them. There are Superman costumes everywhere. All the children want to be like their hero, courageous and always fighting for justice. Here we see that Max is out to find a way to escape from Erasers and rescue Angel at the same time. Ever since the children escaped from the school, the Erasers have been figuring out some way to keep the children in their place.

The characters are adorable when they do something nice and wonderful. In this, Max is the main character and she leads the way for the others. Her romance with Fang is entrancingly delightful. Even though this story is heroine oriented there is enough action and suspense. Angel is also awe-inspiring because she is clever and the smallest. Among the boys, Iggy is charismatic. He is blind but that does not stop him from doing the cooking or flying around.

The suspense turns out be a thriller. We begin to wonder about the fate of Angel and about what the Erasers are planning for her. They want to control her mind and make her do something.

The book is one of the series of books written by James Patterson. The other books are Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment, Maximum Ride: Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports and Maximum Ride: School’s Out Forever. The author is expected to bring out more books having the same characters but we will have to wait and see.

The Maximum Ride: The Final Warning represents the uniqueness of American story telling. The language used helps the reader link to the plot. They relate at several levels. They would like to emulate the actions of the leading characters. Costume plays would help to bring out the latent acting talent in them.

The book has an exemplary plot and reflects American culture in every grain of the story. It presents various scientific aspects of the modern age such as global warming. Max, along with the Flock, goes to the research center where global warming studies are in progress. The various aspects of global warming along with the dangers come to the fore.

The discussion opens here about the possibility of humans having superpowers. This may be a possibility that could become a reality in the future. Flying is difficult and the story gives the children the power to fly. It opens up the realms of unknown space that we see when we fly. A short film now exists on Max Ride and there is a game also to play named Max Ride.

The Erasers ability to morph into wolves and the children’s ability to fly capture the imagination absolutely. The Erasers at the school converted the DNA of the children to avian DNA and this 2% of non-human DNA gives them the ability to fly. The wolf-form men Erasers are always chasing the Flock who escape because of their ability to fly. The Flock goes to school to rescue Angel and then learn about the Institute for Higher living. They decide to go there.

The other books in the Series School’s out Forever, Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports, and the Final Warning all involve some aspects of the problems that confront man today. In this story it is global warming, in the next it is about environmental pollution. In School’s out Forever, the Flock examines life in a school. They enjoy the quiet and rest. However, Max now faces a clone that would destroy her. Towards the end, she realizes that the clone intended to test her strength.

The Itex Corporation runs the School and the battle now is on between them and the Flock. Saving the world brings out the heroic character of Max as also her romantic aspects. Fang who wants her to settle down with him woos her. The Itex Corporation is busy with their plans to halve the population of the earth. Max discovers who her parents are.

The Final Warning is the story where the government is taking action concerning the Flock. The corrupt leaders of the world intend to auction off the Flock as mercenaries. A blizzard traps Angel, Total and Akila who try to save a baby pigeon. Max saves them with the help of Fang and they proceed to Miami. After a couple of fights, the story ends with Max and Fang acknowledging their feelings for each other. The story has a love triangle in the form of the characters Dylan and Maya. Maya is Max’s clone. Max begins to confuse her feelings for Fang with those towards Dylan. Dylan on the other hand is attracted towards Maya. In the end, it is all settled well and everyone is happy.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Maximum Ride

2 Responses to “Maximum Ride”

  1. Tina Holibaugh: 2 months ago

    My son loves the MAXIMUM RIDE series by JAMES PATTERSON! I’ve been trying to find exactly how many books there is to the series & what order they go in. I also understand that HAWK goes to that. How many books of HAWK is there? Trying to get them all for him for Christmas, so please respond ASAP! Thank you very much!

    Thank You,
    Tina Holibaugh

    • Graeme: 2 months ago

      Hi Tina – the lists at the top of the page should answer your questions.


Leave a Reply