Book Notification

McKettricks Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of McKettricks Books

High Country Bride (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shotgun Bride (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secondhand Bride (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
McKettrick's Choice (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sierra's Homecoming / A Rancher's Honor (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
McKettrick's Luck / The Honourable Millionaire (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
McKettrick's Pride / The Millionaire's Pride (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
McKettrick's Heart / The Millionaire's Duty (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The McKettrick Way (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
A McKettrick Christmas (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tate (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Garrett (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Austin (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Lawman's Christmas (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Outlaw's Christmas (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

The McKettricks series consists of fifteen different novels based on the historical romance genre. The novels were written by the New York Times Bestselling author Linda Lael Miller and were published between 2002 to 2012. The initial two novels of the series were titled, ‘High country bride’ and ‘Shotgun Bride’ respectively. The entire series revolves around the life of rancher Angus McKettrick and his three sons. He has only one ranch and all of his sons are waiting for Angus McKettrick to hand over the ranch to them. Tired of seeing his sons not settling down and also to avoid this dilemma, Angus announces a competition. He asks them to marry and settle down. The one who produces a grandchild first will receive the ranch as the prize. Apart from this, the whole series many such tricks used by Angus McKettrick to get the various jobs done by his sons. Linda Lael Miller was successful in reaching out to the audience through this series depicting contemporary romance. She won many awards and nominations for the success of this series. The McKettricks series went on to sell millions of copies in different countries of the world. The description of the initial couple of novels of the series is as follows:

The first installment of the series got published in the year 2002 and was titled, ‘The High Country Bride’. The novel introduces the characters of cowboy ranchers Angus McKettricks and his sons. Angus is the owner of a ranch named Triple M in the Arizona territory and all his sons vie for getting it into their name. Angus, on the other hand is disturbed by the fact that he is still waiting to see his sons get married. With a view to solve both the problems in a single go, he announces a competition and asks his sons to marry a girl of their choice. And the first one to get married and produce a grandchild will receive the ranch and inherit it forever. The cowboys began searching for a bride and each one was determined to get the ranch to his name. The oldest son Rafe McKettrick is a freedom-loving man with strong passion and love for life. He decides to marry any stranger in order to win the competition. When he sees Emmeline Harding, he falls for her charm and decides to marry her. Emmeline runs a liquor shop and fears that she won’t be able to hold it for a long time. To her surprise, she wakes up in a brothel beside a stack of gold coins. She becomes fearful about her future and flees the town as a mail-order bride. But, she is in a dilemma as to how will she confess about her past to her new husband. But, Rafe is able to sense the secrets that she keeps hiding and slowly his love for starts subsiding. He thinks that she is hiding a secret that should be known to him and begins to suspect her. He becomes jealous of her and decides not to marry her. To their surprise, a visitor comes from Emmeline’s past and reveals the secrets in front of Rafe McKettrick. Although they have married each other, Rafe and Emmeline decide to give up the marriage and seek something which satisfies them from body and soul. The love story of the Rafe and Emmeline has been very well depicted in this novel by the writer. The hardships and challenges faced by the McKettricks have been described in great detail and the rewards that they get is also overwhelming. The characters have been very wonderfully described by the author. The romantic relationship between Rafe and Emmeline is also very well depicted in the novel with portions of jealously, suspicion and betrayal. On the whole, the novel is a fun to read. The readers all over the world have appreciated the work of Linda Lael Miller and the competent authorities have awarded her with many awards and accolades.

In the second installment of the series named ‘Shotgun Bride’, published in the year 2003, the competition announced by Angus McKettrick continues and his sons are on the run to search for a mail-order bride. The second son of the McKettrick, Kade McKettrick gets five mail order brides, whom he has decided to test at a local hotel. All the contenders were more than eager to marry Kade and provide him the much required heir, so that he can win the Triple M ranch to his name. But, Kade is out to deal with an outlaw gang. Kade, who has been appointed as the new marshal of the territory is required to deal with the troublesome gang and does not get time to meet the girls at the hotel. However, he gets distracted by a lady named Sister Mandy Sperrin, who is pretty and beautiful. Mandy is not the nun that she tries to depict. She has fled from her outlaw stepfather. Although Mandy has a wild nature and is quite passionate, she decides to hide her true identity by disguising as a nun. When Kade McKettricks, who is handsome too asks her to marry him, she falls in love with him and gives in her desires. Kade knows that making her to marry him is the only way to keep her by his side despite the secrets that can lead both of them towards danger. But, it may seem that the dangers are quite more threatening than he thinks and it is to be seen if Mandy will surrender to the powerful love of Kade McKettrick by getting her wild heart charmed by his sensual embrace and will she reveal the secret from her past to Kade McKettrick?

Once again the writer was successful in reaching out to the readers through her masterpiece. She made it a point that the characters in this novel seem as lively and real as in the first novel of the series. The romance between Kade McKettrick and Mandy Sperrin is also depicted very beautifully. The suspense and action sequences of the plot are much appreciated by the readers. Fellow noteworthy writers have praised the work of Linda Lael Miller. This motivated her to write a number of novels in the contemporary and historical romance genre. The McKettrick brothers seem to be on the run to win the competition and inherit the ranch in this novel too. It will be interesting to see as to who among them is able to win and inherit it in the other novels of the series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » McKettricks

One Response to “McKettricks”

  1. Susanne Zdanowicz: 3 years ago

    I love your books, but it is difficult to read the books in their proper order. It’s also hard to buy them on line from Barnes and Nobel.
    Thank you for the enjoyment I get from reading your books.


Leave a Reply