Book Notification

Michael Northrop Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of TombQuest Books

Book of the Dead (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Amulet Keepers (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Valley of Kings (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stone Warriors (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Final Kingdom (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

Teen Titans Go!: Undead?! (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Young Alfred: Pain in the Butler (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DC Zoom Books

Dear Justice League (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Canary: Ignite (By: Meg Cabot) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Diana: Princess of the Amazons (By: Shannon Hale,Dean Hale) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dear DC Super-Villains (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Don’t Turn Out the Lights(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Michael Northrop is an American author best known for writing the multi-platform adventure series TombQuest. The series began with book one, The Book of the Dead, and then continues with Amulet Keepers. The first book spent three weeks on the New York Times Bestseller list. The Book of the Dead was also named as one of the best children’s books of the year by the Los Angeles Public Library.

Northrop is also the author of three young adult novels: Gentlemen released in 2009, Trapped in 2011, and then Rotten in 2013. The book Gentlemen earned a Publishers Weekly Flying Start citation. While Rotten was named as one of the Bank Street College of Education’s Best Books of the Year. While his middle grade novel, Plunked, was named one of the best children’s books of the year by both the New York Public Library and Bank Street. His books combined have sold over a million copies.

Michael is originally from a small town called Salisbury, Connecticut that is located in the foothills of the Berkshire mountains. He would later move to New York where he attended NYU for college. He still lives in New York and has spent time working for The World Almanac and Sports Illustrated Kids, where he was a senior editor for eight years. He has written for multiple publications as well with his work appearing in Sports Illustrated, Sports Illustrated Kids, People Online, The New York Times Upfront, Notre Dame Review, McSweeney’s, Weird Tales, and more. In addition to his work as a writer, Northrop has also moonlighted in stand-up comedy and even has earned a black belt.

Tombquest starts with Book of the Dead. The story involves a boy named Alex Sennefer who the doctors are saying will die and there is nothing than can be done to save his life. However, his mother knows differently. She knows that the Lost Spells of the Egyptian Book of the Dead can crack open a door to the afterlife and pull her son back from certain death. So that’s exactly what she does to save her son and uses the spells. However, when she uses the spells to save her son she also releases five evil ancients known as the Death Walkers who are brought back to life.

Now an ancient evil has been unleashed with mummies awakening and scorpions in New York. Alex’s mom has disappeared along with the book of Lost Spells, and it’s up to Alex and his best friend, Ren, to find her and save the world. To do so, Alex will need to go head-to-head with a Death Walker who has been plotting his revenge for 3,000 years.

The second book in the TombQuest series sees Alex and Ren head to London where a Death Walker is threatening to destroy the city. The city is in shambles as people are people are going missing, treasures are disappearing, and a blood rain is pouring from the skies. The two will have to work fast in order to stop the Death Walker before he gets too powerful.

Northrop is also the author of Trapped. The book tells the story of seven kids waiting at their high school to get picked up, but no one is coming. The blizzard has started and it is too intense to get through. Scott, Pete, Jason, and the rest of the kids are stuck at the school until the snow stops and that is unlikely to happen for a week. At first it seems like a ton of fun to sleep at the school, especially with pretty girls like Krista and Julie sleeping down the hall, but when the power and then the heat go out – things get desperate for the kids. The pipes have frozen and the roof shudders, the halls grow darker and colder, and the kids are forced to make some devastating decisions in their quest to stay alive.

Plunked is Northrop using his sports background to write the story of a sixth grade slugger named Jack Mogens. The boy has it all figured out as he is getting better at his batting routine and he’s a solid outfielder on defense. His play earns him a starting spot on the Little League team alongside his best friend Andy. Things are going well for Jack when he manages to have a conversation with the team’s shortstop, Katie. Everything is going Jack’s way heading into the first game of the season, but then it all comes crashing down. A powerful pitch sends Jack, and his world, crashing down. He’s taken out of the game and it seems questionable if he’ll be able to make it back. Jack will need to find the courage to step back up to the plate in this inspiring story.

Rotten is Northrop’s story of the unlikely friendship between a troubled teen and a rescue dog. Jimmer Dobbs has spent the summer “upstate” and now returns home. No one believes the story he is telling about visiting his aunt up there and instead suspects that JD is hiding something because he is. While he was gone, his mom made a new friend: a rescued Rottweiler. JD and the dog are both tough with scars from their past and they have to slowly learn to trust each other. JD decides to call him Johnny Rotten, after the Sex Pistols singer, and the two form a strong bond. All that work is threatened when Johnny’s powerful jaws snap at one of JD’s friends. As his secrets are threatening to come out, JD finds he is much more concerned about something else: saving his dog.

The middle grade book, Polaris is another popular seller for Northrop. The book tells the story of the proud sailing ship Polaris that is on a mission to explore new lands. That doesn’t last long when half the landing party fails to return from the Amazon jungle and the tensions lead to a bloody mutiny. All the adults abandon ship leaving a cabin boy, a botanist’s assistant, and a handful of deckhands — none of them older than twelve. The young sailors are desperate to steer the vessel to safety, but soon realize that someone – or something – is on board with them.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Michael Northrop

Leave a Reply