Book Notification

Medieval Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Medieval Mystery Books

Wine of Violence (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tyrant of the Mind (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sorrow Without End (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Justice for the Damned (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forsaken Soul (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chambers of Death (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Valley of Dry Bones (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Killing Season (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sanctity of Hate (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Covenant with Hell (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Satan's Lullaby (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Land of Shadows (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Proud Sinner (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wild Justice (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Twice-Hanged Man (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Elegy to Murder (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prayers of the Dead (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

The events of Medieval Mystery series by Priscilla Royal take place during the 11th Century in East Anglia England. It is during this period that Eleanor, the Prioress of Tyndal, the leader of a rare monastery order where men and women work and live together in proximity. Eleanor of Wynethorpe is appointed the prioress by Henry the third. Eleanor is young and inexperienced and will face a grave struggle in a place that is dedicated to peace and love, and she will find petite of either.

The author Priscilla Royal native to the State of Washington always found history as her relaxation. Her spark in writing medieval novels was sparked by her mother who always insisted that history was three dimensions in nature and that it is a relevant aspect of the mother.

Eleanor a small woman, determined and a bit fierce is an indication of what young women would do during the Middle Ages. The series also features another character by the name Brother Thomas but revealed a bit slowly. He is, however, a compelling figure that Eleanor and most of the readers of the medieval series by Priscilla Royal would agree. Both, Eleanor and Thomas are at an age where biology demands mating, and this makes Eleanor believe that Thomas had evolved to a good husband material until he admitted that he was a gay.

Other secondary characters of the medieval series arrive too quickly thus bringing with them a revelation of the medieval life. Some of the secondary characters of the series are Sister Anne who illustrates a woman’s choices when her husband decided to take the religious vows. On the other hand, Ralf may be seen as a rebellious son but still he is the youngest of nobility, and his family demands him to be loyal. The prioress maid named Gytha comes from a family of pre-Conquest Saxon thegns.

The series consists of over ten different books, the first book in Medieval Mystery series by Priscilla Royal Wine of Violence was published in 2003, the second book Tyrant of the Mind was released the following year. The latest book of the series is The Proud Sinner.

It is the year 1270 at the end of the summer when England is facing troubles and weary just like its aging king. Even with the end of Simon De Montfort rebellion, tensions across England and the smell of death still, hovers across the land. Everyone across England longs for peace even the nuns and the monks of the Fontevraud order long for the return of the peaceful routine of the area.

Their prayers are answered when Eleanor, a young and inexperienced woman is appointed as their prioress instead of the person they had selected to be their next prioress. She is appointed as the prioress as a reward for her parent’s loyalty to King Henry III. Now rather than celebration for the appointment of the next prioress who would bring peace to their lands, the monks, nuns are angered by her appointment and more so Sister Ruth who assumed that the position would be hers. Nor Eleanor nor the monks/nuns prayers for a peaceful transition are answered. A day after her arrival, a monk is brutally murdered, and his body found next to the cloister gardens and on the other hand a young priest, Brother Thomas with a troubled past adds his personal grief to the troubled Eleanor.

Now Eleanor must struggle not to only for her resentful and troubled congregation but also cope with the lust, greed, and violence in one place that is dedicated to peace and love. As the violence within the monastery continues and a serial killer, Thomas, Eleanor and a local Coroner must join forces to investigate and find the killer within before more murders are committed.

Tyrant of the Mind

Is the second book in the series by Priscilla Royal. It is during the winter time of 1271 when death comes knocking within the corridors of Wynethorpe Caster on the Welsh Border side. The grim reaper touches the grandson to the castle lord, and Baron Adam calls his daughter, Eleanor, the prioress of Tyndal and her infirmarian sister Anne to save the grandson with healing talents and prayers. Brother Thomas, the young man fighting his demon is the man tasked with escorting them through the remote fortress.

Death can be denied its quest once but never twice, and as the trio arrives, a discerning guest is killed. Next to the corpse is the prioress brother with a bloody dagger in his hand. All the people within believe that he is guilty, but only Eleanor believes that her brother is innocent.

Outside her priory, in the conventional world, Eleanor might have little power, but however, she is concerned to prove that her brother is innocent and ensure that serial killer on the loose is brought justice. She will do whatever it takes even if it means defying her biological father the only man with whom she wants to make peace.

Tyrant of the Mind is an incredible medieval mystery that takes place six months later after the Simon de Montefort rebellion. The readers get the chance to have a glimpse of the interior décor of the medieval castle.

Sorrow without End
It is the autumn of 1271; the Crowner Ralf discovers the body of a murdered soldier hidden in the woods proximal to Tyndal Priory. On the dead soldier chest is a dagger and is engraved with a strange design and the body is wrapped in a cloak. Could this be the work of a member of assassin gang or was the weapon used to mislead him from finding the real killer? Brother Thomas becomes the prime suspect in the murder and the investigator, in this case; Ralf must is forced to choose the between his loyalty to a friend and the demands of his brother, a sheriff as the murderer watches and waits.

Sorrow without end is a fascinating novel detailed with historical information while remaining one of the best intriguing mystery novels by Priscilla Royal.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Medieval Mystery

Leave a Reply