Book Notification

Melanie Rawn Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dragon Prince Books

Dragon Prince (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Star Scroll (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sunrunner's Fire (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dragon Star Books

Publication Order of Exiles Books

The Ruins of Ambrai (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mageborn Traitor (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Captal's Tower (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Glass Thorns Books

Publication Order of Golden Key Universe Books

The Golden Key (With: Jennifer Roberson,Kate Elliott) (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Diviner (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Spellbinder Books

Publication Order of Quantum Leap Books

Quantum Leap: The Novel (By: Ashley McConnell) (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wall (By: Ashley McConnell) (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Too Close for Comfort (By: Ashley McConnell) (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Random Measures (By: Ashley McConnell) (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Search And Rescue (By: Melissa Crandall) (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prelude (By: Ashley McConnell) (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Double or Nothing (By: Laura Anne Gilman,C.J. Henderson) (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Loch Ness Leap (By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch,Dean Wesley Smith,Sandy Schofield) (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Knights of the Morningstar (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Rushden Legacy (With: EllenRandolph) (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

DAW 30th Anniversary Fantasy(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
DAW 30th Anniversary Science Fiction and Fantasy Anthologies(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Melanie Rawn is an American author of fantasy and science fiction books. She graduated from Scripps College with a Bachelor of Arts degree in history and worked as an editor and a teacher before switching to fulltime writing.

Ms. Rawn was nominated for Locus Award on three different occasions: for Dragon Prince in 1989, for Skybowl in 1994 and Ruins of Ambrai in 1995.

Dragon Prince

Dragon Prince is the first book in a series by the same name. It’s a coming of age story about a man named Rohan the heir of Princedom of the Desert. He is kidnapped by Ianthe who wants to a son with him. Ianthe is the oldest daughter of Roelstra. There’s a wide range of exciting and complex characters on both the antagonist and protagonist sides.

Once you read this novel, you’ll figure out that it was way ahead of the romance/fantasy genre curve in 1988. The author creates an epic fantasy story with some romantic tidbits. The medieval fantasy world characterized by Dragon Prince comes to life in shiny magical colors. The setting, being desert is beautifully depicted in fine details grabbing the reader’s attention with sensuous descriptions.

It is set in a world where there is no magic, but there are people known as Sunrunners capable of using moonlight and sunlight to view far away places, communicate with each other, create illusions and even fire. These people are used as advisors, messengers, and spiritual leaders, and they are held high in society. Then there are Princes, who rule over the people and the power of land and are given advice by the sunrunners. There is a High Prince, a man only concerned with his ambitions, and prince Rohan whose father is known for uniting his people and for his bravery in battles.

When Rohan becomes the prince, he swears to battle the High Prince and rule over the kingdom in a lawful and just manner.

The Ruins of Ambrai

The Ruins of Ambrai is the first book in Exiles series. Hundreds of years ago, Mageborns fled persecution to colonize a planet so pristine and perfect for people whose powers were considered as a threat by people without magic. But soon the planet- Lenfell was soon plagued by between the Mageborn enemies that left the land, sea, and air polluted with Wild Magic and unleashed an enemy known as Wraithenbeasts.

Generations after the war, with the land recovering from the impacts of war and people now no longer threatened by genetic damage, the Mageborns still practice their magic but under very strict rules. But the rivalry between the Lords of Malerris and Mage Guardians continues and the threat of war still ever present. And someone evil has been planning for war for many years, the final strike that would make everyone to submission.

Melanie Rawn does a fantastic job in her series debut novel. She succeeds in world-building by creating an engaging matriarchal society, and she is pretty much in control of the genealogy and the history of her universe. The world and the character come alive through Rawn’s vivid narration.

There’s political intrigue at the core of this novel. There are plenty of unexpected and complex political twists and turns that keep the reader hooked to the last page. One specific aspect that the author excels at is characterization. Melanie Rawn has a knack of creating engaging characters, and her stories are filled with memorable lead characters. The Ruins of Ambrai features a dozen of memorable characters and villain you’d love to hate. In terms of pacing, The Ruins of Ambrai is a fast-paced story.


With her bestselling and widely acclaimed Dragon Prince series debut novel, Melanie Rawn paved the way to a spellbinding universe of sorcerous evil, and Sunrunners magic, of a leader fighting to bring peace to the world of divided kingdoms, and of the dragon lethal yet the key to wealth beyond human imaginations.

In Stronghold, the first book in Dragon Star series there is a shocking challenge to the power of the Lord of the Sunrunners, and High Prince Rohan. Additionally, a mysterious and unstoppable force swarms across their territories. For Andry, the leader of the Sunrunners, the force signals the beginning of a nightmare and the fulfillment of the visions of his home in flames. To save his homeland, he will have to draw upon the forbidden sorcerers magic in efforts to destroy an enemy who will stop at nothing until the last of the Sunrunners is exterminated.

Rohan the High Prince and his son will also unite and battle a foe with their every last tool at their disposal from the valiant warriors to the conjurations with moons, sun, and stars and the deadly present of the dragons, the wrath of the desert. Soon they not only discover that the invasion may not bring an end to their unity but also threatens to bring an end to humanity.

As with most high fantasy novels, Stronghold takes time for the pace to get going, but once the pace is set in motion, the book becomes hard to put down. Like any other fantasy book it takes lots of patience to navigate through the beginning, but the final pages and endings are always sweet.
Stronghold deals with a nation that has enjoyed several decades of peace suddenly being overruled by barbarian invaders. Like most stories that relate with war, there’s a lot of struggle between the High Prince Rohan and his son Pol who is desperate enough to prove himself as a warrior and High Prince. There’s lots of violence, death purposely done for the true depiction of war and not for the shock value.

Melanie Rawn is “ruthless” to her characters. She gives them tough choices and circumstances, and through this, they are given a chance to grow and transform. The author has also excelled in crafting her characters both main and secondary cast, a smoothly paced plot and a setting where magic is the order of the day. If you enjoy reading fantasy books with themes of war and family rivalry, Dragon Star Trilogy is a recommended read.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Melanie Rawn

Leave a Reply