Book Notification

Mermaid Tales Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mermaid Tales Books

By: Debbie Dadey, Marcia Thornton Jones
Trouble at Trident Academy (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Battle of the Best Friends (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Whale of a Tale (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Danger in the Deep Blue Sea (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Princess (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Sea Horse (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dream of the Blue Turtle (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure in Trident City (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Royal Tea (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Tale of Two Sisters (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Polar Bear Express (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wish upon a Starfish (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crook and the Crown (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twist and Shout (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Books vs. Looks (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flower Girl Dreams (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ready, Set, Goal! (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fairy Chase (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Narwhal Problem (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Winter Princess (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sleepover at the Haunted Museum (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Titanic Friendship (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Mermaid Tales is a series of books written by American bestselling author of children books Debbie Dadey. The author has over 125 books published under her name including the Publishers Bestselling, The Adventure of ……School Kids series which has over 20 million books in print. She is also the author of The Worst Name in 3rd Grade, The Swamp Monster in 3rd Grade and The Ghostville Elementary series.

Dadey co-authored with Marcia Thornton Jones and published Adventures of the Bailey School Kids and Ghostville Elementary. Debbie moved to live in Pennsylvania while her co-author still resides in Kentucky.

Mermaid Tales series publication began in 2012 when the first book in the series Trouble at Trident Academy was published. The first four book in the series (Trouble at Trident Academy, A Whale of a Tale, Danger in the Deep Blue Sea and Battle of the Best Friends.) were published in 2012 collectively. The fifth book the Lost Princess was released in 2013.

Cast Characters

Mermaid Tale series features four main cast characters, Shelly, Pearl, Rocky, Kiki and Echo. The four characters attend Trident Academy. Each of these four possesses different traits- Shelly is understanding, polite, makes everyone around her comfortable. She has a close friend named Echo, who possesses similar traits.

On the other hand is Pearl a naughty and know-it –all girl who wants nothing but trouble for Shelly. Rocky, is a mermaid boy whose only interest is to tease everyone around her. Then there is Kiki, she is a shy mermaid girl, and like Shelly, she is new to Trident Academy.

Trouble at Trident Academy

Trouble at Trident Academy is the first book in the series. It introduces the reader to Trident City and a couple of cast characters including Shelly, the main character, Echo, Kiki, Pearl, and Rocky.

It is Mermaid Girl Shelly Siren first day at her new school, and she is pretty nervous from the tip of her sparkling mermaid tail to the tip of her head. She wonders to herself on whether she will be able to fit in her prestigious Trident Academy since everyone in the school seems so smart, cute and rich than she could ever be.

At least, one her relief, she and her friend Echo are in the same class. However, unfortunately, Pear, a know- it – all kid wants to make trouble for Shelly while Rocky, is a mermaid boy who enjoys at teasing everyone. Then there is Kiki, a shy mermaid who is not familiar to Trident City. At first, Echo and Shelly seem to enjoy it all and have lots of fun, sharing lunch together and try to make the ill-tempered Mr. Fangtooth smile, and joining after-school clubs together.

Trouble comes knocking when Shelly and Echo starts arguing about their first assignment at school and Pearl gets involved in the whole ordeal. Will Echo and Shelly fix their friendship which is on the verge of collapsing? Alternatively, will they end up being enemies forever?

The first installment is a fantastic read with cute illustrations and fun characters. The characters are well illustrated and perfectly fit for a young audience. Reading the book, you will realize the whole idea the author attempts to bring forth is about taking care of the oceans and keeping your friends close.

Battle of the Best Friends

The Rays, the most famous boy band in town is paying a visit to Pearls birthday. Everyone in the underwater school is invited to the birthday party except for Shelly, who does not get along pretty well with Pearl. Echo is jubilant because she is going to meet the hottest band around finally. However, when she learns that her best friend, Shelly is not invited to the party, this breaks her down and decides not to attend either.

Shelly urges her friend to attend anyway, but Echo does not want to leave her best friend out of this exciting celebration…. So Shelly comes up with a plan to ensure that her buddy gets to meet her favorite group.

So, when the Rays finally do come to Trident City, Echo returns the favor to make sure that her best friend Shelly is included in this festivity and in the most unexpected way.

A Whale of a Tale

In the third installment in Mermaid Tales series, the third graders at the prestigious Trident Academy are going to a surface of the ocean trip for the first time for an exciting activity. They are going to pay a visit to a pod of humpback whales.

However, Kiki is less than happy, and in fact, she is scared from her head to her tail tip. She is afraid that the monstrous creatures could swallow her and her entire class in a single giant gulp. Kiki’s best friends, Echo and Shelly try to help her overcome her fears, and when a new pal comes along- a big, whale-sized friend- Kiki courage sparks and emerges and the fun looms big.

Danger in the Deep Blue Sea

In the fourth installment in Mermaid Tales breaking news report that there have been dangerous shark sightings in the City and no one is allowed to swim alone. So in response, Pearl father employs a shark guard to escort his daughter to school. Pearl begins igniting lots of trouble with seemingly anything that has to do with sharks. She even denounces the skeleton Kiki displays in her room.

Moreover, to make matters worse, Pearl goes ahead and accuses Kiki of stealing her treasured pearl necklace. In the presence of immediate danger from the Ocean, Pearl will soon discover that true friends can indeed provide a sense of security and safety.

The fourth installation is an easy and interesting read featuring great underwater friends. The author has presented the protagonists, Shelly, and the villain Pearl in such a manner that you will love. Pearl, the mean girl, gets to learn her and finally appreciates the aspect of friendship.

In summary, Mermaid Tales series is a good series recommended for children. It mainly focuses on friendships, with an emphasis on the new friends and the prestigious school Trident Academy. It helps children relate friendship issues in their daily lives in this underwater setting.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Mermaid Tales

Leave a Reply