Book Notification

Megan Shepherd Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Madman’s Daughter Books

The Madman's Daughter (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Her Dark Curiosity (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cold Legacy (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Cage Books

Publication Order of Grim Lovelies Books

Grim Lovelies (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Midnight Beauties (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beastie Tales (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Malice Compendium Books

Malice House (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Midnight Showing (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Secret Horses of Briar Hill (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dog Star (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tim Burton's The Nightmare Before Christmas (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Lore of Crow Cullom (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

You always at times read a book and wished that you met with the author and had a chat with them. We have greater writers who have written excellent books, and Megan Shepherd is one of them. You might have read some of the books she has written and just wondered who she is and wished you got a chance to know her more. Let’s bring her more closely to your understanding. So who is Megan Shepherd?

Megan grew up in the mountains of North Carolina, and she had the privilege of growing up surrounded by books as her parents operated a bookstore by the name Highland Books in Brevard. Though she was always surrounded by books, she confesses that she never thought of becoming an author being a career she was to take. She is now a writer, and her target audience is the young adults. As she grew up, her love was always about travel and cultures. When she got the chance to learn more, she didn’t drop her passion. She went further and studied International Studies and foreign language. We can say she wanted to be armed with the right understanding when she traveled to people of different cultures. She went further and joined Peace Corps, and she spent two years in Senegal where she was teaching school children about wildlife education. Whenever Megan Shepherd is not playing around with the pen and the paper, she loves horseback riding, gardening at her family farm in the place she was brought up and also day dreaming at coffee shops.

So when did it cross her mind that she can write and make a living? While she was in Senegal, she took a project of collecting traditional oral folktales that she transcribed into an illustrated volume and was distributing it to village schools. It was during one of such times that she realized that storytelling could be fun and great, and her husband encouraged her to write her stories. She started writing articles, and they have appeared in Appleseed, Faces and Calliope magazines. She soon discovered that writing young adult fiction was easier as compared to children stories and with no time, she was into writing for the young adults. She got into serious writing in 2008 and has not turned back.

Megan Shepherd has specialized in writing for young adults and looking at her first two books she has authored; it is with no doubt that she knows how to connect with her audience. Her first fictional novel is ‘The Madman’s Daughter’ whose inspiration she got when she was about sixteen years and had gone abroad in Costa Rica. In this first book, Megan Shepherd explains the story of a sixteen-year-old girl whose life is one that gets complicated in a way. The girl known as Juliet gets born in a well-to-do family where the father is a successful scientist though he keeps women from the world of science. He employs a young man by the name Montgomery as his assistant. The new employee grows up with Juliet and is very close to the extent that he sneaks Juliet’s dad science books to Juliet. As a result of scandalous accusations against Juliet’s father, he escapes, and it’s believed he is dead. Juliet is left with her mother, and they struggle to make ends meet. Juliet later finds a cleaning job at the university hospital where she bumps into Montgomery, who informs her that her father is not yet dead as they had been made to believe. At the University, Juliet faces a bad doctor, and she ends losing her job. With the death of her mother, she requests Montgomery to take her with him as he goes to London. Here she bumps into Edward, and she gets attracted to her and she has hard times trying to decide who she wants. Finally she arrives at the island and true to what Montgomery had told her, she discovers her dad is alive, and he abandoned her. Her father is now conducting experimental surgeries on the animals to see whether they can become human like. The storyline is one that is not only gripping and horrifying but also one filled with crazy twists. As Juliet tries to stop her father’s madness about the experiments, she finds it so complicated to comprehend. So far, this is one of Megan Shepherd young adult writing that has been put into a movie. Just as the fictional itself is filled with horrific occurrences and descriptions, the trailer movie of ‘The Madman’s Daughter’ is also horrible.

The second of Megan Shepherd book is called ‘Her Dark Curiosity’ which is a continuous series of her first fictional book. The book got inspired by ‘The Strange Case’ of Mr. Hyde and Dr. Jekylly. The novel tries to explore the hidden natures of people we love and the extent we can go to save these people from their destruction. After the disastrous trip to the island and the confirmation of her father’s activities, Juliet goes back to London. She decides to rebuild her usual life and try entirely to forget her father’s legacy that he has already destroyed. As Juliet tries to forget about the past, some mysterious happenings come haunting her. Most of her close friends start becoming victims to a murderer whose history is little known and from where he has come. The killer leaves a macabre calling card made up of three claw-like slashes. The question that Juliet would like to get some answers is whether this murderer might be one of those creations her father had made. To make matters worse, Juliet is in critical illness, and she has to search for a serum and cure her. She also strives to stop a killer who is causing havoc amongst Juliet’s friends. As Juliet continues to find herself in a world full of danger and scandals, her heart is divided into two, her life totally threatened by an obsessive killer and bubbling of her past to the surface. If Juliet escapes alive from all these impending dangers, she must be very lucky.

Megan Shepherd has truly been able to catch the minds of the young adults through her style of writing and way of putting things into perspective. She is one writer whose work is excellent, and you will enjoy reading.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Megan Shepherd

Leave a Reply