Book Notification

Michael Chandos Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

West Texas Barbecue (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Stories from the World of Tomorrow(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Coffee(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aliens - The Truth is Coming(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cogs, Crowns, and Carriages(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark City Crime and Mystery Magazine: Volume 5, Issue 3(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fresh Starts(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
More Groovy Gumshoes: Private Eyes in the Psychedelic Sixties(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Michael Chandos is a science fiction and fantasy author best known for writing fantasy stories in a variety of collections and magazines both online and offline. Michael Chandos is a pen name that he uses for writing and he is yet to make his real name public. Much of what is known about the author has to do with the fact that he is a retired engineer that worked for the American military. For more than four decades, he was in intelligence, engineering, and space operations. His last post was at the Colorado Air Force Space Command. Apart from his fantasy stories, he has also published stories and novels on military history such as Psywar. His other works are chronicled in covert government documents that his fans will probably never see. He also works with independent films and sometimes does some volunteering with the Colorado Springs Police Department. He is very active in the writer community and is a member of the SinC, the RWA, and the MWA. At any one time, he will be working on at least two stories.

“Aliens: The Truth is Coming” is a science fiction collection written by several authors including Michael Chandos. The collection was intended to tell stories about aliens and it resulted in a variety of stories from different perspectives. These stories are anything from slow boilers, to action adventures and provoking pieces of pulp fiction. There are tales where the humans from Earth go to another planet where they are deemed aliens and in others, the aliens come to the Earth. Some stories are epic in nature, while some are written to focus on the individual. These are all well written and entertaining pieces which is a reflection of the editorial values of the publisher but also of the prowess of the many authors involved in writing the stories. While there are standout stories from the likes of Michael Chandos, it would be neglectful to mention just one story to the exclusion of the others. As such, the best description for this collection is that it is the bringing together of radically different stories and a great example of originality and diversity that makes some great reading.

“Cogs, Crowns, and Carriages” is a collection of short stories by a variety of authors including Michael Chandos. It is a steampunk collection full of imaginative stories that were edited by Crysta K. Coburn and Phoebe Darqueling. The novel gets its steampunk boots from the inclusion of marvelous steam-powered vehicles, mechanical body parts, and unusual machines and gadgets. While they are all steampunk, they come from different subgenres, which make for an enjoyable and diverse collection. The stories delve not only into realms of adventure, science fiction, psychological suspense, murder, mystery, and fantasy but will often questions aspects of morality and ethics and how to be human. They offer subtle and sometimes cheeky references to pop culture and alternative histories that makes for entertaining stories that often go against conventional stereotypes, particularly with regard to the characters who have peculiar attitudes.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Michael Chandos

Leave a Reply