Book Notification

McGarvey Black Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

I Never Left (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Husband (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Without Her Consent (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love on the Line (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Text Before Dying (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Familiar Stranger (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trust Only Me (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Sister's Killer (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Woman Upstairs (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twice on Christmas (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Baby I Stole (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

McGarvey Black is an author of fiction stories.

She majored in theater in college and pursued acting once she graduated. She would then take a job in magazine publishing, where she worked in ad sales. She would sell print and digital advertising as well as work managing different companies’ sales teams for organizations such as WebMD and Conde Nast.

Black eventually decided to leave media to work as an executive recruiter for companies on the Internet. All the while while she was working those day jobs, McGarvey found time to put aside to write. She would always put the pen to paper (or fingers to the keyboard, as it were) to bring out wonderful stories for herself as well as for family and friends.

She would eventually pursue her dream of working full time as an author. She has already reached audiences with her 2019 debut novel I Never Left, a riveting thriller and suspense story that will have readers turning the pages to find out what happens next. There is no looking back for this writer as she continues to follow her self-admitted obsession with writing and churn out stories for others to enjoy. Sometimes she even will wake up from a deep sleep in the night and get up so that she can write down an idea she had.

McGarvey Black specializes in writing stories that usually can be placed into the categories of mystery or thriller. She likes to start off by being familiar with how her story is going to start and how it is going to conclude before she goes into writing a novel, and generally tends to fill in other details of the middle of the story as she goes along. She likes to do her prep work and make sure that she has realistic, fully-developed characters that are so completely realized that it’s almost as if they do the writing for her. Black also prefers to include plenty of twists in her stories so that the reader is constantly guessing what is going to happen next.

Besides writing dramatic thriller, suspense, and mystery stories, McGarvey also enjoys reading and writing romantic comedy stories that not only have tons of humor but are strong stories driven by the characters contained within them. She loves to write with her computer on her lap while she is in bed, preferably with a tall iced tea on the nightstand by her side with some lemon in it. She likes to sit down for long periods to write, sometimes even up to ten hours at a time. She likes to attempt writing on a daily basis to keep herself fresh and get new material out.

McGarvey Black is married and shares two wonderful children with her partner. She resides with her family in Florida.

I Never Left is the first novel to come out from talented author McGarvey Black. The story is based on actual events that happened in real life. Check out the book that Audrey Gibson is hailing as being part of her top three best ever reads and see what makes this thriller so tantalizing!

The main character in this story is a young woman named Quinn Roberts. She’s now dead, and she wants to find out what happened. Quinn may not be in her earthly body anymore, but she still has a lot of emotions about her life ending once she realizes what has happened. Disappointment, confusion and anger compete with sadness about her own demise.

The worst part is that many of her pals seem to have accepted it and have simply moved on. It was murder, but no one seems to be interested in that or tracking down who did it. She had children that had grown, but they’re all shocked by the painful sudden death of their parent and do not know what to do.

She was married, to a man named Alec. But when Quinn passes, he quickly marries again. His new wife becomes part of his world and Quinn fades to the background. But there are still others who are fighting for her and to find out what happened. Detective John McQuillan is looking for answers to what happened, working with her sister Erin to discover the truth.

It’s proving tough to find many leads on this case, though, and that means that it is transferred to the division that handles cold cases. Quinn’s relatives are starting to lose their hope that a murderer will be found. Can Detective John find the person responsible? Will justice be served for Quinn’s death? Read this suspenseful story to find out!

The First Husband is the second novel to be published written by McGarvey Black. The author says that she first got the idea for the story when she made the acquaintance of a young couple in India years ago in Delhi.

The wife confided the story of their wedding to the author, who was ‘stunned’ by the young bride’s words. She could never find them by going online despite knowing their first names and never glimpsed the pair again. She still wonders what happened with the two of them, how their lives unfolded together, and what happened to them. This true story inspired Black’s second novel.

Trina Holmgard is the main character in this story. She goes to India on vacation. That is where she meets the poor but very nice Sam, and the two are married. She goes back to New York out of necessity and starts planning Sam’s travel and entry to the United States. She misses him but left him with her locket to let him know she is committed.

However, Trina wonders whether she really knows this man. Does he want to live in America? Does he actually care for her? She thinks she has been fooled, cuts him off, and marries someone else. Sam is devastated by the turn and wants to pursue vengeance. Will he stick to his plan of revenge? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » McGarvey Black

Leave a Reply