Book Notification

Micky Knight Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Micky Knight Books

Death by the Riverside (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deaths of Jocasta (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Intersection of Law and Desire (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lost Daughters (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Dying Man (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Water Mark (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ill Will (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shoal of Time (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl on the Edge of Summer (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Not Dead Enough (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Transitory (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Micky Knight Mysteries series is a successful mystery series written by the well known American novelist named J.M. Redmann. This series is comprised of 9 books in total, which were released between the years 1990 and 2017. Each and every book of the mystery series features the chief protagonist in the role of Mickey Knight, who is described as a private investigator living in New Orleans, Louisiana, United States. Her actual name is Michele Knight and is often referred to as Micky by her friends. Micky Knight is lesbian in nature, which does not like to hide as she is very much open about it. During the initial parts of the series, Micky is shown taking up simple jobs such as clicking photos for her clients, which make her slog through the swamps and slug through the thugs. However, she goes on to bust big criminals and expose dangerous large scale rings as the series proceeds further. While dealing with the investigations, Detective Knight a number of deadly criminals, but she does not step back from her duties. She makes sure that she has put the culprits behind bars or made them pay for their crimes.

One of the initially published books in the series, written by author Redmann, is entitled ‘Water Marks’. This book was published in the year 2010 by the Bold Strokes publication. The central characters introduced in this novel include Micky Knight and Cordelia James. At the start of the story, author Redmann has depicted the aftermath of the cyclone Katrina. One more dead body is discovered from a destroyed house in New Orleans. Even after a few months pass by following the devastating cyclone, thousands of destroyed houses and numerous dead bodies are still left to be found. So, it does not really matter to anyone when one more is found. But, Micky Knight does get affected by it. She looks to establish the identity of the dead woman and find out the situation in which she died. Micky Knight begins her search to look for any living relatives of the woman who could identify her and tell her more about her. She also looks to find out how the woman ended up in the destroyed house. All the while during the investigation, she keeps asking herself whether she is really looking to provide justice to the deceased or keeping herself involved in something so as to avoid the confrontation with the way everything that kept her tied to New Orleans was destroyed by Katrina. At a time when the city does not have its own working stoplights, Micky does not feel that her services as an investigator are really required.

Micky Knight becomes even more disturbed by watching her friends struggling to overcome their disrupted lives, destroyed homes, lost jobs, etc. The person for whom Micky Knight is most worried is Cordelia James, who has not returned from the day Katrina hit the city. Micky had hoped that she would spend her whole life with Cordelia, but it seems that her fate had something else planned for her. However, Micky continues to investigate about the dead woman and is lead to a tangle of deceit and greed that dates back to a few generations. Later, she realizes that someone is making use of the destruction caused by the flood to carry out his well planned motives. It seems that the person is looking to finish what had begun around a century ago. Now, in order to stop this from happening and preventing any more innocent people from getting killed, Micky Knight is required to risk everything from her life along with the chance for reconnecting with Cordelia and rebuilding their lives the way they had planned before Katrina. She must act as fast as she can or else a young teenager might be the next one to lose his life. This Midwestern boy is trying to help the city get back to its old working ways. Micky Knight fears that his lifeless body might also end up in a destroyed house if she does not stop the killers well in time. Therefore, Micky begins her attempt to hunt down the culprit and hold them responsible for all the killings that they carried in the name of Katrina. The success of this book can be very well understood from the fact that it went on to be nominated for the Lambda Literary Award and the Golden Crown Award in the category of the best Lesbian Mystery Novel, both in 2011.

Another interesting book written and released in this thriller series is called as ‘Ill Will’. This book was also released by Bold Strokes Books in 2012. At the beginning of this novel’s story, Detective Micky Knight is shown taking up a case against the wrong doings of the providers of health care in the city. Just as she starts the investigation, Micky learns that not every provider follows that dictum of not doing harm. Later, she comes across several criminals and a few true believers, who make use of the sufferings of the others to meet their twisted needs. The city of New Orleans is slowly getting along on the path of recovery from its destruction by Katrina. Now, the most important area of concern for this rebuilding city is health care as it is the most devastated one. As there is a wide gap in the services of health care because of Katrina’s destruction, it serves as a good opportunity for the salesmen of snake oil and also the snakes to crawl make their way in the midst of the suffering people. At first, Micky Knight works on the case with anger, but later it becomes more personal to her as someone close to her has started using her diagnosis of cancer to reach at a place where Micky Knight cannot. This close friend of Micky is trying to make her way into the evil’s heart as she believes that it is the only place where the ill people are allowed and where they can get rid of their sufferings. It becomes too late for her when she realizes that she has landed herself in a great trouble. Now, she has no one else to look to for help, except Micky Knight. Micky seems to be the only way out from the evils. Now, Micky Knight wonders whether she will be able to save her friend in time and help provide her the medical treatment that she needs desperately to survive. This book too received great reviews from one and all and was very well received by the critics. Author Redmann was also praised for coming up with such an interesting mystery story.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Micky Knight Mysteries

Leave a Reply