Book Notification

Michael O’Brien Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Children of the Last Days Books

Father Elijah (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Strangers and Sojourners (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eclipse of the Sun (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Plague Journal (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cry of Stone (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sophia House (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Elijah in Jerusalem (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Island of the World (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Theophilos (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Father's Tale (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Voyage to Alpha Centauri (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fool of New York City (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lighthouse (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sabbatical (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
By the Rivers of Babylon (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Small Angel (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Landscape With Dragons (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Harry Potter and the Paganization of Culture (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Apocalypse (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Family & the New Totalitarianism (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Waiting Stories for Advent (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Awakening Imagination (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Art and Sacrificial Love (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Michael O’Brien is a Canadian author of literature, fiction, children, religion & spirituality author. Michael was born and raised in Ontario Canada had no academic background and chose to be a self-taught individual for writing and his artistic work. He is identified as an exceptional painter with almost all his books having his paintings which are also highly valued. Michael D. O’Brien resides in Combermere, Ontario, Canada.

The author’s publications include fiction books the most outstanding one being The Children of the Last Days Series. He also has done none fiction books and children literature. Michael’s books have been published in several languages including Spanish, Croatian, French, Italian, and Lithuanian.

Father Elijah

Father Elijah introduces the Children of The Last Days Series. The thrilling novel focuses on the apocalyptic time and more so the Roman Catholic Church. Using his central character, father Elijah Schafer, he explores the condition of both the modern world and the church during this late period showcasing the strengths and weaknesses that characterize the era.

Father Elijah Schafer is a Carmelite priest who has converted into Catholicism and changes his name from David Schafer after surviving the Jewish holocaust. He takes over a secret mission from the pope, Joseph Ratzinger in which he is supported to confront and bring to repentance the antichrist with the aim of postponing the great tribulation. Elijah has turned and lived a prayerful life after surviving the brutality of the Holocaust, and while living in a monastery near Jerusalem, he is called in by the pope on a sensitive mission. The president of Europe is thought to be the antichrist, and as the church fears the effects of the tribulation period, they have to stop him, and Elijah takes over the task.

This is not an easy task for Elijah since it tends to make him question God on the matter of evil and good and also on what is the truth. On the inside, he is also suffering from his past which has wounds of brutality and suffering adding to the weight in his life. Through the story, the author is able to reflect on the issue of the human soul, its journey and the quest for God.

One thing that Michael does in this book perfectly is relating the end times series described in the book of revelations in the story making evil, God’s plan and man’s quest quite realistic. It’s a very compelling book focusing considerably on philosophy, theology and the Catholic doctrine. There is an excellent choice of characters and events by the author.

Strangers and Sojourners

Strangers and Sojourners is the second piece in The Children of The Last Days Series. An epic novel traces the lives of generations of a family starting from the year 1900 to the final days of the Millennium.

Anne, an educated English woman, flees to the British Columbia away from her spiritualist and Fabian family in search for adventure after the end of world war one. In British Columbia, she is married to an Irish immigrant who is struggling with his troubled past. At first, she struggles with the thought of having Stephen in her life as she fears that it could come between her and her plans and purpose with life but finally gives in and they marry. Stephen introduces her to Christianity under the roman catholic. She is not okay with the idea as deep inside her, there is a battle against this from happening, but her heart yearns for a more profound thing, and she strives on to understand more of this new faith.

Michael portrays a lot on marriage and the stages of marriage bringing in the issues of infatuation at early years and the acceptance which settles at old age. It is a perfect reflection of family, love, and quest for a deeper understanding of a higher power and faith. These issues are perfectly brought out as the author jangles the present for the characters with their past in a comparative manner. O’ Brien outlines marriage and family life as it is and the changes it has gone through over time.

O’ Brien creates a slow pace allowing the reader to grasp a lot from the lives of his characters. He has a tremendous insight into the human nature seen the way he describes the characters through the search for faith through a challenging life. It is an incredible insight portrait of life in the quest for God.

Eclipse Of The Sun

The third book in the children of the last days series is the Eclipse of The Sun. The author draws a family that is thrown into a crisis with the totalitarian government of the day. Set in North America near future, the book portrays a society that has been affected by propaganda, disinformation, and confusion with only a few being in a position to recognize this state of affairs.

Undermining of morals and standards of the western world’s culture has blinded most people from seeing the dilapidated state that their state is in giving space for the rise of evil in the society led by the Rotarian government. However, the Delaney family are awake, and they try to educate the people through the place. However, things go south when the editor who is a father of the family is arrested for daring to speak the truth. This scatters the family dwindling the hope that was there towards a liberation. The family is scattered with others going to the forests to avoid being arrested like their father.
The author expresses deep concern on tyranny in this area and which is a reflection of what is happening and has happened in the past. Eclipse of the sun explores the history, present, and part of the society making it easy to gauge matters and the fight that exists between the good and the bad, weak and the powerful and the triumph of love.

Michael O’Brien is incredible when it comes to penetrating deep into the spiritual secrets and truths which bring out the nature of a person. It is a piece that throws the reader into a challenge to judge the present and the past and gauge the sense of direction they are taking for tomorrow. He showcases the importance of crucial people in society who are often overlooked.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Michael O’Brien

One Response to “Michael O’Brien”

  1. DEANNA BINTNER: 8 months ago



Leave a Reply