Book Notification

Melissa Jagears Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Frontier Vows Books

Romancing the Bride (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pretending to Wed (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Depending on You (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Marrying Mr. Wrong (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Teaville Moral Society Books

A Heart Most Certain (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Engaging the Competition (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Love So True (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Chance at Forever (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tied and True (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Unexpected Brides Books

Love by the Letter (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Bride for Keeps (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Bride in Store (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Bride at Last (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Strengthen Your Fiction by Understanding Weasel Words (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Melissa Jagears is a popular American writer of Christian fiction, romance, and historical fiction novels. She has written a few mind-blowing novel series in her career, including the Teaville Moral Society series, Unexpected Brides series, and the Frontier Vows series. Additionally, she has contributed several omnibus collections along with authors such as Maureen Lang, Amanda Barratt, Mary Connealy, Mona Hodgson, Regina Jennings, Karen Witemeyer, Gabrielle Meyer, Andrea Boeshaar, Erica Vetsch, Jody Hedlund, Renne Yancy, and Jennifer Uhlarik. She has also penned a nonfiction book called Strengthen Your Fiction by Understanding Weasel Words. Jagears is a stay at home mother of two sons and a daughter. She looks after their home-schooling and writes novels in her free time, though she hardly gets any free time because of her children.

Jagears married her husband in 2001 and has been living with him since. She is an avid reader of books and a former ESL teacher at the high school level. Jagears’s interest in writing can be understood from the fact that she has a total of nineteen bookshelves in her house. She wanted to have more, but her husband insisted that she doesn’t buy any more books or else the foundation of their house will become weak. The only bookshelf that Jagears’s husband likes is the one that has all the how-to manuals as he loves knife smithing, hunting, blacksmithing, traditional archery, etc. He likes to indulge himself in all the activities a mountain has done or wishes to do. And so, the manuals’ bookshelf comes in very handy for the research of all his activities.

Just like Jagears, her daughter too is an avid reader. Jagears motivates her to pursue her interests and hopes that she will also become a prolific writer like her. However, she also likes fashion designing and cake decoration, which makes Jagears think that she might choose one of those two careers. Jagears’s sons have interests like their father. Several prestigious awards have been won by Jagears for her novels. Currently, she resides in Kansas City with her family. She has a website in her name that she uses to give out updates regarding the latest happenings in her writing career.

A popular novel series written by author Melissa Jagears is known as the Unexpected Brides series. It is comprised of 3 novels and 4 novellas released between 2013 and 2016. The central characters created by Jagears for the books of this series include Dex Stanton, Rachel Oliver, Everett Cline, Julia Lockwood, Eliza Cantrell, William Stanton, Axel, Kate Dawson, Silas Jonsey, Anthony, and several others. The debut book of this Christian romance series is entitled ‘A Bride for Keeps’. It was released by the Bethany House publication in 2013. Author Jagears has set this novel in Kansas in the year 1876. The novel opens by showing that Everett Cline promises to himself not to seek a mail-order bride, especially after his previous encounters. Three mail-order brides have jilted him in the past and now, he is certain that finding a wife is not in his future. But, a well-wishing neighbor has not given up on getting him settled by finding a perfect wife for him.

After his latest heartbreaking incident, the neighbor goes behind Everett’s back to bring a new woman in town and get her acquainted with him. Julia Lockwood has always lived like a beautiful pawn for her dad or a business entity for her ex-fiance. Becoming a mail-order bride and moving to Kansas seems too much for her, but she agrees to do it in order to escape her miserable life and the heartbreak she has experienced in Massachusetts. Everett Cline finds it quite amusing to know that a cultured and beautiful woman like Julia Lockwood is ready to share his simple, ordinary life. He thinks of using her as a helpmate. Julia is determined to prove to the world that she is much more than just a beautiful face and decides to marry Everett just for namesake. Both of them face life’s harsh realities and hesitate to explore the feelings growing inside them for each other. They wonder if they are ready to let go of their struggles and embrace each other with true love.

The second installment of the Christian romance series is called ‘A Bride in Store’. It was also published in 2014 by Bethany House Publishers. This book depicts Eliza Cantrell in the role of a mail-order bride and Axel as her intended life partner. Initially, it is shown that Eliza is impatient to get to her intended groom. She wants to bring happiness in his life by helping him grow the general store business owned by him. With this thing in mind, Eliza Cantrell sets off from her house one week early. To her utter shock, her plan goes sideways when her wagon is attacked by robbers and all her dowry is stolen. Also, her would-be groom, Axel, is not in town when she arrives. Axel has a business partner named William Stanton, who does not have any interest in doing business. Rather, he wants to become a doctor.

When Axel’s mail-order bride, Eliza Cantrell arrives at his house and William sees that Axel is not there to receive her, he shows responsibility and comes forward to help her. William shows pity on her after knowing that all her money was looted by robbers. He lets Eliza help around and arrange things in the store. Seeing Eliza take a deep interest in the store’s business, William Stanton realizes that she is more adept than him at managing a business. Shortly after, sparks begin to fly between Eliza and William as they work closely. And after a point, neither of them is able to ignore the growing feelings.

Eliza tries to keep her feelings in check, knowing that she is supposed to be with Axel, while William is hoping that the time passes quickly so that he can join the medical school and start his studies. After Axel’s return, William and Eliza agree to give up the slightest of hope they had in their hearts to be with each other. But, when they can’t get over each other and find that their troubles have just become bigger, they wonder what sacrifices they are willing to make, to turn their dreams into reality. They also wonder if God has planned something for them.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Melissa Jagears

Leave a Reply