Book Notification

Memoirs by Lady Trent Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Memoirs Of Lady Trent Books

A Natural History of Dragons (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tropic of Serpents (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Voyage of the Basilisk (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
From the Editorial Page of the Falchester Weekly Review (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Labyrinth of Drakes (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Within the Sanctuary of Wings (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Memoirs Of Lady Trent Books

A Natural History of Dragons(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tropic of Serpents(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Voyage of the Basilisk(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
From the Editorial Page of the Falchester Weekly Review(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Labyrinth of Drakes(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Within the Sanctuary of Wings(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

This series “Memoirs by Lady Trent” by author Marie Brennan, is set in an alternate reality, that is based on actual events of the nineteenth century. This is a five book series that documents the different discoveries and adventures that Isabella, or Lady Trent (who is a world renowned dragon naturalist). She is a rarity at this time, because at this time, it is hard for women to make it studying dragons. At first, her gender and class constraints hold her back from exploring her passion, the way that her male counterparts have had no problems pursuing.

There are different kinds of dragons in this world. From tiny little sparklings, that some take to be insects (which they obviously are not). To the large predator reptiles that have toxic breath, that can be found in the furthest parts of the world. To other kinds as well. These larger ones, are of course the ones that the world at large remembers the most.

There is a warning that comes with these books that warns anyone who wishes to read them that they are not for the faint of heart. Just like studying the subject of dragons itself. Those that are able to muster the inner strength required to study dragons are in for treat. They will see some truly wonderful creatures. Anyone will be jealous of them, for what they will see.

To write this series, Brennan is able to draw on her experience and time studying both archaeology and folklore while at Harvard (getting her undergraduate degree in these fields), and her time studying at Indiana University in Bloomington both the subject of folklore and cultural anthropology (she has completed graduate work in these fields).

“A Natural History of Dragons” is the first novel in the “Memoirs of Lady Trent” series written by Marie Brennan that was released in the year 2013. It is widely known that Lady Trent is the world’s best dragon naturalist. No matter where you go in the world, people know who Lady Isabella Trent is. She took studying dragons out of the depths of shadows and myth that had long surrounded them and thrust them into the light of modern science. Before she was the figure of illustrious background that the world knows and loves, Lady Trent was a bookworm young woman; her passion for learning about natural history, which includes the field of dragons, defied all of the conventions of her time. They were quite stifling, these conventions. This book is told in Lady Trent’s own words, about how she risked it all so that she could satisfy her scientific curiosity.

Fans of the novel found that the read is full of the urgency and joy that abounds when the prospect of discovery and scientific curiosity meet each other. Some also liked that there is an ending to this book and does not leave them hanging, like some book ones have done in some series. There is a saucy narrative here that makes readers unable to put the book down for very long. Brennan does a wonderful job of writing from Lady Trent’s point of view and making this novel read more like a memoir. This is a great read, even for the pickiest of readers. It hooked some readers in and did not let up for a single instant of the read, and some were so in love, that they bought the rest of the novels in the series. Out of all the series that feature dragons, this one stands above the rest, with the way it presents things and the way it is one of the most original series that you will ever read. Whether or not they include dragons.

“The Tropic of Serpents” is the second novel in the “Memoirs of Lady Trent” series written by Marie Brennan that was released in the year 2014. This novel is set three years after book one’s events. Mrs. Camherst goes against what her family and convention says she should do and goes on an expedition into a place destroyed by war, the continent of Eriga. This is home to exotic draconian species like the snakes that live in the grass, snakes that are in the trees. Not to mention the swamp wyrms that are in the tropics and have become somewhat legendary. This is far from an easy journey. Isabella has partnered up with a runaway heiress and a former associate, there is a lot both of them must brave. Like palace intrigues, the local gossip, stifling heat, and fevers that do not let up. Not to mention other hazards that will try to kill both of them, before this adventure is over. All to find out about anything they can find relating to creatures of a draconian origin. Even if they have to go through Green Hell. She will be tested more than she ever has before.

Fans of the novel found Isabella to have a funny voice, and is able to create a persona that is sympathetic and appealing to readers. Her character is a nice change of pace that shows that not all women, from any era adhere to the different expectations that are thrust upon their gender. Readers are drawn in to the novel and they cannot break away. The illustrations that are found in the hardback versions of this series really add to the journal, memoir, and the steam punk vibe that the author was going for in writing the series. They set the tone for the series, and show the reader some of what they will be in for by reading the book. Not to mention the fact that they are really beautiful to look at. It is impossible for some, to only read one of the books, they simply must read all of them. These are well drawn characters, who act like real people and have complex motivations. There is a realism to the historic aspect here, even though the author has taken things in a fictional direction with these works.

The first novel in the series was a part of NPR’s Best Books in the year 2013, it was also a finalist for the 2014 World Fantasy Award.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Memoirs by Lady Trent

Leave a Reply