Book Notification

Michael Hicks Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of In Her Name Books

Publication Order of In Her Name: Redemption Books

Publication Order of In Her Name: The First Empress Books

From Chaos Born (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forged in Flame (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mistress Of The Ages (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of In Her Name: The Last War Books

Publication Order of Harvest Trilogy Books

Season Of The Harvest (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bitter Harvest (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reaping the Harvest (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Black Gate (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vulcan's Fury (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ruins: Humanity’s Ending (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Journal of Avery Moore (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publish Your Book On The Amazon Kindle (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Path To Self-Publishing Success (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Straight from the Heart (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Michael Hicks is an American author that writes science fiction novels. Best known for the ‘In Her Name’ series, Hicks watched Star Trek on television as a child. Little did he know that he would grow up to replicate some of his favorite television shows using the written word.


Michael Hicks was born in 1963. He grew up consuming science fiction. As a teenager, the author had already acquired a taste for names like Asimov, Niven, Heinlein, and Pournelle.

When Hicks wasn’t reading science fiction, he was watching it on television. He saw all the classic television shows and movies of the time, from Star Trek to Land of the Giants and Project UFO.

That strong science fiction foundation informed many of the decisions Hicks made later in life. Hicks spent so much time consuming science fiction that he eventually felt the temptation to tell his own stories set in his favorite genre. It began with just a few scribbles in high school.

Michael Hicks’ first book was ‘In Her Name’ and it was completed in 1994. Hicks began jotting down ideas for that particular book in high school. Back then, the author had no idea just how expansive his ideas would get. And he had no reason to assume so.

After all, as proud as the author was of ‘In Her name’, Hicks couldn’t find a single publisher willing to give it a shot. And the manuscript ended up sitting on his desk for a long time.

Opportunity struck in 2007. Traditional publishers were no more interested in giving Hicks a chance in the mid-2000s than they were in 1996. However, the author did not need them anymore.

Rather, he stumbled upon the Amazon Kindle Publishing Platform and realized that he could just as easily get his book to the market on his own. According to Hicks, he decided to give KDP a chance because he had nothing to lose.

He had more or less given up on the idea of becoming a widely renowned author. However, he was also determined to not die until he had added ‘Published Author’ to his resume.

So Hicks went back to his manuscript. He poured over the one thousand pages he had written back in the 1990s. This time he had a computer so it made the editing process a little easier.

The editing process consumed roughly six months of the author’s time. By 2008, Hicks was ready. He published his book on Amazon and then he moved on. Not many authors can say that they did not care whether or not they sold a single copy of their first book.

However, Michael Hicks was simply happy knowing that the words he had written were out in the world where others could finally consume them.

Hicks did sell a few copies of the book. He sold three books in the first month. And then as the months passed, the sales figures rose. People were starting to discover Hicks. More importantly, they were starting to reach out to him and some even wanted him to write more books.

Suddenly Hicks wasn’t ready to forget his publishing dreams. Suddenly he was back at his table tapping away at the keyboard in his spare time and cranking out new stories.

The author’s big break came in 2011. He published ‘Season of the Harvest’ and it sold so many copies that Michael Hicks quit his government job and started writing fulltime. Of course, some of Hicks’ fans will be shocked to learn that he eventually went back to his day job.

For six years, the author was living the life many aspiring writers dream of. He was making plenty of money and he got to spend his days and nights writing. And readers loved him.

Hicks went back to formal employment not because he was desperate but because fulltime writing is a lonely pursuit. The author had spent most of his adult life working as part of a dynamic team. So he quickly grew weary of the solitary life of an author.

Hicks also found that as a full-time writer, he spent so much time worrying about the sales of his books that it affected his writing process. His obsession with writing stories that would sell meant that he was no longer enjoying the writing process.

So Hicks went back to his day job certain that, by making sure he had a guaranteed paycheck at the end of every month, he could let his creative process unfold organically.

+First Contact

Aurora is a survey ship from earth. The ship’s crew thinks their fortunes are rising when they encounter two habitable planets. What could be a rollicking adventure takes a turn for the worst when Aurora is assaulted by massive alien worships.

Not only do the warships disable Aurora but they are soon boarded by female creatures with fangs that engage the crew in single combat and kill all but one human. This survivor is sent back to earth with a device counting down to an attack.

First Contact is a prequel to the ‘In Her Name: Empire’ series. In the empire books, the humans are engaged in a conflict against an alien race known as the Kreelans. First Contact takes readers back to the day the humans first made contact with the Kreelans.

The book looks at the structural organization of the Kreelans. It also attempts to provide some insight into their motivations as they unleash hell upon humanity.

+Season of The Harvest

Jack Dawson is an FBI agent hot on the trail of a group of eco-terrorists. Jack believes this same group conspired to have his best friend and fellow agent gruesomely murdered.

Now Naomi Perrault, their leader, and a beautiful geneticist is claiming that an international conglomerate is genetically engineering crops with the intention of bringing humanity to the brink of extinction.

Jack doesn’t know what to believe. He is all but certain that Naomi was involved in his friend’s murder. And in pursuing the investigation, the FBI agent is thrust into the thick of an explosive conspiracy.

Season of the Harvest is the first book in the Harvest Trilogy. The book follows the exploits of an FBI Agent and an Eco-Terrorist who must stop a decades-old conspiracy to destroy the world.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Michael Hicks

Leave a Reply