Book Notification

Megan Whalen Turner Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Attolia Books

The Thief (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Queen of Attolia (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King of Attolia (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Conspiracy of Kings (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thick as Thieves (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Return of the Thief (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moira's Pen: A Queen's Thief Collection (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Instead of Three Wishes (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Firebirds: An Anthology of Original Fantasy and Science Fiction(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Seventeenth Annual Collection(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Megan Whalen Turner is one the most popular authors from America, who likes to write her books based on the young adult, fiction, and fantasy genres. She is particularly famous for writing the award winning series called The Queen’s Thief. Author Turner earned her Bachelor of Arts degree with honors in the English literature and language from the Chicago University in the year 1987. Her best known series is said to revolve primarily around the character called Eugenides. Author Turner did not give any title to the series initially, but it was called so by her fans. The series’ first book was awarded with the Newbery Honor Prize. In addition to this popular series, author Turner has also written and published a short story collection. Her novel series is also referred sometimes by the name ‘Attolia, The Thoef of Eddis’. Author Turner began her writing career in the year 1995 with the release of her collection of short stories known as Instead of Three Wishes. She wrote and published her first novel in 1996 under the title of The Thief. Author Turner was born in the year 1965 and was the youngest among her siblings. Turner likes to move around very much. She traveled extensively while she was growing up and still continues to do so. She is married to a Cognitive Scientist and professor named Mark Turner. He works at the Case Western University. They have lived in Oslo, Norway for a period of one year. Now, they have shifted back to Ohio. After completing her graduation, Turner took up bookselling and worked for 7 to 8 years. Finally, she decided to move on and try her hand at writing stories. Turner likes to remain in contact with her fans and readers through her e-mail. She even likes to answer their queries and questions. However, she adds that she does not like to give out too much information about herself. Turner is used to relocating very often because of the research work of her husband. She finds it useful for her writing career too as she gets the opportunity to use the beautiful landscapes of the visiting places as the background of her stories. She got a lot of chances likes this prior to the start of her writing career, but used the setting only once when she was in California for a year. Turner used the background of olive trees near her place of residence to develop the story of her first book.

The Queen’s Thief series written by Megan Whalen Turner is comprised of a total of 6 novels and 1 novella, which were released between the years 1996 and 2010. The last couple of books of the series is expected to be released in 2017. This series introduces the readers to the character of Eugenides. He is often referred to as Gen and claims that he can steal anything. The journey of Gen’s life is shown moving through 3 different phases of his life and is described from different perspectives. As the series progresses, a number of other interesting characters get added, including Gen’s friend Sophos. One of the initial books published in the series is entitled ‘The Queen of Attlolia’. It was released by the Greenwillow Books in 2006. Author Turner has described the primary characters in this novel as Eugenides, Eddis, The Magus, and Attolia. At the beginning of the book, Eugenides is introduced as a thief from Eddis. He steals the Gift of Hamiathes, which causes the Attolia’s Queen lose more than just a relic. She loses her face. The people around come to know that Eugenides managed to outwit the Queen and escape from her. Now, she wants to restore her power and gain back her reputation. For this purpose, she will accept every help offered to her and go to any extent to take the perfect revenge from Eugenides. However, Eugenides is well known to steal anything he wants. He tends to taunt Attolia by moving around her strongholds at his own will. When Attolia is not able to get Eugenides caught even after trying very hard. She decides to wait for him to make a mistake. Attolia knows that he will slip and that will be the time when she will be able to take her revenge. In the end, when Eugenides finds that his small country is at war, against Attolia, he realizes that he needs to steal a queen, a man, and finally peace. However, it appears that both of Gen’s greatest victory and greatest loss lie in something that Attolia thinks she has sacrificed a long time back. The book was highly appreciated and liked by numerous readers all over the world. This helped author Turner to win the Mythopoeic Fantasy prize in 2011 in the category of Children’s Literature.

Another exciting book released in the series is entitled ‘A Conspiracy of kings’. The Greenwillow Books released it in 2010. It includes the same characters as in the first book except the addition of Sophos. Author Turner has depicted at the start of the book that Sophos undergoes training, swordplay practice, and making escape strategies. He wants to be prepared for the time when his family villa gets attacked. But, he always looks worried about the safety of her mother and sisters at the time of such an attack. Finally, when armed men attack Sounis villa to capture, kidnap, and kill, Sophos goes into hiding and then disappears. In Attolia, Geb becomes the new king. He is the best friend of Sophos and therefore, does not stop wondering about what could have happened to him. Even the Eddis’ Queen seems worried about his well being. The two hire spies and informants to find the trace of Sophos. Gen and Eddis even offer prayers to God to keep their friend safe. But as the time passes by, their hopes of seeing Sophos alive again keeps diminishing. On the other hand, battles take place, bribes are taken and given, and conspiracies are carried out across a small peninsula. Sophos appears amidst such a situation. He seems to carry the memories of his friends and longs to meet them again. But, his situation does not allow him to do so. He decides to go on an adventure that he thinks will change the lives of each of them forever.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Megan Whalen Turner

Leave a Reply