Book Notification

Michael A. Kahn Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Rachel Gold Books

The Canaan Legacy / Grave Designs (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Benefits (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Firm Ambitions (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Due Diligence (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sheer Gall (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bearing Witness (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trophy Widow (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Handful of Gold (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Flinch Factor (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Face Value (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dead Hand (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bad Trust (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Mourning Sexton (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sirena Quest (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Played! (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Art of Conflict (With: Alan C. Kohn) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

May It Amuse the Court (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Legal Briefs(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Women Before the Bench(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

Michael A. Kahn, is not only a well known, successful author, he is also a well known, successful attorney. Mr. Kahn is a Media and Entertainment attorney with areas of focus and expertise on Intellectual Property and First Amendment law. In the legal arena, he is also known for being a trial attorney in general commercial litigation. Mr. Kahn has another day jobs, serving as a professor, teaching law at Washington University in St. Louis, concerning the aspects of censorship and free expression in relation to his Intellectual Property and First Amendment expertise. His knowledge of the law and his experience as a litigating attorney are what he has based the premises of his plot lines on, when writing his legal thriller/mystery novels. The main character in his books, Rachel Gold, is also a St Louis attorney, who has also gone to Harvard University to earn her law degree, like Mr. Kahn, but she is a defense attorney. She is the character that Mr. Kahn has named his mystery novel series after, the Rachel Gold Mysteries series.

Born in St. Louis, Mr. Kahn started his career as a writer, writing freelance articles for Chicago Magazine while teaching fifth grade classes in Chicago’s public elementary schools, before he became an attorney, and before he became an author of successful mystery novels. He married his high school sweetheart, Margi, and they have 5 children, and grandchildren. He earned a Bachelor of Arts, magna cum laude, at Amherst College in 1974. He received a Master of Arts at Northwestern University in 1975, and went on to earn a Juris Doctor degree from Harvard University, cum laude, in 1979. He is a member of the Missouri Bar, the Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis, the Illinois Bar Association, and the Copyright Society of the USA.

Mr. Kahn wrote his first book, called Canaan Legacy, published in 1988, which is better known by the title Grave Designs. It is the first book in the Rachel Gold Mysteries series. He wrote his first book on a dare by his wife, because Mr. Kahn claimed he could write a better book, than all the books he has read. So his wife dared him to write a better book, if he wasn’t going to, then he need not mention it again. So he did write a book. He actually wrote his first book not thinking it would be part of a series. After he wrote his first novel, he received a call from his agent, who informed him that she just got an offer from a publisher for the next two books in the series. Mr. Kahn didn’t know what his agent was talking about, because he hadn’t planned on writing a series. So his agent convinced him to write a mystery series based on Rachel Gold, hence, he went on to write several more Rachel Gold mysteries. The next book in the series after Grave Designs, was called Death Benefits, which was published in 1993, and then Firm Ambitions in 1994. Being picked up by a publisher and contracted to write at least 3 books, he became a member of the Author’s Guild, and Mystery Writers of America. He has also written short stories including the three short story collection, called A Handful Of Gold, that is based on the character, Rachel Gold, plus he contributed a short story to the short story collection, called Legal Briefs. He has also written two stand-alone novels, one book called The Mourning Sexton, under the pseudonym Michael Baron, and another book under his own name, called The Sirena Quest.

The debut novel of Mr. Kahn, and the first book in the Rachel Gold Mysteries series, is called Canaan Legacy, or Grave Designs, and is the introduction of Rachel Gold, a female St. Louis-turned-Chicago defense attorney, who is hired by one of the partner lawyers from her former law firm in St. Louis to find out who, or what Canaan is, hence the name, Canaan Legacy. Rachel Gold investigates the mystery surrounding the will of Graham Marshall, III, who was a reputable partnered attorney in her former law firm. The will becomes a mystery after he dies because it contains a curious codicil in it that refers to Canaan. It is a book that is based on legal procedure which is authentic material for readers who love to read realistic detective stories, as are all of his books. The second book in the series called Death Benefits, sends Chicago attorney Rachel Gold back to her hometown of St. Louis, which she is again hired by her former law firm to represent one of their clients when one of the partnered attorneys in her former law firm is found dead in a hotel room from an apparent suicide. Thus these 2 books are the beginning of a very popular, best selling mystery series.

Mr. Kahn is very accomplished at everything he chooses to do. He has won several awards as an attorney, specifically, several of the Best Lawyers In America awards, four years in a row. Mr. Kahn is not only award winning as an attorney, he is also award winning as an author. He has won the St. Louis Book Award. He is beloved and respected by his clients, fans, other authors, reviewers, and critics. He is hailed by critics and reviewers as being a clever suspense writer, having cleverly constructed and intricate plot lines with witty dialog. His characters are well rounded, memorable, and believable. As a writer of many books, he enjoys the accolades of being a brilliant writer. Many readers of his novels claim his writing is addictive and impossible to put down. His proudest and greatest moment as a writer happened when his children brought one of his books to school for show-and-tell. Among the many things he does, Mr. Kahn is also a member of the Board of Directors of the St. Louis Public Library Foundation and he participates with Volunteer Lawyers and is a member of Accountants for the Arts. Mr Kahn has his own website that he frequently writes his own blogs on,, called Michael A. Kahn: Author and Trial Attorney in which he writes about things that interest him.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Michael A. Kahn

Leave a Reply