Book Notification

Michael DiMercurio Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Anthony "Patch" Pacino Books

Publication Order of Michael Pacino Books

Voyage of the Devilfish (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Attack of the Seawolf (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Phoenix Sub Zero (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Barracuda: Final Bearing (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Piranha: Firing Point (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Threat Vector (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Terminal Run (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Peter Vornado Books

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Complete Idiot's Guide to Submarines (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

Michael DiMercurio is an author who writes fiction novels based on submarines. Michael DiMercurio was born on April 9, 1958 in Denver, Colorado. He is the son of Cyril, an executive and engineer, and Patricia Ruth DiMercurio. Michael DiMercurio has been married and divorced two times. He and his first wife, Theresa, have two children named Matthew and Marla. DiMercurio and his second wife, Patricia Quigley (a marketing representative) have one child named Meghan. DiMercurio graduated in 1980 with honors and a degree in mechanical engineering at the United States Naval Academy. He also graduated in 1981 with a Scholarship fellow at Massachusetts Institute of Technology with a his masters in mechanical engineering. DiMercurio served as an officer in the United States Navy in the attack submarine force. From 1982 to 1985 DiMercurio also served on the attack nuclear sub the USS Hammerhead as a communications officer, main propulsion assistant and electrical officer. At Annapolis in the Naval Systems Engineer Department, DiMercurio worked as an instructor. When he finished sea duty, DeMercurio acted as project manager in the civilian industry in construction and powerplant engineering.

Michael DiMercurio says he discovered his love for writing during the angst of his teenage years, and the only thing that helped was writing an extremely candid diary. In it he described misadventures at the Naval Academy, meeting and dating and being dumped by girls, flying in a fighter jet. As he wrote more he says he always imagined his second career would be an author.

Michael DiMercurio wrote the very successful Michael “Patch” Pacino series, which include books like Threat Vector, and Terminal Run. In Voyage of the Devilfish (Released in 1992), we met his main character, Michael “Patch” Pacino; a young navy officer in command of his first submarine who is forced to come to grips with the truth behind the death of his father while fighting a tough battle with a renegade Russian submarine beneath the Artic ice pack. Over the course of the following novels we got to watch Michael Pacino grow as an officer and a person, while keeping us on the edge of our seats!

The First book of DiMercurio’s second series, “Emergency Deep” Released in 2004, which the stars on the novel, Peter Vornado and Burke Kinnaird “B.K.” Dillinger, begin as shipmen who become very close friends while dealing with an abusive upper classman. The story continues with the two men and their rise to the top of the Navy submarine service as both officers set a high standard of leadership for our men and women in today’s military service.

Michael DiMercurio has been called “A master rivaling Tom Clancy.” by the Publishers Weekly. Michael DiMercurio’s real life experiences and brilliant mind have helped to create some of the best modern submarine fiction. DiMercurio’s says his writing is unique, as it comes from his real life experiences which include two brushes with death. One at 600 feet beneath the deep Atlantic ocean when he thought he would never see the surface again, and one flooding accident, which he says he’s “not afraid to admit that both times I hurried to change my boxers.” DiMercurio has said when you open the pages to his books, you will feel like you are really there on the submarine, wearing overalls, with the smell of sewage and ozone in the air, missing many nights of sleep all while facing an impossible mission during a time when all you can think about is what is going on with the kids at home until the flooding starts in engineroom lower level and all hell breaks loose and sonar reports a torpedo in the water and the firecontrol system shuts down and the lights go out and the surface and survival are seven hundred feet overhead and the ocean bottom is five miles beneath your sneakers. It’s a slice of how life really is, revolving around the men, the heroes, who may not have washboard abs but who fight the battles and die trying and do it all for $40 a week in hazardous duty pay. DiMercurio is a brilliant writer who says when finishing a book that he walks around completely absent. He says he’s not in the physical world, he’s inside the story.

Michael DiMerurio’s career also includes some odds and ends, such as at least eight articles he wrote in 2006 for the website Those articles include “The Hidden Meaning of 9/11”, “North Korean Nukes are Good” and “Give War a Chance”, to name a few. DiMercurio also used his experience with submarines to co-write the book “Complete Idiot’s Guide to Submarines” with fellow author Michael Benson. The book was released on February 4, 2003. Michael DiMerurio enjoys connecting to his fan base. He previously ran his own website, which you can still find the cached version, “”, where he would explain his books in depth, answer fan emails, tell fans of coming events and share a range of photos. One fan on his website had asked how long it typically takes him to write a book. DiMercurio replied saying his goal is less than a year but writing a novel can take up to three years. DiMercurio has a large, dedicated fan base, one of which runs a fan club that holds submarine related events and live chats with Michael DiMercurio. One of the things that separates DiMercurio from other authors is his openness and willingness to discuss submarine topics. DiMercurio was asked during an interview how would he describe his evolution as a writer, to which DiMercurio responded with “a deeper knowledge of people and what motivates them” in other words, he strived to give his fans what they wanted.

While none of DiMercurio’s books made it to the Hollywood big screen, There was some interest. DiMercurio said he was approaching it carefully since it could be a career wrecker. When asked which novel he would favor to become a Hollywood movie and which actor he would cast as Michael Pacino, DiMercurio responded he was use his novel Attack of Seawolf and George Clooney as Pacino. When DiMercurio was asked what authors inspired him he included Hemingway, Faulkner, Harold Robbins, Arthur Clarke, Isaac Azimov and Scott Turow. He also stated he’s been more influenced by authors he doesn’t like. He would read something and think “I could do a better job than this.”

Book Series In Order » Authors » Michael DiMercurio

3 Responses to “Michael DiMercurio”

  1. Kenneth Raymo: 2 years ago

    Love your books Mr. DiMercurio and have read many of them. while reading them I hated putting the books down and just wanted to continue turning the pagers. You really have a gift of inserting the reality of suspense and action on every page. As for a picking a favorite for a movie I would have to had a series of them all. Best Regards

  2. Philip cravens: 2 years ago

    Very high praise for your skill in writing
    About patch Pacino hope to see more
    In the future.
    Keep up the good work
    Naples fla

  3. Andre Patthey: 6 years ago

    Strongly interested by Navy stories, I find in Michael DiMercurio books a lot of technical and navy related informations as well as suspense. Far away from see an boats, I can travel in submarines by imagination.


Leave a Reply