Michael Koryta / Scott Carson Books In Order

Publication Order of Lincoln Perry Books

Tonight I Said Goodbye (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sorrow's Anthem (2006) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Welcome Grave (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Silent Hour (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Markus Novak Books

Last Words (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Rise the Dark (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Last Honest Horse Thief (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Envy the Night (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
So Cold the River (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Cypress House (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Ridge (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Prophet (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Those Who Wish Me Dead (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
How It Happened (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
If She Wakes (2019) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Michael Koryta has always been considered quite the serious individual; struck by the writing bug and a love of books quite early he was already corresponding with his favorite authors by age 8.

His love for books continued to grow rather rapidly, culminating in a decision to pursue writing as a career by the age of 16. One could conclude that the decisions he made in later years, especially working as an intern under a private investigator, all worked to drive him towards his eventual goal, Koryta currently enjoying fame as one of the better known crime novelists of the new millennium.


Michael Koryta grew up in Bloomington in Indiana. He acquired his degree in criminal justice from Indiana University. Michael didn’t venture into the writing world instantly.

Rather he first dabbled with private investigation, eventually making the leap to Newspaper reporter, even enjoying a teaching position at Indiana University School of Journalism. His time at the Herald Times in Bloomington, Indiana was interspersed with great success, Koryta winning various journalism awards and boasting the title of youngest reporter to ever win First Place for Non-Deadline Reporting.

The Society of professional journalists was also happy to award him First Place for Environmental Reporting.

Currently Michael splits his time between St. Petersburg in Florida and his childhood home of Bloomington. Michael is happily married to his wife. They have two dogs and a cat.

The esteemed author was named distinguished alumni by the criminal justice department in 2010. Beyond writing Michael Koryta has been known to seek the wild, enjoying hiking and camping.

Writing Career

As a bestselling New York Times author; his repertoire boasts nine novels. Where other writers can brag about their numerous accolades and awards, Michael Koryta’s true star shines brightest in the eyes of his peers, those esteemed authors that have shown him greater recognition than most other writers could ever hope to receive.

Michael Koryta’s books can boast of praise from great names such as Dean Koontz, Daniel Woodrell, Scott Smith, Dennis Lehane, and the king of horror himself, Stephen King.

Beyond these particular these commendations from some of his heroes though, Koryta isn’t without accolades, having gained nominations for awards such as the Shamus Award, Los Angeles Times Book Prize, Barry award, International Writers Award and the Quill Award to mention but a few.

His novels are also accessible in an impressive 20 languages from different parts of the world.

Michael Koryta has written series- his most famous starting with ‘So Cold the River’ and ending with ‘The Ridge’- as well as standalone stories in novels such as The Prophet.

Along with titles like The Silent Hour, Koryta’s work has largely garnered critical acclaim, dominating many a bestselling list. While progressing successfully as a crime novelist, Michael has also dabbled in supernatural fiction.

+Film Adaptations

Michael Koryta can’t quite claim to have made the great leap from the written word to the screen, be it TV or Cinema. That being said the author is far from out of lack in this field.

He may see cinema success in the not so distant future, with novels such as The Cypress House, The Prophet and So Cold the River having been optioned for films.

More recent news made mention of The Ridge, another of Michael Koryta’s works, coming soon to television.

Tonight I said Goodbye

Published in 2004, this is the first book in the Lincoln Perry series, one of Koryta’s most successful books to date. The series begins with a murder in an upscale Cleveland suburban home.

Wayne Weston, an investigator, is found dead and his wife and six year old daughter missing. A former marine, the popular assumption is that Weston murdered his family.

Unwilling to believe the narrative, his father seeks the assistance of Private investigators Lincoln Perry and Joe Pritchard. Approaching the case as another murder, the PIs stumble upon numerous secrets lying beneath the surface, the rumors of extortion and gambling debts paling in comparison to the involvement of baseball bat wielding Russian mobsters.

Perry and Pritchard however push forth; yet even as they begin to make progress, to pierce through the mystery, they are hindered by the FBI as well as a millionaire real estate tycoon.

When all seems to be falling into place, another murder occurs and a new twists sends them down a different deadlier direction, a shocking secret awaiting them at the end of it all.

The first novel in the series is surprisingly well paced, utilizing various tools to subtly unravel the main characters and their personalities. Few mysteries are as tangled as this, quickly branching out from a simple murder down various paths but without ever getting too convoluted to make sense.

From the mob to police corruption, murder and a child, this novel introduces a unique pairing of protagonists within a ragged world, telling quite the bloody yet scintillating mystery.

Sorrow’s Anthem

The second book in the Lincoln Perry Series was released in 2006. It introduces Ed Gadduck who narrates a story to Lincoln Perry, private investigator and his best friend.

Ed finds himself on the run from the police for murder and arson; he perishes in a final violent confrontation with the law. Lincoln finds that he cannot shake his friend’s death. So he puts his mind to the task and attempts to unravel the mystery.

Lincoln Perry in his second outing is quite engaging along with his deeply detailed surroundings. The plot is complicated without getting too tangled, just enough to weave an entertaining tale throughout the novel’s run.

The key is the many connections that are revealed along the way; Lincoln Perry’s world quickly expands and changes occur to the characters and their surroundings that are easy to appreciate.

The novel isn’t perfect; and it has been said that the story somewhat slowed near the end. However Michael Korya maintains an impressive level of quality in his clever writing, quickly setting himself apart as a crime novelist of the ages.

Sorrow’s Anthem is more than commendable for many a reading fanatics that simply cannot get enough of mystery plots, this making for a grand and entertaining read.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Michael Koryta / Scott Carson