Book Notification

Michael Bray Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of From the Deep Books

From the Deep (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Return to The Deep (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spawn of the Deep (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of I Was Jack The Ripper Books

I was Jack The Ripper, Part One (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
I was Jack The Ripper, Part Two (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Was Jack The Ripper, Part Three (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Was Jack the Ripper, Part Four (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Was Jack The Ripper, Part Five (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Was Jack The Ripper: The complete novel (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Monster Hunter Books

Cody Rexell and the Death Worm (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cody Rexell and the Cannibal Death Camp (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Monster Books

with Matt Shaw
Monster (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Richard & Mary (By: Matt Shaw) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Project Apex Books

Publication Order of Whisper Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Art (With: Matt Shaw) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Home-Video (With: Matt Shaw) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Island (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Place (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Mutation (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Collections

Dark Corners (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Funhouse (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forgotten Fears (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
At the Edge of Night (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fan Fears (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Corners Redux (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
2016: A Year of Horror and Pain (With: Matt Shaw) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deranged (With: Matt Shaw) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fan Fears: Volume 2 (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Strange Tales (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Macabre Morsels (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Splatterpunk Saints 2013(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Hall Press Techno-Horror Anthology(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kids(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
None More Black(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Places, Evil Faces(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lakes & Other Bodies(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
VS: X: US vs UK Extreme Horror(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Black Room Manuscripts Volume Three(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Horror Collection: Nightmare Edition(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vampires(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Michael Bray is an author best known for writing suspenseful horror that touches on the psychological side of the genre. He is the author of the Monster Hunter series, the Cody Rexell Saga, the Whisper Trilogy, and the Voices series. Bray had the novel he co-wrote with Matt Shaw, Monster, turned into a feature film starring Tracy Shaw, Daniele Harold, and Rod Glenn. A film is also set to be made about his novel, Meat.

Bray has lived in Leeds all his life. He didn’t come to writing until later in his life. He was in his thirties when the band he was in split up and he decided that he needed a new creative outlet. He started to believe that writing would be a good choice and tried his hand at some short stories which then turned into a collection of stories that eventually became Dark Corners. He sent it off to a few publishers to see what would happen and ended up getting signed by Dark Hall Press.

He counts authors like Stephen King, Richard Laymon, Shaun Hutson, James Herbert and Brian Lumley as well as television shows like Tales from the Crypt for influencing him and his writing style. He enjoys teasing the reader’s nerves while at the same time willing them to continue reading. Michael’s writing features a lot of realism, but he also tries no to go too overboard with it. He cites Monster, co-written with Matt Shaw, as one book where things got real in a really dark way.

Some of Bray’s most popular works have come when co-writing with Matt Shaw. The two got a vibe going instantly and their writing turned out to be highly complimentary to each other. The first book they worked on together was ART which they managed to finish in less than two weeks. They also worked together on Monster which was eventually turned into a film by the two of them after a crowdfunding effort.

Michael set out to write his book From the Deep because he had the idea to write a modern version of the classic sea monster story. The story follows what would happen if a huge creature surfaced from the deep and how it would impact the modern world. He wasn’t trying to make a scientifically accurate depiction of a sea monster, but just tell a good fictional story for entertainment.

Bray has written many novels, but his favorite character is most likely Donovan from the first Whisper novel. When he set out to write that book he hadn’t plan for him to be any more than an incidental character, but as he wrote the character became so much more. He’s had a lot of fun toying with the character after than and partially based him on Gary Busey’s cop character in Deuce Bigalow.

Whisper is the first book in the Whisper Trilogy. The book sees a couple named Steve and Melody Samson looking to start a new life in a home away from the city. Their new home is a cottage deep in the Oakwell forest and it seems idyllic, but it has a dark and disturbing history, a history that has been hidden for generations by the locals. The truth is that there is evil in this house and the forest that surrounds it. Now, the evil has awakened after having been quiet for decades and it has plans for Steve and Melody. Once they hear the whispers, it is already too late.

From the Deep is the first book in a series of the same name. Something has woken up from a long slumber in the depths of the sea after an Antarctic ice quake. The beast is bigger than even the largest of whales and its presence will set off a chain of events that could prove to be catastrophic. A rookie fisherman named Henry Rainwater is trying to make a name for himself, but he has no idea what he’s in for when he sees this beast. The confrontation will kill his father and the rest of the crew, leaving him afraid of the creature. Making matters worse is that no one believes his story except for one man, an ambitious government scientist. However, that scientist proves to have an ulterior motive. Henry must overcome his terror and head out to sea in order to kill the creature before the government gets their hands on it.

Project Apex begins as an unprecedented attack plunges the world into chaos and threatens humanity. A former scientist named Richard Draven is tasked with figuring out how to restore order. The government is struggling with violence throughout the streets. This story begins a tale of survival and the strength of humanity as the world seeks to fight back from the man known only as Joshua who is the cause of all of this.

The Cody Rexell Saga begins with Cody Rexell and the Death Worm. The story begins in Montana in 1959 when an earthquake strikes and unleashes a giant flesh eating worm. The military is unable to fight against it and President Eisenhower is left looking for answers. Cody Rexell is a criminal and a former bounty hunter who has been locked away in Alcatraz as he’s been awaiting execution. The President offers him a deal to be let free if he can use his unique set of skills to destroy the worm. He has full authority to do whatever it takes to destroy the worm by any means necessary.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Michael Bray

Leave a Reply