Book Notification

Maze Runner Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Maze Runner Books

The Maze Runner (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scorch Trials (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death Cure (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Kill Order (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fever Code (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fever Code is a prequel to the series.

Publication Order of Maze Runner Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Maze Runner Collections

The Maze Runner Files (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

About The Maze Runner Books:

The Maze Runner Series by James Dashner is a superb collection of four novels based in a science fiction, futuristic, dystopian society. The novels are geared toward young adult or teenage readers. That does not mean, however, that adults of all ages will not find The Maze Runner Series to be equally both entertaining and completely worth the time. The first novel, “The Maze Runner,” tells the remarkable story of Thomas, a young teenage boy who finds himself deposited in a strange world with no memory. Thomas is an immediately likable character. Readers cannot help but feel an emotional draw to him right from the start. He is smart, but not overly confident. He is friendly, but knows when to be wary of people who may be – and most likely are – lying. He is kind, but not gullible. The reader finds that it is easy to root for this young man as he really has no unfavorable character flaws. The books progress slowly at first, but that is perfect because it is almost like the reader is walking hand-in-hand with Thomas – discovering things as he discovers them. The pace quickens and becomes packed with action and adventure as Thomas tries to unravel the mystery that surrounds him. It makes for an intriguing and easy read. The books seem to follow a natural path and have a lifelike flow that makes them easy to get lost in.
The first book of the Series, simply titled, “The Maze Runner,” starts off when Thomas literally awakens in a strange place called “the Glade.” It is a wide open area surrounded by stone walls that Thomas later learns are called “the doors.” He is not alone. There are only boys, all also young teenagers and all of them have designated jobs to perform.

Thomas learns that they, too, do not know how or why they were brought there. Upon making a few friends, Thomas is told that every thirty days a new boy is brought to the Glade via an elevator called “the box.” A sinister place called “the Maze” exists beyond the doors – a place where no one wants to go because there are strange creatures that lurk out there called “the Grievers.” However, the Grievers can sting people in a process called “the Changing,” which will actually bring back the memories that each of them long to find. But it is dangerous and risky. The doors close at night to protect the inhabitants from the Grievers. The day after Thomas arrives, a girl steps out of the box. She is the very first girl to ever set foot in the Glade. He name is Teresa and she brings a mysterious message with her. Her message states that she is “the last one.” After delivering her message, Teresa falls into a coma. As the story progresses, Thomas is confronted with many conflicts that will test his physical strength, his emotional stability, and his mental quickness. Will he find the courage that it takes to become a Maze Runner? It is a fast-paced journey that definitely leaves the reader wondering what will become of Thomas. Will he and the others ever safely escape the Glade and make it through the horrible, scary and dangerous nightmare of the Maze?
In the much anticipated second installment in the Series, the reader is brought right back to where the first novel, “The Maze Runner,” ended. In this new novel, “The Scorch Trials,” Thomas and his friends are faced with a new dilemma, new questions and new fears. They find that they are living on a planet in ruin.

The earth is overcome by sun flares and as a result a deadly illness is raging. Thomas and the others once again awaken in a strange place, presumably being told they are safe. But as the reader soon realizes, Thomas is special and he knows there is no safety here. They meet a group of people known as WICKED which stands for “world in catastrophe killzone experiment.” Thomas immediately senses that WICKED cannot and should not be trusted. They may act like they have the health and safety of Thomas and his friends in mind, but they may just want to use them for something else to their benefit. Have the “Gladers,” as the group is called, had their memories restored? Did Teresa ever wake up? Did they safely escape the maze? Did everyone survive? These questions are finally answered in “The Scorch Trials.” However, for as many questions that are answered (including what exactly are the Scorch Trials,) many more questions arise.

Thomas truly grows as a character and the action continues to build in the remaining third novel called “The Death Cure.” There will be no spoilers here, as it would be doing the novels a great injustice to share them. These books must be read in order to be appreciated. It is through superior character development, realistic chemistry between the characters, and the endearing qualities that make each character who they are, that the reader becomes enthralled by and attached to these books. Thomas realizes he has strength he never thought possible and the ability to choose the right path when faced with impossible decisions. There is a prequel to the Maze Runner Series as well. “The Kill Order” details how it all began and describes how the earth was devastated when sun flares collided with the planet causing a widespread, seemingly incurable plague.It should come as no surprise to anyone that these books would make incredible movies.

As is the case, the movie version will hit theatres on February 14, 2014. It stares new, young, talented actors that are sure to delight the younger viewers in the crowd. Dylan O’Brien will star as “Thomas.” The Maze Runner Series by James Dashner is a dramtically well-written, emotionally-rich collection of novels that is perhaps one of the best in the science fiction, dystopian society genre that is becoming so popular today. It will surely be discussed long after the books are read and the movies are seen due to its perfect combination of thought-provoking and entertaining qualities and unique, appealing and memorable characters.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Maze Runner

Leave a Reply