Book Notification

Michael Grant Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Gone Books

Publication Order of Magnificent 12 Books

Publication Order of BZRK Books

Chronological Order of BZRK Books

Publication Order of Eve and Adam Books

with Katherine Applegate
Eve & Adam (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love Sucks and Then You Die (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Eve and Adam Books

with Katherine Applegate
Love Sucks and Then You Die(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eve & Adam(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Messenger Of Fear Books

Messenger of Fear (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Snake (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tattooed Heart (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Soldier Girl Books

Front Lines (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silver Stars (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Soldier Girls in Action (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead of Night (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Purple Hearts (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of David Mitre Books

A Sudden Death in Cyprus (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Artful Assassin in Amsterdam (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Animorphs Graphix Books

with Michael Grant, K.A. Applegate
The Invasion: A Graphic Novel (By: Michael Grant,K.A. Applegate) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Visitor: The Graphic Novel (By: Michael Grant,K.A. Applegate) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Encounter: The Graphic Novel (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Foretold: 14 Tales of Prophecy and Prediction(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Michael Grant:

In the 59 years since his birth on July 26, 1954, Author Michael Grant has written 150 books, many of which are co-authored with his wife, K. A. Applegate. Moving was a constant in Michael’s young life throughout his school age years. After being born in California into a military family, Michael was raised all over the United States and various places in Europe. All of these moves caused him to have to attend 10 different schools in five states just in America. While in Europe he attended three French schools, one in Italy and yet another in the Azores. After living in 14 different states and having nearly 50 places he has called home Michael currently resides in Tiburon, California, with his wife, their two children and way too many animals.

Why Write?

Grant, a self professed slow starter in the job arena, began writing for a couple of reasons. His wife, K.A. Applegate, told him it was time to get a career and start being a grown up. Since he was faced with the prospect of having to have a real, grown up job, Michael decided whatever that job was it must allow him the freedom to move about whenever he and his family chose to do so. Not being forced to stay in one place due to his job was why Michael chose writing. There have been a few breaks in work along the way but hard work and producing quite a few amazing series of books has definitely been the order of the day since he took the leap.

What to Write About and for Whom?

Having made the decision to make a career of writing, the next order of business was to decide who to write for and what would the subject matter be. Michael and his wife settled on young adult books about the supernatural. Probably because he knew he could have fun with these books and the types of emotions he hopes to elicit from his readers. In the past Michael had said he wrote the Gone series to creep his readers out. He has said the Magnificent 12 series was intended to make the reader laugh.

Most Well Known

After writing numerous less well known books Michael and his wife hit the national writing scene in a big way then they produced the Animorphs series. This series, co-authored with his wife, was wildly successful. After this success Michael took a break and then ventured into the writing world alone with the Gone series following that with the Magnificent 12 series.

Less Well Known

Michael and his wife, before the Animorphs series, co-wrote a few series like Making Out (Boyfriends/Girlfriends), Everworld and Remnants. By himself Michael has, occasionally, played around with writing in the political media arena, restaurant reviews and documentary films. According to the author none of these subject can hold his interest like his young adult supernatural series.

The Gone Series

Gone-While trying to navigate a strange new world protagonist, Sam Temple, who can now shoot green light beams from his hands, encounters many others that have also developed supernatural powers. While searching a nearby nuclear plant that exploded 15 years prior it is obvious there is some connection between the plant, the radiation it emits and the current situation. Meanwhile everyone one in their hometown of Perdido Beach and in the outlying area that is over the age of 15 has disappeared, where to, the characters don’t know. The teens and everyone else remaining are now surrounded by an energy barrier that cannot be crossed, the Fallout Alley Youth Zone (FAYZ). Down one of the town’s mine shafts now lives a creature named Darkness. Darkness helps Sam’s enemies in their battles for control and what is right. During their exploits the teens discover that as one turns 15 they are given something they very much desire and then they disappear. Sam and Caine, one of Sam’s many antagonists, turn 15 and although they disappear briefly they return and become the oldest people inside the FAYZ.

Hunger-After three month the battles for safety, control and understanding continue in Perdido Beach and the outlying areas. One group of students now attempts to gain control of the nuclear plant and the electricity. Their efforts backfire and electricity is lost completely. Meanwhile, more and more of the characters are being controlled on various levels by Darkness. Darkness is attempting to get a uranium rod in order to create an invincible body to live in. It is discovered that Darkness was created by the explosion at the nuclear plant 15 years before, and that the explosion is also the cause of the youth’s supernatural powers. By throwing the uranium rod, hitting Darkness in the chest and knocking him into the mine shaft the teens are able to collapse the mine onto itself. One of the characters digs another hole, gets thrown in and drags Darkness down to the edge of the FAYZ.

Books into Movies

In December 2011 Michael announced that he had closed a deal to make the BZRK series into a movie(s) but the Gone series had been passed over. He posted on his Facebook account that he had gotten a movie deal for the BRZK series and that was a good thing, but a deal for the GONE series could not be reached and that was a bad thing. There were reports as recently as 2012 that the Gone series was going to be made into a movie or series of movies, possibly by the producers of the Hunger Games series, but so far nothing has been produced. As far as any of the other books being made into movies Michael states on his website that the chances of a Magnificent 12 movie are greater than the chances of a Gone movie.

Man of Humor

Michael’s webpage is a great example of his sense of humor. His advice on being an author is both funny and informative. He believes in living life. The good, bad and in between are all valuable for a writer. He writes about having dark moments hanging onto those moments deep in one’s mind in order to draw on them later when the need arises.

A Life of Writing

Throughout his life as a very prolific writer he has learned to use his life experiences, humor, both with himself and life, and slightly dark side to make series after series of extremely successful books that teens and adults alike continue to enjoy.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Michael Grant

Leave a Reply