Book Notification

Michael R. Underwood Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ree Reyes Books

Publication Order of Shield and Crocus Books

Shield and Crocus (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Younger Gods Books

The Younger Gods (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Genrenauts Books

The Shootout Solution (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Absconded Ambassador (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
There Will Always Be a Max (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cupid Reconciliation (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Substitute Sleuth (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Failed Fellowship (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Data Disruption (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Space Operas Books

Annihilation Aria (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Born to the Blade Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Fantasy Scroll Magazine Issue #9(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon Collection: Season 1(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Upside Down: Inverted Tropes in Storytelling(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hath No Fury(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Michael R. Underwood is one of the famous authors of America who has written a few successful novels and short novellas based on the speculative fiction and urban fantasy genre. He is particularly well known for writing down the novels of the Ree Reyes fantasy series. Michael was born in Bloomington, Indiana, United States. His parents had met through the musical theater and also encouraged him to make a career in the same field. Because of the love and support of his parents, Michael was a good performer right from his birth. He was very impressed by watching one of the Star War movies before even he was one year old. Since then, he had developed a great liking for the mythic stories and speculative fiction. Throughout his growing years, Michael had to live in a number of places like New York, Indiana, Texas, New Jersey, Maryland, and Oregon. He did not like changing residences at all but had to follow the orders of his parents. Michael grew up listening to stories in all kinds, from video games to comics, movies, tabletop RPGs, and books. Eventually, he went on to earn his Bachelor of Arts degree in the subjects of East Asian Studies and Creative Mythology from the University of Indiana. After that, he obtained a Master of Arts degree from the Oregon University in the subject of Folklore Studies. As a teenager, Michael used to indulge frequently with the gamers of the Game Preserve located in Bloomington, Indiana and played each and every CCG that was known at that time. Also, he use to play certain miniature games and RPGs a lot. He has said in a number of interviews that he got the primary inspiration for writing down the novels of the Ree Reyes series from his vast experience at the Game Preserve.

As far as his initial days as a writer is concerned, Michael ha very well followed the tradition of struggling writers as it is seen everywhere. He has worked in a variety of odd jobs before becoming a full time author. Starting from being a retail mascot to being a web design instructor. He has even worked as a student archivist, a cashwrap monkey for a hobby game store, submissions reader for a magazine of fantasy genre, an essayist, a bookseller, a webmaster, a publishers’ representative, and a bear builder. Even after becoming a successful author today, Michael R. Underwood works as a Sales and Marketing Manager for a North American based company called Angry Robot Books. In the year 2003, Michael participated in a sea program that allowed him to travel to a number of places in the world through a ship. Among the countries he visited include China, India, Japan, South Africa, Thailand, Cuba, Vietnam, Tanzania, Cambodia, and Brazil. He says that the experience of visiting these countries allowed him to study their culture very closely. As of today, author Michael R. Underwood lives in Baltimore along with his wife and a few pet animals. He has maintained a large library comprising of all his favorite books. In his spare time, he likes to prepare pizzas and study historical martial arts. In the past years, Michael has performed Argentine Tango with a tango band and has been an active member of the Creative Anachronism Society. He gives the credit of his unique style of writing urban fantasy and speculative fiction novels to the influences that he got from the successful works of the prominent authors like Ursula K. LeGuin, Ray Bradbury, Alan Moore, and Octavia E. Butler.

The Ree Reyes series written by author Michael Underwood consists of a total of 3 books published between the years 2012 and 2015. Each novel of the series deals with the Geekomancers, who are humans that have derived some supernatural powers out of the pop culture. The first novel of the series was published under the title ‘Geekomancy’. It was released by the Pocket Star publishing house in the year 2012. The plot of the novel revolves around happenings in the life of the main character Ree Reyes. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, she is described as working as a barista and a comic shop slave, and striving to pursue her ambitions of becoming a successful screenwriter. She seemed to be quite content with her small job and the tips that she gathered from it. Soon, a scruffy man enters into her shop and asks desperately for a comic. He was so desperate that it appeared as if his life depended on it. Ree thought of it as just another day among the geeks. But, she hears a giant echo after a minute and follows it into a magical flip side of her town. In this new world, she finds cowboy hackers fighting trolls, some werewolves, the Gothic Lolita witches, etc. Ree joins with Eastwod and begins to investigate a series of mysterious suicides of teenagers. Meanwhile, she also tries to recover from her heartbreaking breakup. As Ree moves ahead with her investigation, she discovers that Eastwood is not the kind of the knight that she thought him to be. Now, she is required to act fast and stop the teen suicides, manage to keep her job somehow, and save Eastwood from his misery.

The second novel of the series was titled ‘Celebromancy’ and was published by the Pocket Star publishing house in the year 2013. This novel is also based on the life of the main character Ree Reyes. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Ree is shown as getting her big break in screenwriting, but she feels that Hollywood is very much broken from within. As the plot of the novel progresses, Ree uses her love towards the pop culture and fights against the monsters. Being a Geekomancer, she tries to save her hometown from the werewolves and the monsters. When her pilot script gets selected to be shot for a television show, she discovers that nothing is as easy as it appears in the show business. The leading lady of the television show, Jane Konrad gets attacked by an invisible entity, which caused Ree Reyes to start a school education on Celebromancy. Later, she comes to know about movie magic and learns that real life contains many crazier plots. Now, she is required to negotiate a love rhombus, fight monsters from the silver screen, and save her pilot script. Also, she is required to do all this without the death of anyone, which seems to be a difficult task to her.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Michael R. Underwood

Leave a Reply