Book Notification

Michael Malone Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Savile and Mangum Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Delectable Mountains, Or, Entertaining Strangers (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dingley Falls (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Handling Sin (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Foolscap (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Noel (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Killing Club (With: Marcie Walsh) (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Four Corners of the Sky (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Red Clay, Blue Cadillac (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Psychetypes: A New Way Of Exploring Personality (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heroes of Eros: Male Sexuality in the Movies (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Growing Up in the South(1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder For Love(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best American Mystery Stories 1997(1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tar Heel Dead(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twenty-Seven Views of Hillsborough(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Michael Malone was an award winning writer of short stories and a critically acclaimed novelist from America, who was popular for writing mystery, crime fiction, and thriller novels. He was also a popular writer of television shows.

He passed in 2022.

Author Malone was particularly well known for his contribution to the drama called One Life to Live and penning the bestselling works, Foolscap, First Lady, and Handling Sin. After successfully writing three books in his Justin and Cuddy mystery series, Malone is now working towards the development of a new standalone novel in his career. Author Malone was born and brought up in Durham, North Carolina. He completed his graduation from the North Carolina University and later from the Harvard University. Along with being a well known novelist, Malone is also a Theater Studies professor. He is currently employed at the Duke University. The writing career of Malone is comprised of around 10 full length books, a short story collection, as well as a couple of nonfiction works. His writing career brought some very good returns as he was highly appreciated and liked by the readers and the critics. Malone also won some very prestigious awards over the years of his career. Some of the most prominent prizes include the Emmy, the Henry, the Edgar, and the Writers’ Guild Awards. As of today, author Malone resides in Hillsborough, North Carolina, along with his lovely supportive wife named Maureen Quilligan. Maureen is also employed in the Duke University as an English professor.

For his stint in writing the script of first soap opera, author Malone received a great success. He was hired to work as the head writer of the serial by Linda Gottileb and remained with the team between 1991 and 1996. During this period, author Malone garnered a lot of acclaim for the storylines. One of his storylines included a story that involved a deep bond between a preacher and an ostracized & homosexual teenager. Author Malone also received critical acclaim for creating the character of the villain & rapist Todd Manning as well as Marty Saybrooke’s gang rape scene by Todd’s character. Malone even penned the rape trial in an interesting way. Till the time Malone was associated with the serial, it used to garner five million viewers on an average. The next writing job of author Malone was with the soap opera titled Another World. Later, Malone was called back by Linda Gottileb to write for the previous show once again. Malone worked for the show for the second from 2003 to 2004. During this time, he also finished writing his debut novel, The Killing Club. This book was published in 2005 and went on to reach the #16 spot on the bestseller list of the New York Times. For several months, the viewers of the show watched the book as being written by Marcie Walsh’s character named Kathy Brier. When the book came out in 2005, both Malone and Walsh were listed as authors. Marcie explained this by saying that she took her book to Professor Malone at the Llanview University for reviewing and he helped to re-write the book. When Malone departed from the serial, Dena Higley took over and created a storyline where a copycat murderer kills the characters, just like it was mentioned in the book. Author Malone is an ex-board member and supporter of ‘Burwell School Historic Site’. Malone has set the plots of a number of his stories in the Piedmont region of NC, where he lives even today.

The Justic and Cuddy series written by Michael Malone is comprised of a total of 3 books, which were released between the years 1983 and 2001. Each of the books of this series features the lead characters in the form of the team of police detectives Cuddy Mangum and Justic Savile, who live and work in a little town of Piedmont in Hillston, North Carolina. The debut book of this mystery series is entitled ‘Uncivil Seasons’. It was released by the Constable & Robinson publication in the year 1983. Author Malone has set the story in Hillston, North Carolina, United States. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Piedmont is a polite town and its residents believe that they do not require the services of homicide experts. However, things take a shocking turn after the discovery of the beaten up dead body of a state senator’s wife. The ruling families of Hillston become so shocked that they decide to appoint Detective Justin Savile to investigate the murder. The charming detective comes from the same dynasty that had founded the polite town. As soon as he is assigned the case, Justin sets out to find the killer and reveal the shocking secrets hidden in the past of Hillston. He is assisted by a working class, wisecracking partner named Cuddy Mangum. Another young woman from the mountains of Carolina helps Justin Savile in solving the case. The love and strength of this woman rescue Justin from dangerous situations on many occasions. The obsessive pursuit of the killer by the detectives brings them closer to their own deaths, but they manage to take control of the things and hunt down the murder before he could take the life of another innocent victim. The book is filled with striking humor and is rich with a variety of characters. Author Malone seems to have created a landscape that struggles the high tech lifestyles of the new South and the inherited codes of the Old South.

Another mind blowing book of this series is called ‘First Lady’. It was published in 2001 by the Sourcebooks Landmark publication. At the beginning of the story of this book, it is depicted the dead body of a woman is found. After murdering the victim, the murderer has mutilated the body and has tagged it to the address of Police Chief Cuddy Mangum and Lieutenant Justin Savile. When the news of this new killer and his unique way of killing and tagging the bodies to the police detectives reaches the media, they label him as the Guess Who Murderer. The mayor and the media begin to demand answers from the police, while the entire city lives in a state of fear. When Mangum and Savile begin the investigation, they fail to find any leads. To make matters for them, they get stalked and taunted wherever they go. But, they do not lose hope and continue to work out a way to get to the killer and hunt him down. Once again, author Malone has developed the plot in an intriguing manner. It tends to keep the readers interested until the last page. The critics believe that author Malone has done an incredible job by writing the novel with literary substance and style. The book gained a tremendous success throughout the world and helped author Malone become even more successful and popular as an author.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Michael Malone

Leave a Reply