Book Notification

Mickey Rawlings Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mickey Rawlings Books

Murder At Fenway Park (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Ebbets Field (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Wrigley Field (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hunting a Detroit Tiger (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cincinnati Red Stalkings (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hanging Curve (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pick-Off Play (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tomb That Ruth Built (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Mickey Rawilings” series is set from 1912 until 1922 and features some real ballplayers as characters. The series is from the genres of mysteries, sports, and historical fiction. The series blends real events with some fascinating fiction. The books are atmospheric, suspenseful, and offer a bit of little known American sports history. It began in the year 1994 when “Murder at Fenway Park”.

Mickey Rawlings is a baseball player on the rise during the start of the twentieth century. During the series, he investigates murders, and is with a different team in each.

“Murder at Fenway Park” is the first novel in the “Mickey Rawlings” series, which was released in the year 1994. The year is 1912, and Debs, Roosevelt, and Taft are all running for the White House. Shoeless Joe Jackson and Ty Cobb are fighting it out to win a batting crown. Mickey Rawlings, who is a young ballplayer that has come right from the bush leagues, will soon learn a major league lesson when he finds someone murdered at Fenway.

Some enjoyed reading about Mickey Rawlings while he had an adventure at Fenway and playing for the Red Sox. Fans of the novel found this to be an intriguing mystery that was full of interesting facts about the historical players and some of the owners from the time. The writer brings you right back to back when Major League Baseball was in its infancy.

“Murder at Ebbets Field” is the second novel in the “Mickey Rawlings” series, which was released in the year 1996. The first Saturday of August 1914. the New York Giants are currently in first, and the Brooklyn Dodgers are cellar dwellers. Rookie Giant Mickey may just be able to play in his first game of the World Series. But then he finds an actress’ corpse, who also happens to be the Dodgers’ new owner. She is washed up on a Coney Island beach.

Fans of the novel found this to be an impeccably researched and includes some historical tidbits to make the books more fun for baseball fans. The books keep the reader wondering who the killer is until Mickey figures it out. The details and atmosphere is something that is just as important to this series as the mystery is.

“Murder at Wrigley Field” is the third novel in the “Mickey Rawlings” series, which was released in the year 1997. Mickey Rawlings is starting for the Cubs during the 1918 season, a war frenzied time. He tries to figure out who it is that is sabotaging the Cubs’ efforts and gets entangled in a murder case after his buddy is killed.

Fans of the novel found that the author painted a vivid picture of what life on the Homefront was like during the Great War. Readers found this to be another great installment in an incredible series. This book will entertain you and is a well written. Not only does the author show his baseball knowledge, but tells a story where the plot works and has interesting characters.

“Hunting a Detroit Tiger” is the fourth novel in the “Mickey Rawlings” series, which was released in the year 1998. All Mickey Rawlings would like is twenty stolen bases, a .250 batting average, and a regular slot in the Tigers’ lineup during the 1920 season. Emmett Siever (a veteran baseball player) gets killed, and Mickey is accused of the crime. Someone seeks revenge for the killing and baseball owners are putting pressure on Mickey to speak against unions. It is up to Mickey to catch the real killer.

Some find themselves enjoying each story, as they get a history lesson about baseball. Mickey is a very likable character, and the mystery in each book is tied up with the game somehow. Fans of the novel found that this one proves once again that Troy is able to write compelling mysteries and do a ton of research to bring this story to life. The book is infused with a great sense of place and time, and includes the spirit of baseball when the sport was young.

“The Cincinnati Red Stalkings” is the fifth novel in the “Mickey Rawlings” series, which was released in the year 1998. It is dark times during the lazy days in June 1921 for fans of baseballs, as the trial for the “Black Sox” players that were accused of throwing the 1919 World Series starts. Mickey Rawlings (a utility infielder) believes he has got something to cheer about, as he played for the team that won the series, the Reds. That lasts until he gets caught up in a mixture of lies, conspiracy, and murder, which can end both his career and life.

Readers are able to visualize all of the settings as Troy Soos brings them to life. He even brings the history of the Reds to life.

“Hanging Curve” is the sixth novel in the “Mickey Rawlings” series, which was released in the year 1999. Mickey Rawlings (with the St. Louis Browns) regrets the fact that he has never been able to face some of the greats in the Negro Leagues. He is eager to play against the East St. Louis Cubs (who are a black semi-pro team) although he knows that he is taking the biggest risk of his career. Kenesaw Mountain Landis (who is the baseball commissioner) doesn’t want white players on the same field as black players. Mickey is able, however, to play under an alias.

During April 1922, it will be hard, and he is going to find there is more at stake here than just winning a simple game of baseball. East St. Louis is still scarred after the events in 1917, where white people slaughtered their black neighbors in a horrible explosion of racial violence America has ever seen. Five years have gone by, and lingering shadows still hang over this community. Slip Crawford, a pitcher, leads the Cubs to a win, and the Ku Klux Klan pays him a visit and he ends up dead.

Mickey sees all that he has fought for and all he has believed is about to be challenged. He meets with members of the Negro National League (like Oscar Charleston and Cool Papa Bell), and seeing segregation first hand. He even sees a KKK rally, held in Indiana. It all shows him a side of life in America that he has never experienced in his life.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Mickey Rawlings

Leave a Reply