Book Notification

Menna van Praag Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Sisters Grimm Books

The Sisters Grimm (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night of Demons and Saints (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Happier Than She's Ever Been (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House at the End of Hope Street (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dress Shop of Dreams (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witches of Cambridge (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Art of Letter Writing (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Patron Saint of Lost Souls (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Men, Money and Chocolate (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Menna van Praag, is a romance, literary fiction, and fantasy author best known for the “Sisters Grimm” series of novels.

The author was born in Cambridge in the United Kingdom and went to Oxford University where she studied Modern History.

Praag made her literary debut when she published “Men, Money, and Chocolate” in 2008 and has never looked back since. She now has more than a dozen works to her name and is showing no signs of slowing down any time soon.

Menna’s work has so far been very popular across the world and has been translated into more than two dozen languages.

Her first long-form fiction work was the 2011 published “The House at the End of Hope Street.”

The inspiration for the work came from an idea she had of setting up a house where female artists could congregate and help each other achieve their dreams.

Most of the works of Menna van Praag have been set in the bookshops, cafes, and colleges of Cambridge, England.

She currently makes her home in Cambridge, where she lives with her husband and their two children.

The author Menna van Praag has been a storyteller for most of her life. As an eighteen-year-old in high school, her literature teacher read one of her stories and was so impressed that she said it was publishable.

This was the first time someone had spoken about her work in such glowing terms, and it gave her hope and confidence that she clung to for more than a dozen years.

Menna has said that she started writing since she was always a reader and often wondered if she could recreate the beauty of the stories she read.

After graduating from Balliol College, she would study creative writing at Cambridge. She would then practice as a script reader and freelance journalist for BBC TV and films.

When she published her debut work in 2011, she gained some notoriety that got her several job offers.

She has since been a creative writing instructor at the School of Drama, the Creative Arts in Cambridge, and the Institute of Continuing Education at Cambridge University.

In 2021 she was an RLF fellow at ARU in addition to teaching The History of the Novel Module a part of the Creative Writing course in the master’s program.

Menna van Praag’s had quite the journey towards becoming a published author just like many of her contemporaries.

Before she self-published “Men, Money & Chocolate” she had traversed the entirety of Cambridge, Oxford, and London trying to get a publisher interested.

She bribed all manner of bookstores and libraries begging them to stock her work and it was not long before people were hooked on her novels. In fact, an employee at her local bookshop became her salesman and sold more than 50 copies.

About six months later, after selling more than 600 copies of her work, she went back to Hay House the publishing house that had once rejected her. She was invited to lunch at Notting Hill and soon enough she was a published author.
According to her editor, the fact that she had several minor victories convinced them that she had enough talent.

“The Sisters Grimm” by Menna van Praag is the story of Bea, Goldie, Scarlet, and Liyana who dreamed of strange worlds when they were children. They had seen visions of a nightscape full of fog and most, hungry ivy and falling leaves under a brilliant moon.

It is in the Everwhere shadowland where the half-sisters connected by magic and blood embark on the journey of nurturing their elemental powers.

But when they turned 13, they had been separated and were torn from Everwhere. Five years later they are yearning to rediscover their supernatural and unique strengths and find each other.

Goldie has the power to give life and manipulates plants, Bea can fly, Scarlet can control and produce electricity and Liyana can control the rain and the rivers.

If they are to realize their potential, the sisters will have to go back to Everwhere the land of their dreams. But to get in they will have to use specific gates that can only be accessed on the night of a full moon at 3.33 am.

Beset with all manner of challenges, they still have to prepare for the battle of their lives.

Menna van Praag’s novel “The Night of Demons and Saints” is set following the events of the first novel of the series. The Grimm sisters have been separated after a devastating loss in the battle against their father.

But now three years later and about to turn 21 they are brought back together by fate. For Goldie, sorrow is all over their 21st birthday. She is yet to forget the outcome of the battle which had totally upended her life.

Even though her sisters have been doing their own thing, Goldie has become inconsolable and distant. Full of grief, she comes up with a diabolical plan to get back what she has lost.

When Liyana learns of Goldie’s plans, she tells her that she will help if Goldie agrees not to sacrifice lives. Upon returning to Everwhere, they team up and combine their magical powers to try to get back what Goldie has lost.

But things go wrong and it is not long before Scarlet seems to have been possessed by some malevolent spirit. With their lives in danger, the sisters have to face up to personal trauma, make amends for the past and prepare for an even bigger fight.

“Child of Earth & Sky” by Menna van Praag continues to follow the life and times of the Grimm girls who are born of black-edged desire and bright white wishing. Each of the girls can command a special element in the natural world.

However, a child born of a fallen star and a Grimm has infinite power and can command nearly all the elements. Goldie is about to turn thirty and is the mother to Luna an eight-year-old girl that is part Grimm part star.

With her mother’s power to control almost anything at will and the scars of her father evident on her body, she is over time pulled in different directions by the two powers inside her.

Things get complicated when the girl’s teacher notices her scars and calls social services. Facing the very real prospect of losing Luna, Goldie makes an attempt at escaping.

But she is facing up against the fates and Social Services takes her daughter away. The only place they can meet is in the haunted and strange realm of Everwhere. She is desperate to get back her daughter but it is a quest filled with danger.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Menna van Praag

Leave a Reply