Book Notification

McRyan Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of McRyan Mystery Books

The St. Paul Conspiracy (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Stillwater (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
First Case (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Electing to Murder (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fatally Bound (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Silence (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Next Girl on the List (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stakeout (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fireball (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tangled Web We Weave (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of McRyan Mystery Books

First Case(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The St. Paul Conspiracy(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Stillwater(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Electing to Murder(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fatally Bound(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Silence(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stakeout(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Next Girl on the List(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fireball(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tangled Web We Weave(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “McRyan Mysteries” series is written by lawyer by day and author by night, Roger Stelljes and the series is about a homicide detective named Mac McRyan. He is a fourth generation cop with the St. Paul police department. He does not have to work, due to the fact that he is independently wealthy.

Later on in the series, Mac moves with his girlfriend, Sally, to the nation’s capital, where she works for the President of the United States.

This series of novels is a bestselling series that has made both the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists. It has also been downloaded over two million times for different electronic reading devices all around the world. The series is made up of both novels and a shorter work that serves as a prequel to the series.

“Fatally Bound” by Roger Stelljes is the fourth novel in the “McRyan Mysteries” series that came out in 2014. After the FBI spend quite awhile looking into the murders of three people, a couple of people push Mac to take the case and provide a fresh perspective on things. As he may see something that others have overlooked and missed. Once again, Mac McRyan is on a case and on the hunt for a killer. This time, the killer is in the form of a man that is killing women after pressing a soaked rag to her face and holding her down. He leaves very little, if any, evidence. McRyan has Dara Wire to help him investigate. He is now living in Washington D.C. his girlfriend Sally. Their hunt for this killer will test the partnership that they have tried to forge together and put them both in harm’s way.

Fans of the novel enjoyed the book and found it to be yet another great novel from Stelljes. Others liked how great the novel was paced and how well drawn the characters are in the novel. There is a great sense of humor here and a great mystery to get to the heart of in this one. The characters and action in the novel jumps right off the page and Stelljes is great at allowing you to make a movie of the events in your head. Fans want to get their hands on more books in this intriguing and thrilling series. Due to the fact that fans cannot get enough, they include it in their must read group.

Some did not like that the character Mac is just a good guy without that many flaws to him and they found themselves actually rooting against Mac here. There were times that Mac and Wire talk to each other and it feels just like some fill in type stuff just to pass the time. There were even, for some, to be some editing problems that detracted from what Stelljes was trying to say and distracted them from the story. There were some that feel up until the end, there was some good things going on, but the novel has a rushed ending to it that was a let down.

“Blood Silence” by Roger Stelljes is the fifth novel in the “McRyan Mysteries” series that came out in 2015. A high powered lawyer and a gorgeous client of his are killed in a brutal way while they are in a lake house located in a suburb that is west of Minneapolis. At the same time, Mac has taken an invite for a party in Minnesota for the president’s birthday; he likes that he will be able to see all of the people he knew when he was a cop in St. Paul. Another case pops up that took place thousands of miles away, and the only thing that the two murder cases have in common is Mac McRyan himself. His ex-wife, Meredith, has a new husband and proof that he has been cheating, but does not expect that she will be framed for his murder. There are also certain details of this case that will force Mac to face events of his past. He must do all of this as he and Sally prepare to get married.

Fans of the novel were glued to the novel and found themselves reading it non stop to finish it. Stelljes writes gripping page turners that leave you only needing the edge of your seat. They found the story to be very interesting, especially the way that Mac was able to put the pieces of this one together to solve the case and catch the bad guy. Some readers liked the shifting perspective of the novel as well as the twist at the end. Fans cannot wait for more books in the series. Some found that the novels actually get better and better each time out. Readers keep wondering how will Stelljes be able to top the great novel that came before, but he keeps on delivering wonderful reads for his many fans. Stelljes is also able to capture the atmosphere of Minnesota and makes it feel as if you yourself are there right alongside for the ride with Mac while he is tracking down the killer. Some enjoyed the way that Sally and Mac’s relationship grows in this one.

Some did not like the way that the novels detract from what the early novels did well, which was Mac solving interesting and violent murders, but in these it turns into a romance with some murder solving. There were readers who thought that some of what Stelljes says in this book against fossil fuels and things has just gotten started but has been going since around the fifties. Readers found themselves bored and pushed themselves to finish this novel after a slow start and what they took to be some filler material.

The first novel in the series “The Saint Paul Conspiracy” won the Commercial Fiction Award from MIPA Merit in the year 2006.

The series is for fans of John Sandford’s novels as well as for fans of the crime and thriller genres. The series is one that is not to be missed by anyone looking for a thrilling read.

Book Series In Order » Characters » McRyan Mysteries

2 Responses to “McRyan Mysteries”

  1. Mary Marvin: 2 years ago

    Love this series! Always unexpected twists and turns that leaves you yearning to find out what’s next. Can’t wait until the next cliffhanger!!

  2. Kathy Moreno: 2 years ago

    A can’t put down series. The mystery, unexpected twists, turns and intrigue. A great mystery series. Looking forward to more McRyan.


Leave a Reply