Book Notification

Michael Kun Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Thousand Benjamins (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Locklear Letters (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Wife and My Dead Wife (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Poor Monster (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Everybody Says Hello (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Are Still Tornadoes (With: Susan Mullen) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Allergic Boy Versus the Left-Handed Girl (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Corrections to My Memoirs (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Baseball Uncyclopedia (With: Howard Bloom) (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Football Uncyclopedia (With: Adam Hoff) (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Movie Uncyclopedia (With: Lou Harry,Eric Feinstein,Theresa Hoiles) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Chewing the Page: The Mourning Goats Interviews(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Michael Kun is one of the popular writers from America, who likes to write his novels based on the literature & fiction, short stories, and sports genres. He has written many successful standalone novels in his writing career. Author Kun was born on November 28, 1962, in Hempstead, New York, The United States. He was born to his parents named Beatrice and Richard Kun. Before the start of his successful writing career, author Kun completed his graduation from the University of John Hopkins as well as from the Virginia University’s Law School. The first book written by author Kun is titled as ‘A Thousand Benjamins’. It was released in 1990 by the Atlantic Press publishers. Author Kun received some acclaim and praise for the novel. But, his employers expected him to come up with more interesting novels. On the contrary, he decided to leave the literary world, much to the surprise of many others. He was in fact gone for a period of 13 years.

The disappearance of author Kun from the world of books and novels led to the spread of the rumors relating to his death. However, he joined back again in the year 2003 and published the second novel of his writing career. It was titled as ‘The Locklear Letters’. In the same year, he successfully signed a 3 book contract with the publishers at MacAdam Cage. It was a one of its kind contract in the history of MacAdam Cage. Subsequently, author Kun wrote and published the three books between the years 2004 and 2007. All of these books were enormously successful. Due to this, author Kun was not only satisfied with his work, but was also successful in meeting the expectations of the publishers. The most recent novel written by him was published in the year 2012. It was titled as ‘Everybody Says Hello’. Other than his independent works, author Kun has also co-authored a non-fiction book based on the game of baseball. The book, which was successfully released in the year 2006, is called as ‘The Baseball Encyclopedia’ He has even co-authored a novel based on football. A number of short stories written by author Kun have featured in various popular literary magazines such as the Atlanta Magazine, Fiction, Story Quarterly, Urbanite, Indy Men’s Magazine, Cottonwood, Other Voices, as well as a few others. Currently, author Kun lives in his house located in Los Angeles, California, and works on his novels from his home. His family comprises of his beloved wife named Amy and their beautiful daughter named Paige. Whenever author Kun is not involved in writing novels or short stories, he spends practicing law as he holds a graduate law degree. Kun is profiled in the alumni magazine of the John Hopkins University. Author Kun appears to be very particular about his health and well being. He puts a lot of thoughts in whatever he does related to his health. As a result, he feels proud in saying that he did not have cavity ever in his life. Also, he does not seem to be fond of piercings and tattoos and therefore, he does not have any of them anywhere on his body. Author Kun says that he considers himself very fortunate to have become a novelist and explore his imagination. The success of his books also gave him the motivation to continue as an author.

An earlier book written by author Michael Kun is titled as ‘We Are Still Tornadoes’. This book is about to be released in the year 2016 by the St. Martin’s publishers. The story of the novel revolves around the life of the two main characters named Cath and Scott. In the starting sequence, it is shown that the two of them grow up together across the street from one another. They have always been the best of friends all their life. Cath would usually help Scott in completing his homeworks of English and Scott would help make some mixtapes for her. They even get indulged in small fights with each other, but they tend to forget about them over cookies and TV. But after the completion of their high school graduation, Cath goes on to join the college, while Scott remains at home to pursue his musical dream. During the first year that they remain separated, Cath and Scott talk to each other through letters. In the letters, they help themselves to understand about annoying roommates, heartache, family drama, as well as the pressure of figuring out what they will do in their future life. And while going through all this, they realize that the other one is the only person with whom they want to be with. They begin to think that they have grown into more than just friends. Both Scott and Cath understand that change is a permanent part of life, and friends are the one who help each other to navigate through it by sharing an unbreakable bond. Author Kun has beautifully described the emotional intensity and confusion of first love that people generally tend to find while reaching adulthood.

Another successful book written by author Michael Kun was released under the title ‘You Poor Master’. This book was published in 2005 by the MacAdam Cage publication. The beginning part of the novel shows that a young lawyer from Baltimore gets thrown into the ugly proceeding of a divorce case. He finds himself becoming a good friend of his client named Sam Shoogey. Sam is introduced by author Kun as a generous and charming person. He is an old war hero, a professional boxer, a novelist, as well as a football star of his college. But, as the novel progresses, the readers get to know more about the fun and sweet tales of Sam Shoogey. Due to this, the narrator seems to get drawn closer to Sam. The plot of the book asks the question whether a lie remains a lie if people come to know that is is not true. Author Kun has once again used his extraordinary writing skills to play with the function and the form of the English language. This helped him to describe a truly captivating story with the combination of tragedy and humor. A number of readers felt swept up in the fantastical elements of the characters shown in the novel. It allowed the novel to become extremely successful as well as helping author Kun to increase his popularity as an author.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Michael Kun

Leave a Reply