Book Notification

Michelle Paver Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Daughters Of Eden Trilogy Books

The Shadow Catcher (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fever Hill (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Serpent's Tooth (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Chronicles of Ancient Darkness Books

Publication Order of Gods and Warriors Books

Gods and Warriors / The Outsiders (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Burning Shadow (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Eye of the Falcon (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crocodile Tomb (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Warrior Bronze (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Michelle Paver is a well known British novelist and writer of children’s books, who is famous for writing fantasy, historical fiction, and horror stories. She is particularly famous for writing the Chronicles of Ancient Darkness book series, which is a historical fantasy series set in Europe’s pre-agricultural Stone Age. Paver won the Children’s Fiction Prize for the series’ final installment. In addition to her world-famous novel series, Paver has written two other novel series, the Daughters of Eden series and the Gods & Warriors series. Author Paver was born on September 07, 1960, in Malawi, Central Africa. Her father was a South African citizen, while her mother was of Belgian descent. Paver’s father was the owner of a newspaper agency called Nyasaland Times. Her family moved to Wimbledon when she was three years old and settled there.

Paver completed her school education from the Wimbledon High School. Later, she studied biochemistry at the Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford University. Paver obtained her first class degree and became a law firm partner in London. Following the death of her father in 1996, she took a one-year sabbatical from her law practice and traveled across America and France. The rich experience of her journey helped Paver to write her first novel called Without Charity. Immediately after returning home, Paver decided to give up the legal practice in order to concentrate on her writing career. In 2010, Paver wrote a ghost novel with the title Dark Matter, which received a Shirley Jackson Award nomination in the category of best novel. In Chronicles of the Ancient Darkness, Paver has described the story of a 12-year-old boy named Torak, who does not belong to any clan. The series revolves around Torak’s quest to destroy the evil forces in order to save the forest life. Two more essential characters named Wolf and Renn are seen in the entire series along with Torak. They are shown as Torak’s friends and assist him in all his quests.

Author Paver began the series in 2004 and completed it in 2009 with its 6th book. Another widely popular series written by Paver is called Gods and Warriors. She has set this series in the era of Bronze Age. This series features the chief character in the role of a twelve-year-old goatherd named Hylas. Throughout the series, it is seen that Hylas’ adventures make him visit Ancient Egypt and Ancient Crete. He is joined in the series by another important character named Pirra, who is a high priestess’s daughter. Along with humans, the stories of this series feature animals in crucial roles. Paver has mainly depicted a dolphin, a lion, and a falcon. Paver is belied to have a great passion for anthropology, animals, and history. She says that these passions helped her to come up with her hugely successful series. Before Paver sits down to write any story, she likes to carry out vast research on the topics of interest. And with respect to her research work, she has traveled to numerous places like Greenland, Arctic Canada, Finland, Carpathian Mountains, Southern California, Sweden, and Norway. Over the course of her travels, she has had many encounters with animals like polar bears, wolves, reindeers, etc.

The Chronicles of Ancient Darkness series is a widely popular book series written by author Michelle Paver. This series is comprised of six books in total, published between 2004 and 2009. Paver has set the stories 6 thousand years ago from now in the prehistoric Stone Age in Europe. The series shows characters divided into different clans except for the central character Torak, who is not a part of any clan. Each of the stories is told in 3rd person narratives and from the point of view of Renn, Wolf, and Torak. The list of the main characters in the series include Torak, Fin-Kedinn, Renn, Fa, Wolf, Hord, Bale, and Soul-Eaters. In 2004, the film rights of this series were purchased by 20th Century Fox. Erin Upson and Ridley Scott were chosen to produce the film series and the process of scriptwriting had also started. But then, the project was put on hold. It was revived in 2012 and is currently under production.

The debut book of the series is entitled ‘Wolf Brother’. It was released by the HarperTrophy publication in 2006, first released in 2004. The story of this book begins by showing that evils stalk the land and Torak has the potential to defeat the evils with the help of his wolf-cub assistant. They go on a journey through the deep forests, crossing giant glaciers, and battling various dangers. During the journey, Torak and Wolf meet many other characters, including Fin-Kedinn. Unlike several others, he treats Torak with respect and kindness. Through Fin-Kedinn, Torak befriends his outspoken niece named Renn. Torak is believed to be one who will fulfill the prophecy of defeating the Soul-Eaters. In order to do so, he is required to visit the Mountain and collect Nanuak, a three-part offering that he must bring to World Spirit. He faces resistance from Hord, the brother of Renn. But, he fights him off and moves ahead. After successfully fulfilling the prophecy, Wolf returns to his pack and Torak moves to Renn’s clan. This book was received very well and appreciated by one and all for its original story and rich cast of characters.

The next volume of the exciting series is called ‘Spirit Walker’. It was published in 2007 by the Katherine Books, first published in 2005. Paver begins this novel’s story by showing that the clans start falling prey to a form of sickness. When the situation turns into an emergency, Torak is asked to embark on a journey of finding the cure. At first, he arrives on the mysterious island dwelled by the Seal Clan. The clan’s head, Tenris, promises Torak that he will assist him in finding the remedy. Torak comes across Bale and befriends him, not knowing that he is a Soul-Eater and intends to eat his heart. Tenris too turns out to be an enemy disguised as a friend. Torak learns that Tenris is responsible for creating a demon bear that murdered his father. When Tenris tries to kill Torak, Renn injures him and helps Torak to run away. Later, an orca kills Tenris. In the end, it is discovered that Tenris is the one who had spread the sickness by poisoning juniper berries with the assistance of enslaved children. This book also received a large following and praise from the readers across the world.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Michelle Paver

Leave a Reply